Christmas (25 December)

A religious and family celebration

On 25 December, Luxembourgers celebrate Christmas, one of the most important Christian festivals, in memory of the birth of Jesus of Nazareth, the Son of God. Christmas Eve, 24 December, provides an occasion for organising a festive family meal and, for practising Christians, the opportunity to attend midnight mass.

A religious festival

Christmas market on the Place de la Constitution (Luxembourg City)
SIP / Zineb Ruppert
In Luxembourg, the majority of the population are Catholic. To celebrate Christmas, practising Christians attend mass — either midnight mass (Metten) on 24 December, or Christmas mass on 25 December. A particularly beautiful midnight mass is celebrated every year at Notre-Dame Cathedral in Luxembourg. For practical reasons, mass is also celebrated in the early evening on 24 December.

Many villages also stage Krëppespiller (nativity plays), performed by children.

A family celebration

But Christmas is above all a family celebration, characterised especially by family reunification where people share a hearty meal.

Formerly, after the end of the midnight mass, many Luxembourgers ate Träipen (black pudding) with mashed potatoes and apple sauce. Nowadays, meals are often a little less locally typical: turkey, fondue, seafood, Yule log, Stollen, etc. However, many typical Luxembourgish dishes are also consumed around Christmas time, such as Gromperekichelcher (potato fritters), Boxemännercher (a brioche in the shape of a man), Glühwäin (mulled wine) and Egg Nogg (a drink made of sweetened milk, cream, vanilla and rum).

According to an annual study, Luxembourgers spend around 700 euros for the end of year festivities.

For Luxembourgish kids, is not Father Christmas who brings gifts, but d'Chrëschtkëndchen (infant Jesus). And it is the Kleeschen (St Nicholas) who brings gifts on 6 December. In some families, presents are opened on Christmas Eve, while in others they are opened on Christmas Day (25 December).

The presents are placed under the Christmas Tree, which can be found in the majority of Luxembourgish households.

Advent and preparation for Christmas

Numerous Christmas markets, processions, cribs, illuminated streets, decorated shops, concerts and other events create a magical festive atmosphere throughout the country. Luxembourg City, for example, creates a winter festival atmosphere with its ‘Winterlights’, providing a unifying theme for a whole series of advent festivities: a Christmas Parade, Christmas markets, public concerts, exhibitions, and a variety of other events.

Advent calendar
SIP
In the weeks preceding Christmas, Christmas parties are held in nurseries, fundamental schools, homes for the elderly, sports clubs, etc. Christmas concerts take place in churches, schools and on the Christmas markets.

In fundamental schools and children's choirs, children spend weeks learning Christmas carols. At home, children particularly enjoy the preparation of Christmas biscuits, and decorations are put up according to each family's tradition.

Many Christmas trees are decorated as long as two or three weeks before Christmas. In some villages, girl guides and boy scouts go around collecting Christmas trees in the first week of the new year. They use them as firewood at the Buergbrennen, a celebration centred around a huge bonfire.

On the first Sunday of advent, the first candle on the family Adventskranz (advent wreath ) is lit. The majority of households create or buy advent wreaths made of fir branches, pine, holly or sometimes mistletoe, adorned with four candles. Each Sunday of advent, an additional candle is lit.

Children pass the time until Christmas by opening another window on their advent calendars each day from 1 to 24 December. Originally, these calendars contained religious images, but these have now been replaced by biscuits, chocolates or small toys.

And when this atmosphere is enhanced by a snow-covered landscape, Luxembourgers can enjoy a perfect Christmas.

Public holidays and school holidays

Christmas is one of the most important holidays for many Luxembourgers. On 25 December, Chrëschtdag (Christmas Day) and 26 December, Stiefesdag (Boxing Day), are legal holidays.

Most shops, banks and businesses close on the afternoon of 24 December and remain closed on 25 and 26 December. Children in fundamental and secondary education, for their part, enjoy 2 weeks of school holidays.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Weihnachten (25. Dezember)

Ein religiöses Familienfest

Am 25. Dezember feiern die Luxemburger Weihnachten, eines der wichtigsten christlichen Feste, das der Geburt Jesu von Nazareth, dem Sohn Gottes, gewidmet ist. An Heiligabend, dem 24. Dezember, versammeln sich die Familien zu einem feierlichen Essen und die praktizierenden Christen nehmen an der Christmette teil.

Ein religiöses Fest

Weihnachtsmarkt auf der Place de la Constitution (Luxemburg-Stadt)
SIP / Zineb Ruppert
In Luxemburg ist die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung katholisch. Um Weihnachten zu feiern besuchen die praktizierenden Katholiken entweder die Christmette ("Metten") oder die Weihnachtsmesse am 25. Dezember. Eine besonders schöne Christmette wird jedes Jahr in der Kathedrale Unserer lieben Frau von Luxemburg gefeiert. Aus praktischen Gründen finden mancherorts am frühen Heiligabend Messen statt.

