Environmental technologies

Green shoots

Sustainable development is a key industry for growth in Luxembourg. Over the past few years the Grand Duchy has thus been seeking solutions to reduce pollution and waste. There are many examples of this: the growing use of wind farms, the introduction of energy performance certificates in the building sector as well as the efforts implemented for more electric public transport.

It is estimated that there are over 200 eco businesses in Luxembourg. These companies mainly operate in the fields of renewable energy, waste management, water and environmentally sound construction. In order to support these companies in their efforts, the Luxembourg government is offering financial support, but is also helping to establish networks of expertise.

Encouraging research

In addition, over one hundred eco businesses operate within the EcoInnovation Clusternetwork of expertise run by Luxinnovation, the National Agency for Innovation and Research. The Cluster identifies potential, connects the different actors and helps them to implement collaborative projects.

In addition to this, several entities are carrying out research in the field: the University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), the sustainable construction innovation hub Neobuild, and the Centre de ressources des technologies pour l’environnement - CRTE(Resource Centre for Environmental Technologies).

Attracting investors

The labelling agency Luxflag launched 'Climate Change', an environmental label awarded to funds in which at least 75% of the portfolio is invested in companies linked to environmental issues. With the Luxembourg Green Exchange, the Luxembourg Stock Exchange inaugurated the first green stock exchange in the world, where only 100% environmentally sound projects are accepted.

Green innovation as far away as Antarctica

Many companies based in Luxembourg export their innovations worldwide:

  • the Société électrique de l'Our- SEO (Our Electricity Company) is boosting investment in hydro and wind power generation for both domestic use and export;
  • the start-up Ujet has just revealed its electric scooters, which will be available in Paris, Milan, Monaco and Barcelona as of 2018;
  • a waste management concept has been devised by ECO-Conseil in the United Arab Emirates;
  • Apateq supplies waste water treatment systems, from Grevenmacher to Canada;
  • L.E.E. exports its methods to extract biogas from household waste and the agro-industrial sector to Europe, Africa and Canada.
  • China has embraced the compressed natural gas conversion kits created by Rotarex, which reduce the amount of pollution produced by old vehicles;
  • Prefalux specialises in wood constructions, and enables scientists at the 'Princesss Elizabeth' Belgian research centre in Antarctica to work safely, protected against the wind and cold.

 (Article written by the editorial team of the luxembourg.lu portal / Source:www.ecoinnovationcluster.lu)

  • Updated 23-11-2017

Umwelttechnologien

Der grüne Nachwuchs

Nachhaltige Entwicklung ist eine Schlüsselindustrie des Wachstums in Luxemburg. So engagiert sich das Großherzogtum seit einigen Jahren, um Lösungen zur Reduzierung von Umweltverschmutzung und Abfall zu finden. Als Beispiele seien der wachsende Betrieb von Windparks, die Einführung von Energieeffizienzzertifikaten im Baubereich oder auch die Bemühungen um mehr E-Mobilität im öffentlichen Nahverkehr genannt.

Die Zahl der Ökounternehmen in Luxemburg wird auf über 200 geschätzt. Sie arbeiten vorrangig in den Bereichen erneuerbare Energien, Abfallwirtschaft, Wasser und Ökobauwesen. Um diese Unternehmen in ihren Bemühungen zu unterstützen, interveniert die luxemburgische Regierung durch finanzielle Hilfen, aber trägt auch dazu bei, Expertennetzwerke zu gründen.

Die Forschung fördern

Zudem sind etwa hundert Ökounternehmen im Expertennetzwerk EcoInnovation Cluster, geleitet von Luxinnovation, der nationalen Agentur für Innovationsförderung und Forschung, aktiv. Das Cluster identifiziert Potenziale, bringt die verschiedenen Akteure zusammen und hilft bei der Umsetzung von Gemeinschaftsprojekten.

Daneben forschen mehrere Organismen in diesem Bereich: die Universität Luxemburg, das Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), der Pol für Innovation im nachhaltigen Bauen, Neobuild, oder auch das  Ressourcenzentrum der Umwelttechnologien (Centre de ressources des technologies pour l’environnement, CRTE).

Investoren anziehen

Die Labelling-Agentur Luxflag gründete "Climate Change", ein Umweltlabel, das Fonds erhalten, deren Portfolio zu mindestens 75 % in Unternehmen, die zu Umweltthemen arbeiten, investieren. Der Luxembourg Stock Exchange wiederum weihte mit dem "Luxembourg Green Exchange" die erste grüne Börse der Welt ein, an der nur zu 100 % umweltfreundliche Projekte akzeptiert werden.

Grüne Innovation bis in die Antarktis

Zahlreiche in Luxemburg niedergelassene Unternehmen exportieren ihre Innovationen in die ganze Welt:

  • die Stromgesellschaft der Our (Société électrique de l’Our, SEO) erhöht ihre Investitionen in die Stromerzeugung durch Wasser- und Windkraft für den heimischen und ausländischen Markt;
  • das Start-up Ujet veröffentlichte kürzlich seine E-Roller, die ab 2018 in Paris, Mailand, Monaco und Barcelona verkauft werden;
  • ECO-Conseil arbeitete in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten ein Abfallwirtschaftskonzept aus;
  • die Firma Apateq liefert Abwasserreinigungssysteme aus Grevenmacher nach Kanada;
  • die Firma L.E.E. exportiert ihre Methoden zur Biogasförderung aus Haushalts- und Agrarindustrieabfällen nach Europa, Afrika und Kanada.
  • China ist offen für die Rotarex- Umrüstungssätze für komprimiertes Erdgas, die den Schadstoffausstoß alter Fahrzeuge verringern;
  • Der Beitrag von Prefalux, Experte im Holzbau, ermöglicht den Wissenschaftlern des belgischen Forschungszentrums in der Antarktis, "Princess Elizabeth", sicher und vor Wind und Kälte geschützt zu arbeiten.

 (Dieser Artikel wurde von der Redaktion von luxembourg.lu verfasst / Quelle: www.ecoinnvationcluster.lu)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 23-11-2017