Industry

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has a long industrial tradition. The pioneers of the steel industry, which made the wealth of the country in the late 19th and early 20th century, were followed in the 1960s by other major economic sectors.

The oil shock of 1973 transformed the Luxembourg industry and encouraged a service economy with the development of the tertiary sector.

In 2002, ARBED (Aciéries réunies de Burbach, Eich, Dudelange, United Steelworks of Burbach, Eich, Dudelange), the 'giant' Luxembourg steel producer, merged with two other steel companies, Usinor and Aceralia, to become Arcelor, the world leader in steel production. Arcelor merged with Mittal Steel in 2006, creating the ArcelorMittal group, the world's number one steel producer.

Industrial diversification is a permanent economic policy objective. It has promoted the emergence of other industrial sectors, such as the materials industries (DuPont de Nemours, Guardian Glass) and the automotive components industry (Goodyear, Delphi).

Today, more than 90% of Luxembourg's industrial production is destined for export. The industry still accounts for some 10% in value added (GDP) and employment in the country.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Industrie

Das Großherzogtum Luxemburg hat eine lange Industrietradition. Auf die Pioniere der Eisen- und Stahlindustrie, die in den Jahren um 1900 das Symbol des Reichtums des Landes waren, folgten ab den 60er Jahren weitere bedeutende Wirtschaftssektoren.

Die Erdölkrise von 1973 führte zu einem Wandel der Industrie Luxemburgs und förderte mit dem Ausbau des Tertiärsektors die Entwicklung hin zu einer Dienstleistungswirtschaft.

2002 fusionierte die ARBED (Aciéries réunies de Burbach, Eich, Dudelange, Vereinigte Stahlwerke von Burbach, Eich, Düdelingen), der luxemburgische „Stahlriese”, mit den zwei Stahlkonzernen Usinor und Aceralia zu Arcelor, dem weltweit größten Stahlproduzenten. Durch die Fusion zwischen Arcelor und Mittal Steel im Jahr 2006 entstand der ArcelorMittal-Konzern, der im Stahlsektor weltweit auf Platz eins rangiert.

Die industrielle Diversifizierung gehört zu den ständigen Zielen der Wirtschaftspolitik. Sie begünstigte die Herausbildung anderer Industriesektoren, etwa im Materialbereich (DuPont de Nemours, Guardian Glass) oder im Bereich der Automobilzulieferindustrie (Goodyear, Delphi).

Heute sind mehr als 90 % der Industrieproduktion Luxemburgs für den Export bestimmt. Die Industrie trägt noch mit etwa 10 % zum Bruttoinlandsprodukt (BIP) und zur Beschäftigung bei.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015