Photography

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has two tourist blockbusters in Edward Steichen's photographic collections — 'The Family of Man' in Clervaux, and 'The Bitter Years' in Dudelange.

The legendary 'The Family of Man' collection, listed on UNESCO's Memory of the World Register, and 'The Bitter Years, 1935-1941' by the Luxembourg-born American photographer turn the Grand Duchy into 'Steichenland' — the country with a fabulous concentration of works by the famous photographer on display to the public.

Two places come to mind immediately as soon as photography is mentioned: Dudelange in the southern part of the Grand Duchy, and Clervaux in the Luxembourg Ardennes.

Dudelange because the former iron and steel centre is home to the National Audiovisual Centre (Centre national de l'audiovisuel, CNA), which plays a front-line role in the field of photography. The CNA, housed in an old water tower, is home to the famous collection called 'The Bitter Years', while the adjacent Pomhouse presents exhibitions of photographs by various contemporary photographers.

And Clervaux because the castle there is home to the legendary 'The Family of Man' collection. It has also achieved a higher profile in the field of photography as a result of the 'Clervaux — cité de l'image' project.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Fotografie

Mit Edward Steichens Sammlungen "The Family of Man" in Clervaux und "The Bitter Years" in Düdelingen besitzt das Großherzogtum Luxemburg zwei touristische Highlights.

Mit der legendären Sammlung "The Family of Man", die ins UNESCO-Weltregister "Memory of the World" aufegenommen wurde, sowie "The Bitter Years 1935-1941" des luxemburgischstämmigen Fotografen gilt das Großherzogtum ohne Zweifel als "Steichenland", das Land also, in dem eine überaus große Anzahl von Werken des berühmten Fotografen einem interessierten Publikum zugänglich ist.

Wenn man auf Fotografie zu sprechen kommt, fallen einem tatsächlich sofort 2 Städte ein: Düdelingen im Süden und Clervaux im Ösling.

Dudelange, weil sich in der ehemaligen Hüttenstadt das Nationale audiovisuelle Zentrum (Centre national de l'audiovisuel, CNA) befindet, das eine wichtige Rolle in der Fotografie spielt. Am Standort des CNA, einem ehemaligen Wasserturm, ist die berühmte Sammlung "The Bitter Years" untergebracht, und das benachbarte Pomhouse beherbergt die Fotoausstellungen verschiedener zeitgenössischer Fotografen.

Außerdem Clervaux als Heimstätte der legendären Sammlung "The Family of Man" im Schloss von Clervaux. Die Stadt konnte sich auch im Bereich der Fotografie mit dem Projekt "Clervaux -Stadt des Bildes" (Clervaux - cité de l'image) einen Namen machen.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015