Historical maps and views of the city of Luxembourg

plan-historique-182675

Mapping Luxembourg (www.mapping‐luxembourg.lu) is an innovative visual tool for taking a look at the history of the Grand Duchy's capital. It is a creation of the Luxembourg City History Museum (Musée d'histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg, MHVL) and the National Archives which displays historical maps and views against a backdrop of the present-day urban topography.

The site is based on the Google Maps aerial view of the city of Luxembourg. On the projection, fifty historic buildings and thirteen areas mapped between the 17th and early 20th centuries are marked with interactive tags, making it easy to find out about the historical topography and urban development.

Historical maps and present-day views to superpose

For each building, the site provides information about its history and a number of views from the 19th and 20th centuries. The marked areas enable visitors to superimpose a historical map on the present-day view of the city; it is then possible to make comparisons by moving on to other views or by enlarging them. Meticulous work has made it possible to georeference the old maps and street maps and adapt them to the present-day projection.

All of the historical documents on www.mapping-luxembourg.lu come from the collection of the National Archives, the Photothèque's collections and the Luxembourg City History Museum.

(Quelle: National Archives Luxembourg and Luxembourg City History Museum)

  • Updated 29-03-2016

Historische Karten und Ansichten von Luxemburg-Stadt

plan-historique-182675

Mapping Luxembourg (www.mapping-luxembourg.lu) ist ein innovatives visuelles Tool, das einen spannenden Einblick in die Geschichte der Hauptstadt Luxemburgs gewährt. Es wurde vom Historischen Museum der Stadt Luxemburg (Musée d'histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg) und dem Nationalarchiv Luxemburg (Archives nationales) eingerichtet und bietet historische Karten und Ansichten vor dem Hintergrund der aktuellen städtischen Topografie.

Die Internetseite beruht auf Luftaufnahmen von Luxemburg-Stadt in der Google Maps-Version. Auf dieser Projektion sind 50 historische Gebäude sowie 13, zwischen dem 17. Jahrhundert und Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts kartografierte, Flächen mit interaktiven Tags markiert, durch die man sich spielerisch mit der historischen Topografie und der urbanen Entwicklung vertraut machen kann.

Historische Karten und aktuelle Ansichten im Vergleich

Zu jedem einzelnen Gebäude liefert die Internetseite Informationen über dessen Geschichte sowie verschiedene Ansichten aus dem 19. und 20. Jahrhundert. Mithilfe der ausgewählten Flächen kann der Besucher eine historische Karte und die aktuelle Ansicht übereinander legen, sodass er beide durch Verknüpfung oder Vergrößerung vergleichen kann. Dank sorgfältiger Bearbeitung konnten die damaligen Karten und Pläne georeferenziert und an die aktuelle Projektion angepasst werden.

Alle historischen Dokumente die auf www.mapping-luxembourg.lu zu finden sind, stammen aus dem Nationalarchiv sowie aus Sammlungen der Photothek und dem Historischen Museum der Stadt Luxemburg (Musée d'histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg, MHVL)

(Quellen: Nationalarchiv Luxemburg und das Historische Museum der Stadt Luxemburg)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 29-03-2016