History

Despite its small size – 2,586 km2 and home to 576,000 inhabitants – the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is a sovereign state with a rich history. Nestled between France, Belgium and Germany in the heart of Europe, it has been involved in the great European developments.

The turbulent past of the Grand Duchy is a true mirror of European history. During the Middle Ages, its princes wore the crown of the Holy Roman Empire. In Early Modern Times, its fortress was a major bone of contention in the battle between the great powers.

Before achieving independence in the 19th century, Luxembourg belonged successively to the Counts and Dukes of Luxembourg, the Dukes of Burgundy, the Kings of Spain, the Kings of France, the Emperors of Austria and Kings of the Netherlands. During the 20th century, this wealthy and dynamic country acted as a catalyst in the unification of Europe.

  • Updated 29-03-2016

Geschichte

Trotz seiner geringen Größe – 2.586 km2 und 576.000 Einwohner – ist das Großherzogtum Luxemburg ein vollwertiger Staat mit einer ungewöhnlich reichen Geschichte. Im Herzen Europas, zwischen Frankreich, Belgien und Deutschland gelegen, hatte es Anteil an den großen europäischen Entwicklungen.

Die bewegte Vergangenheit des Großherzogtums stellt ein regelrechtes Konzentrat der europäischen Geschichte dar. Im Mittelalter trugen seine Fürsten die Krone des Heiligen Deutschen Reiches. In der Frühen Neuzeit war seine Festung ein Hauptstreitpunkt im Kampf zwischen den Großmächten.

Bevor Luxemburg im 19. Jahrhundert unabhängig wurde, hat das Land sukzessiv Grafen, Herzogen der Bourgogne, Königen Spaniens, Königen Frankreichs, Kaisern Österreichs und Königen der Niederlande gehört. Als aufstrebendes und dynamisches Land spielte Luxemburg im 20. Jahrhundert eine maßgebliche Rolle im europäischen Einigungsprozess.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 29-03-2016