Außerdem kann in vielen Dörfern ein von Kindern aufgeführtes Krippenspiel bewundert werden.

Ein Familienfest

Weihnachten ist aber vor allem ein Fest an dem die Familien sich zu einem reichhaltigen Festmahl versammeln.

Früher war es Tradition gemeinsam nach der Christmette Träipen (Blutwurst) mit Kartoffelbrei und Apfelmus zu essen. Heuzutagefällt das Mahl etwas weniger typisch aus: Truthahn, Fondue, Meeresfrüchte, Weihnachtsbûche, Stollen, ... . Allerdings haben immer noch einige typisch luxemburgische Gerichte in der Weihnachtszeit Hochkonjunktur: Gromperekichelcher (Kartoffelpuffer), Boxemännercher (Stutenkerle), Glühwäin (Glühwein) oder Egg Nogg (ein süsses Getränk mit Sahne, Vanille und Rhum).

Einer jährlich durchgeführten Studie zu urteilen, geben die Luxemburger rund 700 Euro für die Feierlichkeiten am Jahresende aus.

Die kleinen Luxemburger bekommen ihre Weihnachtsgeschenke nicht vom Weihnachsmann, sondern vom Chrëschtkëndchen (das Jesuskind). Allerdings kommt am 6. Dezember schon der Kleeschen (der Heilige Nikolaus) und bringt ebenfalls Geschenke. In manchen Familien werden die Weihnachsgeschenke an Heiligabend geöffnet, bei anderen findet die Bescherung erst am 25. Dezember statt.

Die Geschenke werden unter den Weihnachtsbaum gelegt, der in den meisten Haushalten in Luxemburg steht.

Der Advent und die Weihnachsvorbereitungen

Rund um Weihnachten lassen die vielen Weihnachtsmärkte, Umzüge, beleuchteten Straßen, dekorierte Läden, Konzerte und andere Animationen im ganzen Land eine magische Stimmung aufkommen. Die Stadt Luxemburg organisiert zum Beispiel jedes Jahr eine Festtagsstimmung mit "Winterlights", einer Serie von Veranstaltungen in der Adventszeit um das Thema Licht: Christmas Parade, Weihnachtsmärkte, öffentliche Konzerte, Ausstellungen und andere Events.

Adventskalender
SIP
Einige Wochen vor Weihnachten finden Weihnachtsfeiern in den Kindertagesstätten, Schulen, Altenheime, Sportklubs, usw. statt. In Kirchen, Schulen und Weihnachtsmärkten finden Konzerte statt.

In den Grundschulen studieren Kinderchöre wochenlang Weihnachtslieder ein. In den Familien werden Kekse gebacken,was vor allem den Kleinsten Freude bereitet. Die Häuser werden je nach der Kultur der jeweiligen Bewohner prächtig geschmückt.

Viele Haushalte stellen ihre Weihnachtsbäume bereits zwei bis drei Wochen vor Weihnachten auf. In machen Dörfern holen die Pfadfindergruppen die Weihnachstbäume während der Neujahrswoche wieder ab. Die Bäume werden dann gelagert und anläßlich des Buergbrennens weiterverwertet.

Am ersten Adventssonntag wird die erste Kerze des Adventkranzes angezündet. In den meisten Haushalten wird jedes Jahr ein Adventskranz aus Tannen- Kiefern- oder Mistelzweigen, gebastelt oder gekauft. An jedem Adventssonntag wird eine weitere Kerze angezündet.

Die Kinder überbrücken die Wartezeit bis Weihnachten, indem sie täglich ein Türchen ihres Weihnachtskalenders öffnen. Früher waren Heiligenbilder in den Kästchen versteckt, heute findet man dort Kekse, Schokolade oder Miniaturspielzeug.

Wenn es dann soweit ist, wünschen sich die Luxemburger nur noch eine weiße Schneedecke, um das Fest perfekt zu machen.

Feiertage und Schulferien

Für viele Luxemburger ist Weihnachten eines der wichtigsten Feste des Jahres. Der 25. Dezember (Chrëschtdag) und der 26. Dezember (Stiefesdag) sind gesetzliche Feiertage.

Die meisten Läden, Banken und Betriebe schließen an Heiligabend im Laufe des Nachmittags und bleiben dann am 25. und 26. Dezember geschlossen. Die Kinder der Grund- und Sekundarschule können sich ihrerseits auf zwei Wochen Ferien freuen.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015