Intellectual property

Luxembourg, an expert in Intellectual Property

Intangible assets, such as copyrights, patents, designs or trademarks, play a critical role in today's economy. While in the past, large amounts were invested in plants and machinery, companies now invest mainly in Research and Development (R&D), software and information technology, human resources and advertising. As a result, an increasing share of corporate market value is generated from intellectual property rights (IPR), which has become a major driver of economic development. Protect the fruit of your innovation and research efforts through intellectual property rights!

Why Luxembourg?

Luxembourg stands out because of a combination of a unique series of assets:

An IP-conscious government

Luxembourg has been proactive in developing its IP standards and participates in all the major IP treaties and conventions, including the Bern Convention, the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT), the Paris Convention and the Patent Law Treaty (PLT), as well as the Madrid Agreement and Protocol. The country is also a signatory of the European Patent Convention, which was set up by the European Patent Office (EPO).

Luxembourg’s authorities have created a safe IP environment by implementing EU directives as well as international agreements and treaties, such as the Agreement on Trade-related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights (TRIPS) to secure IP rights.

A favourable tax and legal environment

Given that intellectual property is essential to any innovative company, Luxembourg has strengthened its appeal on intellectual property and research, development and innovation (RDI).

Net income from the exploitation of patents, trademarks, designs, copyrights on software or domain names acquired or created after December 31, 2007 receive a tax exemption of 80% under certain conditions. This may apply also for deemed IP-income if the IP is created for a company’s own use. Capital gains realised on the sale of intellectual property also benefit from this tax system.

Furthermore, on 1st January 2009, net wealth tax was abolished on qualifying IP. From an RDI point of view, the law of 5 June 2009 relating to the promotion of research, development and innovation provides the framework for a financial aid scheme that contributes to the costs linked to the protection of technical industrial property.

UPDATE (3/1/2017): The law on exemption was repealed in July 2016. Transitional arrangements for intellectual property rights created or acquired before that time are in effect. Note that the benefits from this transitional provision no longer apply after 31 December 2016. Please refer to the legal text (Art. 5. Régime fiscal de la propriété intellectuelle, pp 5388).

A favourable framework for the protection of creations through intellectual property rights

Intellectual property is composed of two parts:

  • literary and artistic property (copyright and related rights) and
  • industrial property (patents, trademarks, drawings and models).

Literary and artistic property

Regarding literary and artistic property, no formalities are required in order for an author's creation to be protected. The law of 18 April 2001 on copyright, related rights and databases provides the legal framework applicable to literary and artistic property. These rights are an important factor for innovation and competitiveness, and particular attention is given to them in order to ensure balanced protection to rights holders.

You can find more information on the protection of literary and artistic works on the website of the Ministry of Economy.

Industrial property

In Luxembourg, as far as industrial property is concerned, the legal framework allows for multiple types of patents.

  • A national patent application may be submitted to the Office of Intellectual Property of the Ministry of Economy.
  • A European patent application may also be introduced, at the applicant's choice, at the European Patent Office.
  • The applicant may make an application for an international patent at the World Intellectual Property Organization in the context of the patent co-operation treaty (PCT).

You can find more information on patent protection on the Portal of Innovation and Research.

Concerning trademarks or designs, the protection is not only national but also covers Belgium and the Netherlands, because Luxembourg is part of the Benelux Intellectual Property Organization. Applications can be made online at the Benelux Office for Intellectual Property (BOIP), the official body responsible for registering trademarks and designs in the Benelux.

(Sources: The Luxembourg Portal for Innovation and Research, Luxembourg, your prime business location)

  • Updated 24-01-2017

Geistiges Eigentum

Luxemburg, ein Experte im Bereich des geistigen Eigentums

Immaterielle Anlagen wie Urheberrechte, Patente, Pläne und Muster oder Marken sind wichtige Bestandteile der heutigen Wirtschaft. Während in der Vergangenheit erhebliche Investitionen in Anlagen und Maschinen getätigt wurden, investieren die Unternehmen heute vor allem in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E), ICT, Personal und Marketing. Die Rechte des geistigen Eigentums tragen also immer stärker zum Marktwert der Unternehmen bei und gehören heute zu den wichtigsten Triebkräften der Wirtschaftsentwicklung. Schützen Sie die Früchte Ihrer innovativen Forschungsarbeit durch die Rechte am geistigen Eigentum!

Warum Luxemburg?

Das Großherzogtum Luxemburg bietet eine Reihe grundlegender Vorteile:

Eine Regierung, die auf den Schutz des geistigen Eigentums bedacht ist

Luxemburg hat bei der Entwicklung von Standards zum Schutz geistigen Eigentums eine proaktive Rolle gespielt und ist Unterzeichner der wichtigsten internationalen Verträge und Konventionen wie der Berner Konvention, dem Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT), der Pariser Konvention zum Schutz gewerblichen Eigentums, dem Vertrag über Patentrecht (PLT), dem Madrider Abkommen und dem Madrider Protokoll. Das Großherzogtum hat auch das Patentübereinkommen (EPÜ) des Europäischen Patentamts (EPA) unterzeichnet.

