Luxembourgish classes

This page provides information on the possibilities for learning Luxembourgish online or at language classes, whether for your personal interest or as a professional requirement, as part of your studies, or for the compulsory language test for acquiring the Luxembourgish nationality.

Learning Luxembourgish online

Quattropole

Learn Luxembourgish with the free online course developed by the Quattropole city network in partnership with the University of Luxembourg and the Grand Duchy's Ministry of National Education. The www.elearning.lu website offers;

  • an online course for French-speakers;
  • an online course for English-speakers.

Emphasis is placed on speaking and listening. The online exercises are corrected instantly. You can download sound files and listen to key phrases on your MP3 player.

Luxembourg City

With a booklet and sound files in iTunes, XML and MP3 formats, Luxembourg City provides texts accompanied by sound recordings, to make learning Luxembourgish even easier for you.

Luxembourgish classes for adults

  • The www.lifelong-learning.lu portal presents a full range of Luxembourgish classes provided by both, private language schools and public institutions such as the Ministry of National Education, Childhood and Youth and the Luxembourg School for Commerce.
  • The Adult Training Department of the Ministry of National Education, Childhood and Youth organises language classes — including Luxembourgish — either directly in secondary schools or through municipalities or not-for-profit associations, for adults (for beginners, at intermediate and advanced levels, and conversation classes). Classes are held throughout the Grand Duchy, mostly in the evening. There are also Luxembourgish classes for cross-border workers and classes in Luxembourgish culture and citizenship. Consult the page on 'Courses of general interest' ('Cours d'intérêt général') on the website of the Ministry of National Education, Childhood and Youth.

Luxembourgish classes for the acquisition of the Luxembourgish nationality

The law of 23 October 2008 on Luxembourg nationality provides that all candidates for naturalisation must pass a test to assess their spoken Luxembourgish; the test is administered by the National Languages Institute (INL).

National Languages Institute (INL)

The National Languages Institute (Institut national des langues, INL) is a public establishment offering courses in languages. The languages taught include Luxembourgish. The INL serves as the national certification centre for diplomas and certificates in Luxembourgish.

  • 'Diplom Lëtzebuergesch als Friemsprooch' (diploma in Luxembourgish as a foreign language)
  • Passing the 'Sprochentest Lëtzebuergesch' (Luxembourgish language test) is a requirement for applicants for Luxembourgish nationality

The INL also offers a course for teachers of Luxembourgish, leading to the 'Zertifikat Lëtzebuerger Sprooch a Kultur' (certificate of Luxembourgish language and culture).

University of Luxembourg

The University of Luxembourg includes Luxembourgish studies among its research priorities. These studies cover consideration of not only Luxembourgish language and literature but also identity, history, migration, regional planning, geography and politics in the Grand Duchy.

The University of Luxembourg has had a chair in Luxembourgish linguistics and literature since January 2009. Master's degrees are offered in Luxembourgish language and literature.

As part of its offer of lifelong learning, the University of Luxembourg also offers a course in Luxembourgish language and culture to train teachers for Luxembourgish language classes for adults.

  • Updated 09-12-2016

Luxemburgisch lernen

Ob online oder im Sprachkurs, ob aus persönlichem Interesse oder aus beruflichen Gründen, auf dieser Website erfahren Sie, wie und wo Sie Luxemburgisch im Rahmen des persönlichen Lernens oder für den obligatorischen Test zum Erwerb der luxemburgischen Staatsangehörigkeit lernen können.

Online Luxemburgisch lernen

QuattroPole

Die Website des Städtenetzes QuattroPole stellt auf seiner Internetseite einen kostenlosen Online-Sprachkurs zur Verfügung, der zusammen mit der Uni Luxemburg und dem Bildungsministerium entwickelt wurde. Website www.elearning.lu bietet

  • Online-Sprachkurse für Französischsprachige
  • Online-Sprachkurse für Englischsprachige

Inhaltlich legt der Kurs besonders viel Wert auf die gesprochene Sprache sowie auf das Hörverständnis. Die Online-Übungen werden umgehend korrigiert. Audiodateien können heruntergeladen und Kernsätze so auf dem MP3-Player angehört werden.

