Literature

One of the main features of Luxembourg literature is due to the linguistic environment, resulting from the geographical situation and history of a country at the intersection of Latin and Germanic cultures.

Over the centuries, this has resulted in a unique linguistic environment, featuring the association and coexistence of three languages on an everyday basis: Luxembourgish, German, and French. Multilingualism is an underlying feature of Luxembourg literature and influences the route taken by Luxembourgish writers.

From a purely linguistic point of view, Luxembourgish literature is not singular but plural, as it is produced in three languages - or even four, if English-language writers are included. This polyphonic production is given the collective term 'Luxemburgensia', a concept which covers all literary works and printed documents that are either written by Luxembourg nationals, or produced in the Grand Duchy, or are about the Grand Duchy, regardless of the language used.

German-language literature is the most accessible and the most widespread in the Grand Duchy, although in recent years there has been an increase in the number of writers using Luxembourgish. Luxembourg literature production in French is less common, but has a very high profile outside the country.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Literatur

Eine der Hauptcharakteristiken der luxemburgischen Literatur, die sich zwischen der romanischen und germanischen Kultur bewegt, ist mit dem sprachlichen Umfeld verknüpft, das durch die geografische Situation und die Geschichte Luxemburgs entstanden ist.

Auf diese Weise hat sich im Laufe der Jahrhunderte ein einzigartiges sprachliches Umfeld entwickelt, das sich durch den Zusammenschluss und der Koexistenz von drei Sprachen auszeichnet: dem Luxemburgischen, Deutschen und Französischen. Die Mehrsprachigkeit bildet die Grundlage der luxemburgischen Literatur und beeinflusst den Werdegang der luxemburgischen Schriftsteller.

Von einem sprachwissenschaftlichen Standpunkt her betrachtet gibt es keine luxemburgische Literatur an sich, sondern mehrere luxemburgische Literaturen, die sich in drei, sogar vier – wenn man die englischsprachigen Autoren hinzuzählt –Sprachen ausdrücken. Diese polyphone Produktion wird unter dem kollektiven Namen Luxemburgensia erfasst. Diese umfasst die literarischen Werke und gedruckten Dokumente, die entweder auf Luxemburgisch geschrieben, in Luxemburg produziert worden sind oder die Luxemburg als Thema haben, egal in welcher Sprache.

Die Literatur in deutscher Sprache ist in Luxemburg am zugänglichsten und am weit verbreitesten, auch wenn sich die Talente die in luxemburgischer Sprache schreiben seit einigen Jahren immer mehr entfalten. Die luxemburgische Literatur auf Französisch ist weniger weit verbreitet, im Ausland jedoch sehr beachtet.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015