Dancing Procession of Echternach

A tradition included on the UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage list, on May or June each year.

The 'Echternach Sprangprëssessioun' (hopping procession) comes from a very old religious tradition. The only hopping procession in Europe, it is known far beyond the borders of Luxembourg. The procession, which takes place on the Tuesday after Whitsunday, is a curiosity of international renown. Since 16 November 2010, this tradition is included on the UNESCO Representative List of Intangible Cultural Heritage.

Participants of the Hopping Procession to honour Saint Willibrordus
Marcel Schmitz / SIP
Obscure pagan traditions lie at the origin of this procession. According to legend, it dates back to the 8th century, to St Willibrord and a certain Vitus, known as the 'Fiddler of Echternach'. The story has it that Vitus went on a pilgrimage to the Holy Land with his wife, only to return by himself, his wife having died along the way. Jealous relatives, who during his absence had shared out all his possessions, spread the rumour that Vitus himself had killed his wife while abroad. The unfortunate man was sentenced to death and upon being led to the gallows asked whether he could play his violin one last time. His wish was granted and Vitus started playing. Onlookers gathered around the gallows started to dance. They danced for hours on end, until their feet sank into the ground, with Vitus having long fled the gallows and the city of Echternach, still playing, while the crowds continued to dance. This is when St Willibrord was called upon to put an end to this curse and release the unfortunate from the St Vitus’ dance.

In ancient times, it was believed that the 'Sprangprëssessioun', the hopping procession, healed not only St Vitus’ dance (i.e. epilepsy), but also other aches and pains afflicting men and animals. Far from being a mainly traditional event as it is today, in bygone days the procession was a true pilgrimage, drawing people from afar and mostly on foot. To this day, the story is told of worshippers from Prüm in the Eifel who never set out for Echternach without taking along a few coffins, because invariably their group lost a pilgrim or two en route.

The hopping procession is literally a skipping procession: participants skip two steps to the left, two to the right. In the past, skipping consisted of three steps forward and two steps back (thus the humourous and still widely used phrase of something progressing 'at an Echternach pace'). The procession, composed of rows of five to six dancers with each dancer grasping the ends of a handkerchief, moves forward slowly to the repeated sounds of the lively 'Sprangprëssessioun' melody, inspired by the traditional song Adam had seven sons, the tune of which still rings in the ears of both participants and onlookers, long after the day is over.

The music is played not only by the country’s brass and wind bands, but also by accordion and fiddler ensembles. The procession takes some three hours to make its way through the streets of the old abbey town, with the bands and the skipping procession passing before the tomb of St Willibrord, who lies buried in the crypt of the Basilica. The number of spectators amounts to around ten thousand.

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. 'Traditions and festivals' in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Information and Press Service. 2007.)

  • Updated 02-06-2017

Die Echternacher Springprozession

Eine Tradition, die es auf die Liste des Unesco-Weltkulturerbes geschafft hat, Mai oder Juni.

Die Echternacher Springprozession ist Teil einer sehr alten religiösen Tradition. Es handelt sich um die einzige Springprozession in Europa, die gerade deshalb auch weit über die Grenzen Luxemburgs hinaus bekannt ist. Die Prozession, die am Pfingstdienstag stattfindet, ist ein international bekanntes Ereignis. Seit dem 16. November 2010 befindet sich diese Tradition auf der Liste des Unesco-Weltkulturerbes.

Teilnehmer an der Sprinprozession zu Ehren des Heiligen Willibrord
Marcel Schmitz / SIP
Diese Prozession ist aus heidnischen Ritualen heraus entstanden. Der Legende nach geht sie auf das 8. Jahrhundert und den Heiligen Willibrord sowie den langen Veit, den "Geiger von Echternach", zurück. Der lange Veit war mit seiner Frau ins Heilige Land gepilgert, musste aber alleine wieder zurückkehren, da seine Frau unterwegs verstorben war. Während seiner langen Abwesenheit hatten sich einige Verwandte über seinen Besitz hergemacht, um dann, bei seiner Rückkehr, das Gerücht zu streuen, Veit habe seine Frau eigenhändig getötet. Der Unglückliche wurde zu Tode veruteilt. Doch bevor er gehängt werden sollte, bat er, ein letztes Lied auf der Geige spielen zu dürfen. Dieser Wunsch wurde ihm gewährt. Veit fing an zu spielen und bald begannen die Schaulustigen zu tanzen. Stundenlang haben sie getanzt! Und als Veit, natürlich Geige spielend, die Stadt verließ, tanzten sie noch immer. Da wurde der Heilige Willibrord gerufen, um den Fluch zu durchbrechen und die Unglücklichen vom Bann des Veit zu befreien.

In früheren Zeiten hieß es, die Beteiligung an der Springprozession diene dazu, den Veitstanz sowie manch anderes Leiden bei Mensch und Tier zu heilen. Anders als heute handelte es sich früher nicht um eine hauptsächlich folkloristische Veranstaltung, sondern um eine richtige Pilgerfahrt zu der die Gläubigen oft zu Fuß, manchmal von weither, kamen. Sie nahmen oft große Strapazen auf sich, um an der Springprozession teilzunehmen. Heute noch erzählt man, dass die Pilger aus Prüm in der Eifel immer zwei Särge mit sich trugen. Denn nicht selten kam es unterwegs zu Todesfällen.

Bei der Springprozession ist der Name Programm: es wird tatsächlich gesprungen, und zwar zwei Schritte nach links, dann zwei Schritte nach rechts. Früher wurden drei Schritte nach vorn und dann zwei Schritte nach hinten gesprungen. Heute noch spricht man humorvoll von Projekten die „wie bei der Echternacher Springprozession“ vorankommen. Die Tänzer („Springer“), die in Reihen von fünf oder sechs Personen aufgestellt sind, halten jeweils mit einer Hand das Ende eines Taschentuchs und springen zu den Klängen der einzigartigen Springprozessionsmelodie, die von Dutzenden Musikkapellen in einer Endlosschleife gespielt wird.

Auch Akkordeonisten und Violonisten sind jedes Mal mit dabei. Die Melodie ist übrigens von dem volkstümlichen Lied „Adam hatte sieben Söhne“ inspiriert. Fast drei Stunden lang wird in den Straßen von Echternach musiziert und gesprungen. So bewegt sich die Prozession langsam in Richtung Basilika, in deren Krypta der Heilige Willibrord ruht. Bis zu 10.000 Schaulustige nehmen jedes Jahr an dem Ereignis teil.

(Quelle: BRAUN, Josy. "Traditions et fêtes" in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Presse- und Informationsamt. 2007.) (auf Französisch)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 02-06-2017