Aerospace industry

A rising star

For the Grand Duchy, the aerospace sector is an essential component of its high-tech sector. The country's 'stellar' ambitions reach back to the beginning of the 1980s, with the creation of SES Astra, which provided the stimulus for the setting up of a number of dynamic businesses in the aerospace sector. The Grand Duchy seeks to attract small and medium-sized enterprises and large companies active in this area by providing a committed support and specialised structures.

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg - a first-rate implantation location

At the beginning of the 1980s, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg made a head-start when it decided to take a gamble on the potential of the satellite industry. Today, the country hosts SES, the world's leading satellite operator, with a fleet of about fifty satellites.

This success brought a high concentration of dynamic companies in the aerospace sector into the Grand Duchy: Euro-Composites, Gradel, Hitec, Luxspace, and CTI Systems, to name but a few. Over the last decades, with diversification and innovation in mind, the Grand Duchy's successive Governments have stepped up their efforts in this direction.

Today, some 700 employees work in the aerospace sector in the Grand Duchy, whether in research and development, manufacturing, or operation.

ESA membership

Unlike other countries, the Grand Duchy does not have a national space agency. It sets more store by transnational collaboration.

Since 2005, when the Grand Duchy – after years of cooporation – became a full member of the European Space Agency (ESA), cooperation between the agency and the Grand Duchy has steadily intensified. Since then, the Grand Duchy has participated in a number of transnational research projects on the ESA's multiannual programme.

This membership has been a key element in the Grand Duchy's action plan with regard to space science and technology, the aim of which is to consolidate and make use of existing skills, particularly in the media and ICT sectors.

The Grand Duchy devotes 0.03% of its GDP to the ESA, and ranks fourth among European countries in terms of space investment.

Detecting the best ideas and support for the sector

A number of specialised structures are made available to businesses and research centres to help them find their place in the aerospace sector in the Grand Duchy.

Luxembourg Space Cluster

The Luxembourg Space Cluster is a network providing support for the various players in the Grand Duchy's aerospace sector by helping them to develop synergies and new national and international partnerships through research, development and innovation (RDI) projects.

GLAE (Groupement luxembourgeois de l'aéronautique et de l'espace)

The GLAE operates under the umbrella of the FEDIL to facilitate contacts among the businesses and research centres active in the aerospace field, and to help its members build up a network. Founded in 2005 as a direct consequence of the Grand Duchy's membership of the European Space Agency (ESA), the GLAE serves as the Government's contact for all matters concerning official initiatives under the ESA's programmes and in formulating the Grand Duchy's space policy.

LuxLaunch programme

The aim of the LuxLaunch programme initiated in 2005 is to provide support in detecting and implementing innovative ideas in the aerospace sector. The project helps Luxembourgish companies and researchers to assert themselves in the sector and improve their visibility within the networks of international stakeholders.

Luxinnovation

Luxinnovation, the national agency for the promotion of innovation and research, is the national contact point for all collaboration with the ESA. Luxinnovation encourages innovative activities and collaboration in European research programmes through the Luxembourg Space Cluster.

National research institutes

The companies of the aerospace sector also collaborate with national research institutes, such as the University of Luxembourg and the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), for satellite communications and earth observation.

HelloFuture

HelloFuture is a project launched in early 2017 which aims to encourage young people to take up jobs in industry in the Grand Duchy, and hence jobs connected with the aerospace sector. A range of tools (Internet site, placement offers, tour of secondary schools, etc.) are available to young people aged 14 to 30 to provide them with more information on the subject. 

  • Updated 07-02-2017

Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie

Ein aufsteigender Stern

Die Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil von Luxemburgs High-Tech-Branche. Luxemburgs „Griff nach den Sternen” geht auf den Beginn der 80er Jahre und die Gründung von SES ASTRA zurück, welche anschließend zur Ansiedlung von mehreren dynamischen Unternehmen aus dem Bereich der Raumfahrt geführt hat. Das Großherzogtum bemüht sich, in diesem Sektor tätige KMU und große Unternehmen zu gewinnen, indem es sie tatkräftig unterstützt und ihnen spezialisierte Strukturen anbietet.

Luxemburg, ein erstklassiger Standort für Ihr Unternehmen

Anfang der 80er Jahre hat sich das Großherzogtum einen Vorsprung geschaffen, indem es auf das Potenzial der Satellitenindustrie setzte. Heute ist das Land stolz darauf, dass SES, der Weltmarktführer im Bereich der Satellitenbetreiber mit einer Flotte von 50 Satelliten, hier seinen Sitz hat.

