Logistics

Logistics Hub Luxembourg, putting Europe at your fingertips

Due to its strategic location, Luxembourg has established itself as an ideal intercontinental logistics operations hub in Europe for value-added logistics activities.

Air cargo

Luxembourg’s international airport is one of the leading freight airports in Europe and home base of Cargolux, Europe’s leading all-cargo carrier.

The global network of Cargolux and other airfreight carriers offer multiple destinations to all continents makes Luxembourg a real platform for worldwide distribution. With its modern and well-equipped air freight handling facilities, LuxairCargo offers secure, efficient and speedy ground handling, making Luxembourg on of Europe's most efficient cargo hubs. As an example, LuxairCargo boasts a Healthcare & Pharmaceuticals Hub, a constant temperature storage facility dedicated to the storage and transportation of sanitary products and pharmaceuticals.

Rail freight

CFL Cargo (conventional rail freight) and CFL Multimodal (combined transport and multimodal logistic services) are able to offer reliable rail connections to major continental hubs all across the EU and Turkey as well as to ports of the North Sea and the Baltic Sea, thus making Luxembourg an extended gateway of the main European ports of Zeebrugge, Amsterdam, Rotterdam and Hambourg. With its rail motorway connection, Lorry-Rail provides innovative solutions for multimodal transportation modes. The company operates the rail motorway service Luxembourg — Perpignan for standard unaccompanied semi-trailers. This allows for the transport of some 30,000 semi-trailers per year over a distance of over 1,000km. New routes across Europe are planned.

River freight

Inland waterway shipping is another form of reliable and safe transport. Luxembourg has a river port, which can be used for the shipment of raw materials and agricultural products, iron and steel, and petroleum products to other domestic destinations or to the North Sea.

Luxembourg Freeport

Inaugurated in September 2014, the Luxembourg Freeport is destined to become a pillar of the booming logistics sector. This freeport, located at Findel Airport, is a safe and highly secure area of ​​22.000m2, spread over four floors. Under the control of the services of the Administration of Customs and Excise, it stores works of art, jewelry, vintage cars, wines, important documents and other treasures. Storage of goods at the Luxembourg Freeport benefits form a VAT suspension of.

Key actors of global logistics

Moreover, an important number of qualified players (i.e. carriers, handling agents, forwarding agents and logistics service providers) provide quality service allowing just-in-time access to the EU consumer market.

Major players such as Cargolux, China Airlines, Cobelfret, DB Schenker, DHL, Kühne + Nagel, Morrisson Express, Nippon Express, Panalpina, TNT, Yangtze River and Yusen Air & Sea, to name but a few,have already opted for Luxembourg as base of operations for their high value added logistics activities. As a result, numerous international companies are shipping their products through Luxembourg to tap into the European market.

Cluster for Logistics

The Cluster for Logistics is a network giving support to different key players in the Grand Duchy's logistics sector by helping them to develop synergies and new national and international partnerships through RDI projects.

(Source: Luxembourg, your prime business location)

  • Updated 23-11-2017

Logistik

In Luxemburg ist die Welt zum Greifen nah

Mit seiner hervorragenden Anbindung an die internationalen Märkte dient Luxemburg heute als ideale Operationsbasis für hochwertige logistische Aktivitäten.

Luftfracht

Der internationale Flughafen von Luxemburg ist einer der größten Frachtflughäfen Europas und gleichzeitig Heimatflughafen von Europas größter Luftfrachtgesellschaft, Cargolux.

Das weltweite Netzwerk von Cargolux sowie anderer Luftfrachtunternehmen, die Luxemburg bedienen, bieten zahlreiche tägliche interkontinentale Verbindungen, was Luxemburg zu einer weltweiten Drehscheibe macht. Mit seinem modernen und gut ausgestatteten Frachtabfertigungsbereich bietet LuxairCargo einen sicheren, effizienten und schnellen Bodenabfertigungsservice. Daher gilt Luxemburg als einer der weltweit führenden Frachthubs. So verfügt LuxairCargo zum Beispiel über einen "Pharma- und Gesundheitshub" mit speziell gekühlten Hallen, die dem Transport und der Aufbewahrung von Gesundheits- und Pharmaprodukten dienen.

Schienengüterverkehr

CFL Cargo (klassischer Schienen-Gütertransport) und CFL Multimodal (Container) bieten verlässliche Schienenverbindungen zu den großen kontinentalen Zentren der EU und der Türkei, sowie zu den Häfen der Nordsee, des Baltikums und des Mittelmeeres. So wird Luxemburg zum Hinterland der großen europäischen Häfen wie Antwerpen, Zeebrugge, Amsterdam, Rotterdam und Hamburg. Mit seiner "Piggyback"-Verbindung "Schiene-Straße" bietet Lorry-Rail innovative Lösungen für multimodale Transportarten So betreibt das Unternehmen die "Eisenbahn-Autobahn" Luxemburg-Perpignan und bietet in dem Zusammenhang einen interessantes "Straße/Schiene"-Angebot für Sattelschlepper. Dank dieser Lösung können jährlich etwa 30.000 Sattelschlepper über eine Distanz von 1.000 km befördert werden. Die Erschließung weiterer Strecken durch Europa ist geplant.

Seetransport

Flussschifffahrt ist eine weitere Form zuverlässigen und sicheren Transports. Luxemburg besitzt einen Binnenhafen, der für die Auslieferung von Rohmaterialien ebenso wie für Produkte aus der Landwirtschaft, der Eisen- und Stahlindustrie oder der Mineralölindustrie an andere Binnen- oder Nordseedestinationen genutzt werden kann

Der Freeport Luxembourg

Der Freeport Luxembourg, der im September 2014 seine Tore geöffnet hat, ist dazu bestimmt, eine Säule der boomenden Logistikbranche zu werden. Dieser Freihafen mit Sitz am Flughafen Findel ist ein besonders sicherer und perfekt überwachter Ort. Seine 22.000m2 große Fläche ist auf vier Etagen verteilt. Der Luxembourg Freeport, der unter der ständigen Kontrolle der Zoll- und Verbrauchsteuerverwaltung (Administration des douanes et accises) steht, dient der sicheren Lagerung von Kunstwerken, Schmuck, Sammlerautos, erlesenen Weinen, wichtigen Dokumenten und anderen Schätzen. Die Lagerung von Waren im Luxembourg Freeport ist von der Mehrwertsteuer ausgenommen.

Logistik-Akteure auf Weltniveau

Außerdem bietet eine bedeutende Anzahl qualifizierter Akteure (z. B. Transportunternehmen, Abfertiger, Spediteure und Logistikdienstleister) einen Qualitätsservice, der den bedarfsorientierten Zugang zum Verbrauchermarkt der EU erlaubt.

Führende Anbieter wie Cargolux, China Airlines, Cobelfret, DB Schenker, DHL, Kühne + Nagel, Morrisson Express, Nippon Express, Panalpina, TNT, Yangtze River et Yusen Air & Sea – um nur einige zu nennen – haben Luxemburg als Basis für ihre logistischen Aktivitäten mit hohem Mehrwert gewählt. Aus diesem Grund liefern zahlreiche internationale Unternehmen ihre Waren über Luxemburg aus, um den europäischen Markt zu erschließen.

Cluster for Logistics

Der Cluster for Logistics ist ein Netzwerk, das die einzelnen Akteure des Logistiksektors dabei unterstützt, Synergien und neue nationale und internationale Partnerschaften durch Projekte im Bereich Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation (FEI) zu entwickeln.

(Quelle: Luxembourg, le meilleur choix pour l’implantation de votre entreprise)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 23-11-2017