Buergbrennen

It's time to chase winter away!

On the first Sunday after Carnival, the 'Buergen' (torches) are lit across the Grand Duchy to chase away the winter. Thousands of people attend this traditional festival every year.

A 'Buerg', before being set alight
Claude Piscitelli
The 'Buergen' that are set alight on hilltops throughout the country on the first Sunday after Carnival — Buergsonndeg — are huge stakes with a large cross in the middle.

The materials frequently used include straw, branches and logs. Most of the time, the 'Buergen' are erected by the local young people, who sometimes also organise a torch-lit procession from the village to the 'Buerg', which they then set alight under the supervision of the local fire brigade.

In some places, the honour of lighting the 'Buerg' goes to the most recently married local couple, or to a local celebrity. Thousands of people of all ages meet each year for the Luxembourgish tradition of 'Buergbrennen'.

Its origins

'Burgbrennen', or 'Faaschtefeier' (Lent festival) as some people call it, is a pagan custom.

Since ancient times, the 'Buergbrennen' tradition has been observed around the time of the spring equinox. The blaze symbolises the rebirth of spring and the end of winter, the triumph of warmth over the cold, of light over darkness. Some claim the blaze is a symbolic reminder of the time when witches were burnt at the stake.

Linguists tell us that 'Buerg' has nothing to do with a castle. The etymology of the word comes from the Latin verb 'burere', meaning 'to burn'.

What happens

The event usually starts during the afternoon with the construction of the 'Buerg', followed by a torchlight procession, and ending with the lighting of the fire as darkness falls. Grilled food and traditional dishes including 'Ierzebulli' (pea soup), 'Bouneschlupp' (green bean soup) and 'Glühwäin' (mulled wine) are served.

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. 'Traditions and festivals' in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Information and Press Service. 2007.)

  • Updated 28-02-2017

Buergbrennen

Vertreibung des Winters!

Am ersten Sonntag nach Karneval werden quer durchs Land Buergen (Burgen) angezündet, um den Winter zu vertreiben. Dieses traditionelle Fest zieht jährlich tausende Menschen an.

Eine "Buerg", ehe sie in Brand gesteckt wird
Claude Piscitelli
Die Buergen, die am ersten Sonntag nach Karneval, dem Buergsonndeg, auf den Anhöhen des Landes angezündet werden, sind riesige Scheiterhaufen mit einem großen Kreuz in der Mitte.

Als Brennmaterial werden meistens Stroh, Geäst sowie Rundholzstücke benutzt. Meistens werden die Buergen von Jugendorganisationen errichtet, die manchmal auch einen Fackelzug vom Dorf bis zur Buerg organisieren, um diese unter Aufsicht der Feuerwehr anzuzünden.

In einigen Ortschaften gebührt dem zuletzt verheirateten Paar oder einer lokalen Persönlichkeit die Ehre, die Buerg anzuzünden. Das Buergbrennen ist eine luxemburgische Tradition, die jährlich tausende Menschen aller Altersklassen zusammenführt.

Die Ursprünge

Das Buergbrennen oder Faaschtefest (Fest der Fastenzeit), wie einige die Tradition nannten, ist ein heidnischer Brauch.

Die Tradition des Buergbrennens findet seit alters her zum Frühlingsanfang statt. Das Feuer steht für die Wiedergeburt des Frühlings und die Vertreibung des Winters; es ist der Triumph der Hitze über die Kälte, des Lichts über die Dämmerung. Manchmal liest man auch, dass die Feuersbrunst der Buerg eine symbolische Erinnerung an jene Zeiten ist, als man Hexen verbrannte.

Sprachwissenschaftlern zufolge hat das Wort "Buerg" nichts mit einer Burg zu tun. Die Etymologie des Wortes kommt von burere, dem lateinischen Verb für "brennen".

Der Ablauf

Das Fest fängt gewöhnlich am Nachmittag mit dem Errichten der Buerg an, gefolgt von einem Fackelzug und endet mit dem Anzünden des Scheiterhaufens bei Einbruch der Nacht. Gegrilltes und traditionelle Speisen wie Ierzebulli (Erbsensuppe), Bouneschlupp (Bohnensuppe) oder Glühwäin (Glühwein) werden serviert.

(Quelle: BRAUN, Josy. "Traditions et fêtes" in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Presse- und Informationsamt. 2007.) (auf Französisch)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 28-02-2017