Die luxemburgischen Behörden haben mit der Umsetzung der EU-Richtlinien und der internationalen Verträge und Abkommen (wie etwa dem Übereinkommen über handelsbezogene Aspekte der Rechte am geistigen Eigentum — TRIPS-Abkommen) ein sicheres Umfeld für den Schutz geistigen Eigentums geschaffen.

Ein steuerlich und rechtlich günstiges Umfeld

Da kein innovatives Unternehmen auf geistiges Eigentum verzichten kann, hat Luxemburg seine Attraktivität in Sachen Schutz des geistigen Eigentums in Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation (FEI) verstärkt.

Die Nettoeinnahmen aus der Verwertung von Patenten, Marken, Mustern und Modellen sowie Urheberrechten in Bezug auf Software oder Domain-Namen, die nach dem 31. Dezember 2007 erworben oder geschaffen wurden, kommen unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen in den Genuss einer Steuerbefreiung in Höhe von 80%. Diese Ermäßigung kann auch auf den geschätzten Betrag zu erzielender Einkünfte aus geistigem Eigentum geltend gemacht werden, sofern letzteres zum Nutzen der Gesellschaft geschaffen wurde. Auch Kapitalgewinne aus dem Verkauf geistigen Eigentums werden von diesem Steuersystem begünstigt.

Außerdem sind die Urheberrechte seit dem 1. Januar 2009 von der Vermögensteuer befreit. Durch das Gesetz vom 5. Juni 2009 zur Förderung von Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation wurde — aus reiner FEI-Sicht — vor allem ein System zur Kofinanzierung der Kosten im Zusammenhang mit dem Schutz gewerblichen Eigentums geschaffen.

AKTUALISIERUNG (3.1.2017): Das Gesetz zur Steuerbefreiung wurde im Juli 2016 abgeschafft. Für die davor geschaffenen oder erworbenen Rechte geistigen Eigentums gilt eine Übergangsregelung. Diese tritt allerdings zum 31. Dezember 2016 außer Kraft. Lesen Sie dazu den Gesetzestext (Art. 5. "Régime fiscal de la propriété intellectuelle", Seite 5388 ff).

Ein Rahmen für den Schutz von Erfindergeist durch die Rechte an geistigem Eigentum

Das geistige Eigentum besteht aus zwei Teilen:

  • das literarische und künstlerische Eigentum (Urheberrecht und verwandte Schutzrechte) und
  • das gewerbliche Eigentum (Patente, Marken, Muster und Modelle).

Literarisches und künstlerisches Eigentum

Was das literarische und künstlerische Eigentum betrifft, sind keine Formalitäten erforderlich, um ein Werk urheberrechtlich zu schützen. Das Gesetz vom 18. April 2001 über die Urheberrechte, verwandte Schutzrechte und Datenbanken definiert den rechtlichen Rahmen in Bezug auf das literarische und künstlerische Eigentum. Diese Rechte sind ein wichtiger Faktor für Innovation und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit. Ihnen wird besondere Aufmerksamkeit gewidmet, um einen ausgewogenen Schutz für die Rechteinhaber zu gewährleisten.

Weitere Informationen über den Schutz literarischer und künstlerischer Werke sind auf der Webseite des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft zu finden.

Gewerbliches Eigentum

Was die gewerblichen Schutzrechte betrifft, bietet der luxemburgische Rechtsrahmen die Wahl zwischen mehreren Arten von Patenten.

  • Eine nationale Patentanmeldung kann beim Amt für geistiges Eigentum des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft eingereicht werden.
  • Eine europäische Patentanmeldung kann auf Wunsch des Antragstellers beim Europäischen Patentamt vorgelegt werden.
  • Der Antragsteller kann im Rahmen des Vertrages über die internationale Zusammenarbeit im Bereich des Patentwesens (PCT) eine Anmeldung für ein internationales Patent bei der Weltorganisation für geistiges Eigentum einreichen.

Weitere Informationen zum Patentschutz sind auf dem Portal für Innovation und Forschung zu finden.

Bei Marken bzw. Plänen und Modellen ist der Schutz nicht nur auf Luxemburg beschränkt, sondern gilt auch für Belgien und die Niederlande, da Luxemburg Mitglied der Benelux-Behörde für geistiges Eigentum ist (Office Benelux de la Propriété intellectuelle - OBPI). Die Benelux-Behörde für geistiges Eigentum ist die offizielle Instanz für die Registrierung von Marken und Modellen innerhalb der Benelux-Staaten.

(Quellen: Luxemburgisches Portal für Innovation und Forschung, Luxemburg, ein erstklassiger Wirtschaftsstandort)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 24-01-2017