Architecture

A museum designed by Ieoh Ming Pei and a medieval manor house, a Place de l'Europe designed by Ricardo Bofill and Vauban's military fortifications — architecture in the Grand Duchy is all about coexistence, with a mixture of well-preserved remains and surprising modern creations. Moreover, this architecture reveals: a turbulent history, a prominent industrial past, and impressive economic development.

As an example, let's take the Old City of Luxembourg. Here, you can find thousand-year-old fortifications, included on the UNESCO World Heritage list: these remains date back to the time when Luxembourg was nicknamed the 'Gibraltar of the North', precisely because of its imposing fortress, which was dismantled in 1867. However, resolutely modern buildings, signed Perrault, de Portzamparc, Meier and Böhm, mingle with the remainders of the past, only a few steps away, on the Kirchberg plateau. The area was just a field in the 1950s, but rapidly became transformed as the country's European, financial and cultural hub.

In the south, this theme continues. Here, the remains of the iron and steel industry, formerly the pillar of the Grand Duchy's economy, stand alongside ultramodern research laboratories and fashionable offices for the creative industry. Across the country, internationally renowned architects have marked this easy blend of past, present and future with their ideas and expertise. At the same time, the architecture scene in the Grand Duchy is extremely lively: in 2013 some 900 architects were registered with the Order of Architects and Consulting Engineers (Ordre des architectes et ingénieurs-conseils, OAI). Added to this number are 450 consulting engineers and around 40 interior designers. Be it public buildings (museums, cultural centres, the 'Cité judiciaire' (Judiciary Centre)) or private residences, Luxembourg architects have established their style, at home and abroad.

Discover Luxembourg's architecture through the ages!

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Architektur

Ein Museum von Ieoh Ming Pei neben einer mittelalterlichen Burg, Ricardo Bofills Place de l'Europe neben Festungsanlagen von Vauban – was die Architektur Luxemburgs ausmacht, ist vor allem die Mischung und das einträchtige Miteinander von gut erhaltenen Denkmälern und überraschend modernen Bauten. Zugleich vergegenwärtigt die Architektur eine wechselvolle Geschichte, eine prägende industrielle Vergangenheit und eine eindrucksvolle Wirtschaftsentwicklung.

In der Altstadt Luxemburgs etwa finden sich die Überreste einer tausend Jahre alten Festung, die heute zum Unesco-Weltkulturerbe gehört. Diese Festung war bis zu ihrem Abriss im Jahre 1867 eine imposante Wehranlage und bescherte Luxemburg einst den Beinamen "Gibraltar des Nordens". Diese Festung war bis zu ihrem Abriss im Jahre 1867 eine imposante Wehranlage und bescherte Luxemburg einst den Beinamen "Gibraltar des Nordens". Auf dem Kirchberg-Plateau, ganz in der Nähe dieser Zeitzeugen der Vergangenheit, stehen modernste Bauten unter anderem von Perrault, de Portzamparc, Meier und Böhm. In den 1950er-Jahren noch Ackerland, hat sich das Plateau zum Europa-, Finanz- und Kulturzentrum des Landes entwickelt.

Auch im Süden des Landes findet man dieses Prinzip wieder. Relikte der Eisen- und Stahlindustrie – einst das Rückgrat der luxemburgischen Wirtschaft – liegen hier dicht an dicht mit hochmodernen Forschungslaboren und hippen Büros der Kultur- und Kreativbranche. International renommierte Architekten haben dieser ungezwungenen Mischung aus Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft allenthalben ihren Stempel aufgedrückt. Doch auch Luxemburgs Architekturszene ist äußerst lebendig. Im Jahr 2013 zählte die Architekten- und Ingenieurkammer (Ordre des architectes et ingénieurs-conseils, OAI) rund 900 Architekten sowie 450 beratende Ingenieure und etwa 40 Innenarchitekten. Mit ihren Entwürfen für öffentliche Bauten (Museen, Kulturzentren, Cité Judiciaire) und Privathäuser haben sich luxemburgische Architekten auch im Ausland einen Namen gemacht.

Entdecken Sie die luxemburgische Architektur im Spiegel der Zeit!

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015