23 June - National Day

Torchlight procession, fireworks, Te Deum, ceremonial drill ...

From a historical point of view, the Grand Duchy has been independent, with a dynasty of its own, for only a relatively short period of time. During the 19th century, the Luxembourg people celebrated their national day on Kinnéksdag (the birthday of the King of the Netherlands).

Reviewing the troops on National Day, June 23rd
Claude Piscitelli
The country’s first real national holiday in a patriotic sense was the Groussherzoginsgebuertsdag (the birthday of Grand Duchess Charlotte, who reigned from 1919 to 1964). Given that this day fell on 23 January, it was transferred in 1962 to a more summery date — 23 June.

Ever since Grand Duke Jean ascended the throne in 1964, 23 June has continued to be celebrated as the country’s national day.

In Luxembourg City, the capital, the festivities start on 22 June, the eve of National Day, with a solemn changing of the guard in front of the Grand Duke's palace at about 4 p.m.

While the Grand Duke and Duchess visit a different town in the Grand Duchy each year in the early evening, one member of the grand ducal family always visits the country's second most important city, Esch-sur-Alzette.

After a torchlight procession and fireworks launched from Thüngen Fort in the Trois Glands park, the partying starts in public areas all over the capital city, with concerts and DJs. Throughout the evening, the city is alive with happiness, fun and music: there are concerts on nearly every public square, with small bands or individual musicians playing.

On 23 June, in the morning, an official ceremony takes place at the Philharmonie Luxembourg, followed by a 21 gun salute from Fetschenhof. During the ensuing traditional ceremonial drill in the Avenue de la Liberté, HRH the Grand Duke and HRH the Hereditary Grand Duke inspect the troops, before attending a military and a civilian parade. A Te Deum is also held in Luxembourg City's Notre-Dame cathedral in the afternoon.

Every one of the country’s 105 municipalities also celebrates this day. The Te Deum is sung in the local churches, the mayor holds a patriotic speech in the presence of the assembled citizens and members of local clubs, and the Order of Merit is conferred on musicians and firefighters. Following which the representatives of the municipality's political establishment and its clubs and associations retire to a local restaurant for a 'democratic banquet'.

  • Updated 16-12-2016

Nationalfeiertag (23. Juni)

Fackelzug, Feuerwerk, Te Deum, feierliche Wachablösung...

Angesichts der Geschichte sind die Unabhängigkeit und die Monarchie des Landes noch jung. Im 19. Jahrhundert war der Nationalfeiertag der Kinneksgebuertsdag (das heißt der Geburtstag des Königs der Niederlande).

Militärparade zum Nationalfeiertag am 23. Juni
Claude Piscitelli
Erst mit dem Groussherzoginsgebuertsdag gab es einen nationalen Feiertag im patriotischen Sinne des Wortes (der Geburtstag von Großherzogin Charlotte, die von 1919 bis 1964 regierte). Da dies der 23. Januar war, wurde der Tag 1962 auf ein sommerlicheres Datum verlegt, nämlich den 23. Juni.

Seit der Thronbesteigung von Großherzog Jean im Jahre 1964, wird dieser Tag einfach als Nationalfeiertag feierlich begangen.

In der Hauptstadt Luxemburg beginnen die Feierlichkeiten bereits am Vortag, dem 22. Juni, mit der feierlichen Wachablösung vor dem großherzoglichen Palast gegen 16.00 Uhr.

Während das großherzogliche Paar in den frühen Abendstunden jedes Jahr eine andere Stadt im Land besucht, begibt sich ein Mitglied der großherzoglichen Familie alljährlich nach Esch an der Alzette, die zweitgrößte Stadt des Landes.

Nach dem Fackelzug und dem Feuerwerk, das im Fort Thüngen im Parc des Trois Glands entzündet wird, beginnt die Feier auf den öffentlichen Plätzen der Hauptstadt mit Konzerten und DJs. An diesem Abend bestimmen Freude, Ausgelassenheit und Musik das Leben in der Hauptstadt: auf nahezu allen Plätzen finden Konzerte statt, es spielen Orchester und Straßenmusiker.

Am 23. Juni, im Laufe des Vormittags, findet die offizielle Zeremonie in der Philharmonie Luxemburg statt, gefolgt von 21 Kanonenschüssen vom Fetschenhof aus. Bei dem traditionellen Appel anschließend in der Avenue de la Liberté, schreiten S. K. H. der Großherzog und S. K. H. der Erbgroßherzog die Truppen ab, bevor sie einer Militärparade und einer zivilen Parade beiwohnen. Am Nachmittag wird auch ein Te Deum in der Kathedrale Unserer Lieben Frau von Luxemburg abgehalten.

Die 105 Gemeinden des Landes feiern ebenfalls an diesem Tag. Das Te Deum wird in den Kirchen gesungen, der Bürgermeister hält eine patriotische Rede vor den Bürgern und Vereinsmitgliedern, der Verdienstorden wird an die Musiker und Feuerwehrleute überreicht. Anschließend wird für die Vertreter der Politik und der Vereine ein Festbankett in einem Restaurant der Gemeinde serviert.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 16-12-2016