Schueberfouer (August and September)

The biggest funfair in the Grand Duchy and the Greater Region

The Schueberfouer dates back to 1340; it is the biggest funfair in the Grand Duchy and the Greater Region. Each year, in late August and early September, nearly two million people visit the 4-hectare funfair on the Glacis, where nearly 3.5km of funfair rides and other attractions are on offer. A unique mix in Europe of 200 attractions, including 25 gigantic high-adrenalin rides, more than a dozen attractions for young children, nearly as many restaurants and a host of brasseries, sweets stalls, lotteries, shooting ranges, etc. It's a must!

Merry-go-round at the Schueberfouer
Christof Weber / SIP
What is now a funfair was originally a market, but no-one really knows how it got its name: perhaps from the old name for the Plateau du Saint-Esprit, the Schadebourg, where it used to be held, or from the word 'Schober' (literally; stack), since the fair was held on St Bartholomew's Day, at harvest-time. The 'Schueberfouer' (or 'Fouer') was founded in 1340 by John I of Luxembourg (called John the Blind), Count of Luxembourg and King of Bohemia. That is why the fair’s stallkeepers erected a monument in his honour in the nearby municipal park.

In bygone days, the market, where cattle and all sorts of other things were sold, used to last eight days. Nowadays, the fair normally lasts for three weeks around St Bartholomew's Day (23 August). Over the years, the market has gradually turned into an entertaining funfair or 'Kiermes', with the cathedral’s patronal festival taking place during the 'Fouerzäit'.

Today, the Fouer is held on the Glacis car park in Limpertsberg. It hosts a funfair boasting every kind of ride: switchback rides, ghost trains, ferris wheels, tip-up rides, and many more. Small stallholders can still be found lining the Allée Scheffer, where all sorts of items can be purchased, from nougat to grilled almonds, from Central African ebony sculptures to whisks, to magic tin-openers, to old CDs.

Like at any funfair, food and drink take centre stage, and one specialty deserves a particular mention: 'Fouerfësch' is whiting cooked in brewer’s yeast, traditionally eaten with chips and washed down with a beer or a glass of dry Moselle wine.

Ferris wheel at the Schueberfouer
Office national du Tourisme, ONT
A word about the 'Hämmelsmarsch': early on the Sunday morning of 'Kiermes'-Day, musicians wearing the blue smocks of 19th-century farmers make their way through the streets of the capital, playing their instruments as they follow a shepherd and a little flock of beribboned sheep. As money is collected, the same tune is played over and over again — the 'Hämmelsmarsch', an old popular tune for which the Grand Duchy's poet Michel Lentz wrote lyrics. The march can also be sung.

And of course the shepherd, his sheep and the musicians all attend the ceremony when the mayor declares the Fouer open. The ceremony is followed by an inaugural tour of the fairground by the country’s politicians, both present and aspiring, as they mingle with the crowds. This concludes over a platter of 'Kiermesham' (ham) and 'Kiermeskuch' (cake) at one or other of the Fouer stalls.

Despite all the hype and entertainment, there is also a melancholy feel to the Fouer. When in early September, the rides start being taken down and the steel skeleton of the traditional ferris wheel starts to unravel in the city’s skyline, the sad truth always dawns that summer is drawing to an end. And by the last day of the Schueberfouer, when the Freedefeier(closing fireworks) fill the night sky, the swallows can already be seen gathering on the overhead wires.

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. 'Traditions and festivals' in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Information and Press Service. 2007.)

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Schueberfouer (August und September)

Die größte Kirmes des Großherzogtums und der Großregion

Die Schueberfouerwurde 1340 gegründet und ist die größte Kirmes Luxemburgs und der Großregion. Jedes Jahr, von Ende August bis Anfang September, besuchen mehr als 2 Millionen Menschen die Schueberfouer auf dem vier Hektar großen Glacis-Platz, wo die Schausteller auf 3,5 km Länge verteilt sind. Eine in Europa einzigartige Mischung von 200 Attraktionen, darunter 25 Großfahrgeschäfte und Karusselle, mehr als 12 Attraktionen für Kinder, ein Dutzend großer Restaurants, zahlreiche Bierzelte, Süßwarengeschäfte, Lotterie, Schießstände.... Ein Must!

