Luxembourg's cuisine

Cuisine that is both, straightforward and international

Luxembourg's cuisine is straightforward because the culinary originality of a country is closely linked to its geographical conditions, its history, its social structure, its mentality, and the attitude of the individuals that make up that country.

This is why many recipes are related to the farming community lifestyle that was typical in the Grand Duchy for centuries.

Luxembourg's cuisine is international because the many foreign influences on the country have left their mark on Luxembourg's dishes: centuries of foreign domination (15th to 19th centuries), followed by successive waves of European immigration (from the 19th century onwards).

Today, Luxembourgish specialities do not confine themselves to the traditional recipes of yesteryear.

There is a rediscovery of the traditional cuisine, the dishes of which were for years thought to be too heavy. Many chefs in some of the finest restaurants remember recipes from their grandmother, which, once slightly adapted, and above all made lighter, are suitable to the tastes of our time.

As a result, modern menus list an increasing number of traditional Luxembourg dishes such as 'Judd mat Gaardebounden' (neck of pork with broad beans), 'Träipen' (fried blood sausage) with apple sauce and 'écrevisses à la luxembourgeoise' (crayfish).

In restaurants throughout the country, gourmands and gourmets will be able to discover many international dishes and delicious local recipes that true connoisseurs will pair with a dry white Luxembourgish wine from the Moselle region or a flavoursome local beer.

Luxembourgish dishes

  • 'Bouneschlupp': green bean soup, to which carrots, onions, leeks, celery, potatoes, milk or cream and smoked bacon can be added;
  • 'Judd mat Gaardebounen': smoked neck of pork with broad beans;
  • 'Kuddelfleck': tripe served breaded or with a spicy tomato sauce;
  • 'Stäerzelen': a dish made of buckwheat flour with smoked bacon and sometimes cream;
  • 'Friture': small fried fish from Luxembourg's part of the Moselle river, eaten with the fingers;

Pike in a Riesling sauce, fried fish and home-smoked ham are among the greatest culinary specialities of the Moselle valley.

The best known speciality of the Luxembourg Ardennes is Ardennes ham, which is served almost everywhere with bread as 'Hameschmier'.

  • Updated 01-05-2015

Luxemburgische Küche

Eine einfache und internationale Küche

Die luxemburgische Küche ist einfach, da die Kochkunst eines Landes eng mit den geographischen Bedingungen seines Lebensraums, dem Verlauf seiner Geschichte, seiner gesellschaftlichen Struktur sowie mit der Mentalität und der Wesensart seiner Einwohner zusammenhängt.

So finden zahlreiche Rezepte ihren Ursprung in der ländlichen Lebensweise, die Luxemburg über Jahrhunderte geprägt hat.

Die luxemburgische Küche ist auch international, da die zahlreichen ausländischen Einflüsse ihre Spuren in den Kochtöpfen der Luxemburger hinterlassen haben: zuerst die jahrhundertelange Fremdherrschaften (15. bis 19. Jahrhundert) und anschließend die europäischen Einwanderungswellen (ab dem 19. Jahrhundert).

Heute hat Luxemburgs Küche mehr zu bieten als die einfache Bauernküche früherer Zeiten.

Seit einiger Zeit ist eine Wiederentdeckung der traditionellen Küche feststellen, deren Gerichte über lange Jahre als zu deftig galten. Immer öfter greifen auch die Köche der besten Restaurants wieder auf Großmutters Rezepte zurück, die mit geringfügigen Veränderungen und vor allem einer leichteren Zubereitungsweise an die heutigen Trends angepasst werden.

Auf aktuellen Menükarten findet man so zunehmend wieder traditionelle luxemburgische Gerichte wie "Judd mat Gaardebounen" (Schweinenacken mit Saubohnen), "Träipen" (gebratene Blutwurst) mit Apfelkompott, sowie Flusskrebse nach Luxemburger Art.

In den hiesigen Restaurants können Schlemmer und Feinschmecker zahlreiche internationale Gerichte und schmackhafte lokale Rezepte entdecken. Kenner trinken dazu einen luxemburgischen Moselweißwein oder eines der herzhaften heimischen Biere.

Luxemburg zu Tisch

  • Bouneschlupp: Suppe aus grünen Bohnen, die mit Möhren, Zwiebeln, Porree, Sellerie, Kartoffeln, Milch oder Sahne sowie Räucherspeck verfeinert werden kann;
  • Judd mat Gaardebounen: Geräucherter Schweinenacken mit Saubohnen;
  • Kuddelfleck: Innereien, paniert oder mit einer würzigen Tomatensoße serviert;
  • Stäerzelen: Speise aus Buchweizenmehl, die außerdem Räucherspeck und gelegentlich Sahne enthält;
  • Fritür: Kleine, gebratene Moselfische, die ohne Besteck verzehrt werden;

Beliebte Gerichte aus dem Moseltal sind auch Hecht in Rieslingsoße, Bratfisch und traditioneller Schinken.

Die bekannteste Speise der luxemburgischen Ardennen ist der Ardennerschinken, der fast immer mit Brot unter dem Namen "Hameschmier" serviert wird.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015