Oktav (April and May)

The most important pilgrimage in the Grand Duchy

Final procession of the Oktave - grand ducal family
Jean-Paul Kieffer / SIP
The Oktav, celebrated in honour of the Virgin Mary, is the main religious event of the year. Over the period of a fortnight, usually during the second half of April, parishioners from all over the country, as well as from the Eifel in Germany, the Belgian province of Luxembourg and France’s Lorraine region, embark on a pilgrimage to Luxembourg’s capital. This tradition dates back to 1666, when the provincial council of the time chose the Virgin Mary as the country’s patron saint and Consoler of the Afflicted ('consolatrix afflictorum'), to protect the people from an outbreak of the plague. The origin of the statue of Mary, carved from dark wood, has not been historically established. What is known is that in 1666 the Jesuits transferred it from the old Glacis chapel to what was then the Jesuit church, which has since become the cathedral church of the diocese. During the period of the Oktav, the statue stands on a special votive altar in the central choir.

The pilgrims arrive at the outskirts of the city, where they form processions that make their way to the Cathedral while praying. Over the fortnight of the Oktav, different parishes and various organisations celebrate their own masses. The 'Oktavsmäertchen' held on the Knuedler (Place Guillaume II) is a small market closely linked to religious tradition. After the visit to the Cathedral, pilgrims can head to the market to enjoy a drink or some food and to buy a souvenir among the various ornaments and articles on offer.

The end of the Oktav is marked by a final solemn procession, during which the statue of the Virgin Mary is carried through the capital’s streets. Believers forming the procession are joined by members of the grand ducal family, representatives of the government, parliament, the courts of justice and other public institutions.

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. 'Traditions and festivals' in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Information and Press Service. 2007.)

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Oktav (April und Mai)

Das größte Pilgerereignis im Großherzogtum

Schlussprozession der OKtave - großherzogliche Familie
Jean-Paul Kieffer / SIP
Die Oktav wird zu Ehren der Heiligen Maria gefeiert und ist das wichtigste religiöse Ereignis des Jahres. Ab der zweiten Aprilhälfte pilgern zwei Wochen lang täglich hunderte Gläubige aus ganz Luxemburg, der deutschen Eifel, dem französischen Lothringen und der belgischen Province de Luxembourg in die luxemburgische Hauptstadt. Diese Tradition geht auf das Jahr 1666 zurück als der damalige Provinzialrat die Heilige Maria zur Landespatronin und Trösterin der Betrübten (consolatrix afflictorum) wählte, um damit der Pest Einhalt zu gebieten. Die Herkunft der Marienstatue aus dunklem Holz ist allerdings historisch nicht bewiesen. Sicher ist nur, dass es die Jesuiten waren, die die Statue aus der alten Glacis-Kapelle in die damalige Jesuitenkirche, die heutige Kathedrale, brachten. Während der Oktav befindet sich die Statue auf einem Votivalter im Chorraum der Kathedrale.

Die Pilger, die meist einer bestimmten Pfarrei oder Organisation angehören, kommen gruppenweise in den Vororten der Stadt an und begeben sich dann betend in Prozessionen zur Kathedrale wo dann eine auf die jeweilige Gruppe zugeschneiderte Messe abgehalten wird. Der Oktavsmäertchen auf dem Knuedler (Place Guillaume II) ist ein kleiner Markt, der eng mit der religiösen Tradition verbunden ist. Nach dem Besuch der Kathedrale können sich die Pilger in einem der kleinen Restaurants stärken und an einem der Stände ein Andenken kaufen.

Am Ende der Oktav findet die feierliche Schlussprozession statt. Diese führt durch die gesamte Stadt. Die Marienstatue wird dabei von mehreren Priestern getragen. Neben den Pilgern nehmen auch Mitglieder der großherzoglichen Familie, der Regierung, des Parlaments, des Justizapparates und anderen staatlichen Einrichtungen daran teil.

(Quelle: BRAUN, Josy. "Traditions et fêtes" in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Presse- und Informationsamt. 2007.)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 28-04-2015