Karrussell auf der Schueberfouer
Christof Weber / SIP
Die Herkunft des Namens dieses ehemaligen Marktes, heute Jahrmarktes, ist ungewiss: möglicherweise stammt der Name vom Heilig-Geist Plateau, der Schadburg, wo die Schueberfouer ehemals stattfannt, oder vom Begriff "Schober", weil die Schueberfouer am Sankt Bartholomäus-Tag stattfannt, während der Ernte. Die Schueberfouer (oder Fouer) wurde 1340 von Johann dem I. von Luxemburg, der Blinde genannt, gegründet. Er war Graf von Luxemburg und König von Böhmen. Aus diesem Grund haben die Schausteller ihm ein Monument im nahegelegenen Stadtpark errichtet.

Der Markt, auf dem früher Vieh und viele andere Sachen verkauft wurden, dauerte acht Tage. Heute dauert er in der Regel drei Wochen und findet in der Zeit um den Sankt Bartholomäus-Tag am 23. August statt. Im Laufe der Zeit hat sich der Markt immer mehr in eine Spaßveranstaltung verwandelt, eine Kirmes, denn das Kirchweihfest der Kathedrale findet während der Fouerzäit statt.

Heutzutage hat die Fouer ihren Platz auf dem Glacis-Parkplatz auf dem Limpertsberg. Hier gibt es alle Attraktionen eines Erlebnisparks: Achterbahnen, Geisterbahnen, Riesenräder, Karrusselle, und viele andere. Die kleinen Verkaufsstände sind noch immer in der Schefferallee, wo man alle möglichen kleinen Einkäufe tätigen kann, vom Nougat, gegrillten Mandeln über Ebenholzskulpturen aus Schwarzafrika, Handmixer, fabelhafte Dosenöffner bis zu CDs, die schon längst nicht mehr aktuell sind.

Essen und Trinken ist, wie immer bei Kirmessen, ganz besonders wichtig, vor allem eine Spezialität: der Fouerfësch, in Bierhefe gekochter Wittling, der mit Pommes Frites, einem Bier oder einem trockenen Moselwein serviert wird.

Riesenrad auf der Schueberfouer
Office national du Tourisme, ONT
Nun zum Hämmelsmarsch: Am frühen Morgen des Kirmessonntags, ziehen die Musiker, bekleidet mit einer blauer Bauernbluse aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, durch die Straßen der Stadt. Sie spielen auf ihren Instrumenten und folgen dabei einem Hirten und einigen, mit Bändern geschmückten, Schafen. Ein einziges Lied wird gespielt um Geld zu sammeln: der Hämmelsmarsch. Dabei handelt es sich um eine alte volkstümliche Melodie, dessen Text der Nationaldichter Michel Lentz geschrieben hat. Das Lied kann auch gesungen werden.

Es versteht sich von selbst, dass die Hirten, Schafe und Musiker an der Eröffnung der Fouer, welche vom Bürgermeister verkündet wird, teilnehmen. Danach ist es an den Politikern, und jenen die es gerne werden wollen, eine offizielle Runde über die Fouer zu drehen und dabei ein Bad in der Menge zu nehmen. Ihre Runde beenden sie in einer Fouer-Bude bei Kiermesham (Schinken) und Kiermeskuch (Kuchen).

Über diese Lebhaftigkeit heraus, hat die Fouer auch eine melancholische Seite Wenn die Karusselle Anfang September abgebaut werden und sich das Stahlskelett des traditionellen Riesenrads vom Himmel der Stadt löst, weiß jeder, dass der Sommer vorbei ist. Und wenn das Freedefeier (Feuerwerk) am letzten Tag der Schueberfouergezündet wird, sind die Schwalben bereits auf den Stromkabeln versammelt.

(Quelle: BRAUN, Josy. "Traditions et fêtes" in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Presse- und Informationsamt der Luxemburger Regierung. 2007.) (auf Französisch und Englisch)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015