'Gënzefest' in Wiltz

Whit Monday, on May or June each year.

"Geenzefest" or gorse festival in Wiltz
Fotoclub Wooltz
On Whit Monday each year, Wiltz hosts the traditional 'Gënzefest' - or 'Geenzefest' as people in the north of the Grand Duchy call it - to celebrate flowering broom.

Celebrated since 1949 in the Ardennes town, the Gënzefest honours the genista, a yellow-flowered shrub particularly abundant on the hills of the Oesling region at this time of the year, which literally bathes the landscape in a golden yellow every year.

The 'Geenzefest' is organised by the association 'Les Amis de la féerie du genêt de Wiltz' (the friends of the Broom Festival of Wiltz); it is best known for its impressive flowering broom parade: more than forty floats, all decorated with broom, together with music and folk groups from the Grand Duchy and further afield, parade through the streets of the town on Whit Monday.

As well as the parade, there is an extensive programme of festivities throughout the Whit weekend: exhibitions, the crowning of the Broom Queen, a flea market at the castle and in the main street, folk displays, concerts, shows, and a dance. Exceptionally, shops and museums in Wiltz are all open on Whit Monday.

Over the years, the 'Geenzefest' has become one of the most important folk events in the Grand Duchy, attracting nearly 10,000 visitors each year to the winding streets of the main town in the Ardennes area.

  • Updated 06-06-2017

Gënzefest in Wiltz

Pfingstmontag, Mai oder Juni.

"Geenzefest" oder Ginsterfest in Wiltz
Fotoclub Wooltz
Jedes Jahr an Pfingstmontag findet in Wiltz das traditionelle Gënzefest, oder Geenzefest (Ginsterfest), wie die Einwohner im Norden Luxemburgs sagen, statt.

Beim Ginsterfest, das seit 1949 in der Ardennenstadt gefeiert wird, dreht sich alles um diesen Strauch mit gelber Blume, der besonders auf den Hügeln der Oesling-Region in dieser Zeit des Jahres reichlich vorhanden ist und der die Landschaft wortwörtlich in ein goldenes Gelb taucht.

Organisiert von der Vereinigung "Les Amis de la féerie du genêt de Wiltz", ist das Geenzefest vor allem durch seinen beeindruckenden Ginsterumzug bekannt. Mehr als 40 mit Ginster gestaltete Wagen, nationale und internationale Musik- und Folkloregruppengruppen ziehen am Pfingstmontag durch die Straßen der Stadt.

Neben dem prächtigen Umzug, findet das ganze Wochenende über ein umfangreiches Animationsprogramm statt: Ausstellungen, Krönung der Ginsterkönigin, Flohmarkt im Schloss und in der Grand-Rue, Folklore, Konzerte, Spektakel und Ginsterball. Die Geschäfte und Museen der Stadt sind am Pfingstmontag ausnahmsweise geöffnet.

Im Laufe der Jahre ist das Geenzefest eine der wichtigsten folkloristischen Veranstaltungen des Großherzogtum Luxemburgs geworden. Es zieht jährlich fast 10.000 Zuschauer in die verschlungenen Straßen der Ardennenhauptstadt.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 06-06-2017