Luxemburg-Stadt

Mit einer Broschüre sowie Podcasts im iTunes-, XML- und MP3-Format bietet die Stadt Luxemburg Texte mit Audioaufzeichnung, die kombiniert das Erlernen der luxemburgischen Sprache so einfach wie möglich gestalten sollen.

Luxemburgischkurse für Erwachsene

  • Auf dem Portal www.lifelong-learning.lu sind alle Luxemburgischkurse verzeichnet, die sowohl von Privatschulen als auch von öffentlichen Einrichtungen wie dem Ministerium für Erziehung, Kinder und Jugend oder der Luxembourg School for Commerce angeboten werden.
  • Die Abteilung Erwachsenenbildung (Service de la formation des adultes) des Ministerium für Erziehung, Kinder und Jugend organisiert Sprachkurse für Erwachsene, die entweder direkt in den weiterführenden Schulen stattfinden oder über die Gemeinden sowie gemeinnützige Vereine veranstaltet werden, darunter auch Luxemburgischkurse (Anfänger, Mittelstufe, Fortgeschrittene und Konversation). Diese Kurse finden in allen Teilen des Landes statt, meistens abends. Es gibt auch Luxemburgischkurse, die speziell auf Grenzgänger ausgerichtet sind, sowie Kurse in luxemburgischer Kultur und Bürgerkunde. Besuchen Sie die Seite Allgemeine Weiterbildungskurse auf der Website des Ministeriums für Erziehung, Kinder und Jugend.

Luxemburgischkurse für den Erwerb der luxemburgischen Staatsangehörigkeit

Das Gesetz vom 23. Oktober 2008 über die luxemburgische Staatsangehörigkeit sieht vor, dass jeder Einbürgerungsbewerber den mündlichen Sprachtest in Luxemburgisch, der vom Nationalen Spracheninstitut (Institut national des langues, INL) organisiert wird, bestehen muss.

Nationales Spracheninstitut (INL)

Das Nationale Spracheninstitut (INL) ist eine öffentliche Einrichtung für Sprachunterricht. Hier kann neben vielen anderen Sprachen auch Luxemburgisch erlernt werden. Das INL ist gleichzeitig die nationale Zertifizierungsstelle für Diplome und Zertifikate der luxemburgischen Sprache:

  • "Diplom Lëtzebuergesch als Friemsprooch" (Diplom Luxemburgisch als Fremdsprache)
  • "Sprochentest Lëtzebuergesch", der bestanden werden muss um die luxemburgische Staatsbürgerschaft zu beantragen.

Das INL bildet auch Luxemburgischlehrer aus, die mit dem "Zertifikat Lëtzebuerger Sprooch a Kultur" (Zertifikat luxemburgischer Sprache und Kultur) ausgezeichnet werden.

Universität Luxemburg

Im Forschungsbereich der Universität Luxemburg gehört die Luxemburgistik zu den obersten Prioritäten. Luxemburgistikstudien beinhalten sowohl Überlegungen zur luxemburgischen Sprache und Literatur als auch zu Identität, Geschichte, Migration, Raumplanung, Geografie und Politikwissenschaft in Luxemburg.

Seit Januar 2009 gibt es an der Universität Luxemburg einen Lehrstuhl für luxemburgische Linguistik und Literatur. Hinzu kommen verschiedene Master in luxemburgischer Sprache und Literatur.

Die Universität Luxemburg bietet auch Weiterbildungskurse in luxemburgischer Sprache und Kultur mit dem Ziel an, Kursleiter auszubilden, die Luxemburgisch für Erwachsene unterrichten sollen.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 09-12-2016