Dieser Erfolg blieb nicht lange unbemerkt: nach und nach haben sich zahlreiche dynamische Unternehmen im Bereich der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie in Luxemburg niedergelassen: Euro-Composites, Gradel, Hitec, Luxspace, CTI Systems, um nur einige zu nennen. In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat Luxemburg seine Anstrengungen in dem Bereich im Bemühen um wirtschaftliche Diversifizierung und Innovation verdoppelt.

Heute arbeiten in Luxemburg 700 Personen in der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie, sei es im Bereich F&E, in der Produktion oder im Geschäftsbetrieb.

Mitglied der ESA

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Ländern hat Luxemburg keine eigene Raumfahrtbehörde. Das Land legt den Schwerpunkt auf die grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit.

Seit 2005, als Luxemburg - nach Jahren der Zusammenarbeit - vollwertiges Mitglied der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation (ESA) wurde, hat die Zusammenarbeit zwischen dieser Behörde und dem Land einen zusätzlichen Aufschwung erlebt. Seither beteiligt sich das Großherzogtum an grenzüberschreitenden Forschungsprojekten im Rahmen des Mehrjahresplans der ESA.

Die Mitgliedschaft bei der ESA war ein Schlüsselelement des Luxemburger Aktionsplans im Bereich der Weltraumforschung und -technologie, dessen Ziel es ist, das vorhandene Know-how, vor allem im Bereich der Medien und der elektronischen Kommunikation, auszubauen und zu erschließen.

Luxemburg widmet der ESA 0,03 % seines BIP und steht europaweit an 4. Stelle, wenn es um Investitionen im Bereich der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie geht.

Auswahl der besten Ideen und Unterstützung des Sektors

Mehrere spezialisierte Strukturen helfen den Unternehmen und Forschungszentren dabei, sich im luxemburgischen Raumfahrtsektor zurechtzufinden.

Luxembourg Space Cluster

Der Luxembourg Space Cluster ist ein Netzwerk, das die verschiedenen Akteure des Raumfahrtsektors unterstützt, indem es ihnen dabei hilft, Synergien zu entwickeln und durch Projekte in Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation neue nationale und internationale Partnerschaften zu knüpfen.

Luxemburgischer Unternehmenszusammenschluss für Aeronautik und Raumfahrt (Groupement luxembourgeois de l’aéronautique et de l’espace, GLAE)

Der GLAE arbeitet unter der Federführung der FEDIL, um den Austausch zwischen den Unternehmen und Forschungszentren, die in der Luft- und Raumfahrt tätig sind, zu erleichtern und ihre Mitglieder beim Aufbau von Beziehungen untereinander zu unterstützen. Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2005, die unmittelbar auf den Beitritt Luxemburgs zur Europäischen Weltraumorganisation (ESA) folgte, dient der GLAE als Ansprechpartner für die Regierung bei allen Fragestellungen zu Initiativen der Behörden im Rahmen von Programmen der ESA und zur Ausarbeitung einer Weltraumpolitik im Großherzogtum Luxemburg.

LuxLaunch-Programm

Das 2005 ins Leben gerufene LuxLaunch-Programm dient der Auswahl und Umsetzung innovativer Ideen im Bereich der Raumfahrt. Das Projekt hilft luxemburgischen Unternehmen und Forschern dabei, sich im Netzwerk der internationalen Akteure einen Namen zu machen und sich zu positionieren.

Luxinnovation

Luxinnovation, die Luxemburger Agentur für die Förderung von Innovation und Forschung, ist die nationale Kontaktstelle für jegliche Zusammenarbeit mit der ESA. Luxinnovation unterstützt innovative Tätigkeiten sowie die Zusammenarbeit im Rahmen von europäischen Forschungsprojekten über den Luxembourg Space Cluster.

Nationale Forschungsinstitutionen

Die Unternehmen der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie arbeiten eng mit den nationalen Forschungszentren wie der Universität Luxemburg und dem Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST) zusammen, wenn es um Themen wie Satellitenkommunikation und Erdbeobachtungen geht.

HelloFuture

Ziel der Anfang 2017 ins Leben gerufenen Kampagne HelloFuture ist die Förderung industrieller Berufe bei jungen Menschen in Luxemburg, so auch Berufe im Bereich der Luft- und Raumfahrt. Verschiedene Tools (Internetseite, freie Praktikumsplätze, Roadshow in Gymnasien ...) stehen jungen Menschen im Alter von 14 bis 30 Jahren zur Verfügung, um sich besser über dieses Thema informieren zu können. 

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 07-02-2017