Foreign Trade

Foreign trade is an essential part of the economic life of the Grand Duchy. Most of the Luxembourg production is for export. With a dynamic and widely open economy, Luxembourg exports more than 85% of its production. Approximately 87% of these exports go to countries of the European Union.

The main trade partners of Luxembourg are its three neighboring countries, Germany, Belgium and France.

Luxembourg has expanded its international trade relations to the American and Asian continents and to the Middle East, thus contributing to the diversification of its export destinations and the origin of its imports.

Overall, Luxembourg has managed to establish itself as a hub for international trade, not only in the financial sector, but also in industrial activities and trade in goods and services.

The country's current account is largely surplus. The annual surplus is around 10% of GDP. This performance is largely generated by the export of services.

While in 1970 the export of goods represented more than twice the value of the export of services, the growing importance of the service sector has caused a reversal of the situation: nowadays, the export of services takes priority over the export of goods.

(Sources: Luxembourg Chamber of Commerce, Statec)

  • Updated 12-01-2017

Außenhandel

Der Außenhandel ist ein wesentliches Element der Wirtschaft des Großherzogtums. Der Großteil der luxemburgischen Produktion ist für den Export bestimmt. Als dynamische und in hohem Maße exportorientierte Wirtschaft führt Luxemburg mehr als 85 % seiner Produktion aus. Etwa 87% dieser Exporte gehen in die Länder der Europäischen Union.

Die wichtigsten Handelspartner Luxemburgs sind seine Nachbarländer Deutschland, Belgien und Frankreich.

Luxemburg konnte seine Handelsbeziehungen auf internationaler Ebene, insbesondere in Amerika und Asien sowie im Nahen Osten ausbauen, was sich positiv auf die Diversifizierung der Export- und Importländer auswirkt.

Global gesehen ist es Luxemburg gelungen, sich als Drehscheibe im internationalen Handel nicht nur im Finanzsektor zu behaupten, sondern auch im Bereich der industriellen Aktivitäten sowie des Waren- und Dienstleistungsverkehrs.

Die Handelsbilanz des Landes weist einen erheblichen Überschuss auf. Der jährliche Überschuss bewegt sich in der Größenordnung von 10 % des BIP. Dieses Ergebnis ergibt sich im Wesentlichen aus dem Umfang der Dienstleistungsexporte.

Übertraf 1970 die Ausfuhr von Gütern den Export von Dienstleistungen noch um das Zweifache, hat die wachsende Bedeutung des Dienstleistungssektors dieses Verhältnisses ins Gegenteil verkehrt: heute übertrifft der Export von Dienstleistungen die Ausfuhr von Gütern.

(Quellen: Handelskammer, Statec)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 12-01-2017