Schooling for foreign children

In the Grand Duchy, nearly 45% of the total population and more than 70% of the working population do not have Luxembourg nationality.

According to official statistics for the 2012/2013 school year, 18% of the children in cycles 1 to 4 of fundamental education were born outside the Grand Duchy. For 60.2%, the language most spoken at home is not Luxembourgish.

The attendance of foreign and Luxembourgish children at the same schools is an essential element in preserving social cohesion in the medium and long term.

Language teaching occupies a central place in the Luxembourg education system.

There are three specialist structures involved in the schooling of foreign children in the Grand Duchy: the Department of Schooling for Foreign Children (Service de la scolarisation des enfants étrangers), CASNA, and the intercultural mediators.

Department of Schooling for Foreign Children

The Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth, through its Department of Schooling for Foreign Children, is responsible for the education of foreign children. The ministry's website provides details of schooling for foreign children on its 'Schooling of children with a foreign mother tongue' page.

You will find answers to questions such as:

  • Where can I get information?
  • How do I enrol my child at a school?
  • What specific arrangements are there for foreign pupils?
  • What help can I get, and who do I contact at the school?
  • What specific arrangements are there for applicants for international protection?

School reception unit for new pupils (CASNA)

The school reception unit for new pupils (Cellule d’accueil scolaire pour élèves nouveaux, CASNA) provides information on the Luxembourg school system and the assistance provided for children who speak a foreign language. CASNA works with children between the ages of 12 and 17 who have just arrived in the Grand Duchy and wish to continue their studies in post-primary education.

  • Find out more about CASNA on guichet.luand the website of the Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth.

Intercultural mediators

Parents, teachers and school authorities may request the assistance, free of charge, of an intercultural mediator who also speaks other languages in addition to those frequently spoken in the Grand Duchy.

  • Find out more about intercultural mediators on the website of the Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth.
  • Updated 28-04-2015

Einschulung nicht-luxemburgischer Kinder

Fast 45% der Gesamtbevölkerung Luxemburgs und über 70% der Erwerbstätigen sind nicht im Besitz der luxemburgischen Staatsangehörigkeit.

Nach Angaben des Ministeriums für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend (Ministère de l'Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse) waren im Jahr 2012/2013 18% der Schüler der Zyklen 1 bis 4 der Grundschule im Ausland geboren. Bei 60,2% der Schüler wurde zu Hause nicht Luxemburgisch gesprochen.

Dass ausländische und luxemburgische Kinder dieselbe Schule besuchen, ist eine wichtige Bedingung für die mittel- und langfristige Gewährleistung des sozialen Zusammenhalts.

Der Sprachunterricht nimmt daher einen zentralen Platz im luxemburgischen Schulsystem ein.

Es gibt in Luxemburg drei spezialisierte Strukturen für die Einschulung ausländischer Kinder: die Abteilung für die Einschulung von ausländischen Kindern (Service de la scolarisation des enfants étrangers), die Zentrale Empfangs- und Orientierungsstelle für neu zugezogene Schüler (Cellule d’accueil scolaire pour élèves nouveaux arrivants, CASNA) und die interkulturellen Vermittler.

Abteilung für die Einschulung von ausländischen Kindern

Die Abteilung für die Einschulung von ausländischen Kindern des Ministeriums für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend kümmert sich um die Einschulung ausländischer Kinder. Die Internetseite des Ministeriums informiert ausführlich über die Einschulung ausländischer Kinder auf der Seite "Einschulung ausländischer Kinder".

Hier finden Sie Antworten auf Fragen wie:

  • Wo kann ich mich informieren?
  • Wie kann ich mein Kind für den Schulunterricht anmelden?
  • Welche speziellen Maßnahmen für nicht-luxemburgische Schüler gibt es?
  • Welche Hilfsangebote gibt es und wer sind die wichtigen Kontaktpersonen an den Schulen?
  • Welche konkreten Maßnahmen gibt es für die Menschen, die internationalen Schutz beantragt haben?

Die zentrale Empfangs-und Orientierungsstelle für neu zugezogene Schüler

Die zentrale Empfangs- und Orientierungsstelle für neu zugezogene Schüler (CASNA) informiert über das luxemburgische Schulsystem und die Hilfsangebote für fremdsprachige Schüler. Die CASNA richtet sich an Jugendliche von 12 bis 17 Jahren, die erst vor Kurzem nach Luxemburg gekommen sind und hier die Sekundarschule besuchen wollen.

  • Auf der Internetseite des Ministeriums für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend sowie auf guichet.lu sind weitere Informationen über die CASNA zu finden.

Die interkulturellen Vermittler

Eltern, Lehrer und Schulbehörden können kostenlos die Unterstützung eines interkulturellen Vermittlers beantragen. Dieser spricht zusätzlich zu den gängigen in Luxemburg gesprochenen Sprachen weitere Fremdsprachen.

  • Auf der Internetseite des Ministeriums für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend sind weitere Informationen über die interkulturellen Vermittler zu finden.
  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 06-05-2015