Institutions promoting Luxembourgish

These are the main public institutions which work to promote Luxembourgish, whether by teaching, research, or documentation.

University of Luxembourg

The University of Luxembourg includes Luxembourgish studies among its research priorities. These studies cover consideration of not only Luxembourgish language and literature but also identity, history, migration, regional planning, geography and politics in the Grand Duchy.

The University of Luxembourg has had a chair in Luxembourgish linguistics and literature since January 2009. Master's degrees are offered in Luxembourgish language and literature.

As part of its offer of lifelong learning, the University of Luxembourg also offers a course in Luxembourgish language and culture to train teachers for Luxembourgish language classes for adults.

National Languages Institute (INL)

The National Languages Institute (Institut National des Langues, INL) is a public establishment offering courses in languages. The languages taught include Luxembourgish. The INL serves as the national certification centre for diplomas and certificates in Luxembourgish.

  • 'Diplom Lëtzebuergesch als Friemsprooch' (diploma Luxembourgish as a foreign language)
  • Passing the 'Sprochentest Lëtzebuergesch' (Luxembourgish language test) is a requirement for applicants for Luxembourgish nationality

The INL also offers a course for teachers of Luxembourgish, leading to the 'Zertifikat Lëtzebuerger Sprooch a Kultur' (certificate of Luxembourgish language and culture).

Permanent Council for the Luxembourgish Language (CPLL)

The Permanent Council for the Luxembourgish Language (Conseil Permanent de la Langue Luxembourgeoise, CPLL), founded in 1998, comprises eleven language experts and representatives of institutions related to Luxembourgish, including:

  • Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth
  • the University of Luxembourg;
  • the National Languages Institute.

Its mission includes the study, description and promotion of Luxembourgish. It also issues opinions on any subject connected with Luxembourgish.

The CPLL has two working parties:

  • The Orthography Group deals with updating and drafting coordinated texts on the orthographic rules of Luxembourgish.
  • The Grammar Group has a similar mission with regard to the grammar of Luxembourgish.

The association 'Moien – Eng Bréck fir eis Sprooch'

Founded in 2005, the association 'Moien – Eng Bréck fir eis Sprooch' aims to make Luxembourgish a bridge rather than a barrier for people living and working in the Grand Duchy. To achieve this, the association offers courses in Luxembourgish (language, spelling, grammar). The purpose of the association is:

  • to stimulate the use of Luxembourgish;
  • to create a platform for discussion on Luxembourgish;
  • to make the Grand Duchy's culture and lifestyle more accessible.

Grand Ducal Institute

The department for linguistic, ethnological and onomastic studies at the Grand Ducal Institute (Institut grand-ducal) carries out linguistic studies in general and studies on Luxembourgish in particular. It is also responsible for publishing and updating the 'Lëtzebuerger Dictionnaire' (dictionary of Luxembourgish).

National Literature Centre (CNL)

The National Centre for Literature (Centre National de Littérature, CNL) is a centre for documentary research into Luxembourgish, and a real focus for socio-cultural activities involving books and reading. The CNL's mission is to prevent the dispersal and loss of examples of Luxembourgish literature (Luxemburgensia) and to allow its scientific exploitation.

Luxembourg National Library (BnL)

The Luxembourg National Library (Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg, BnL) is the guardian of the country's printed heritage; it maintains a collection of all the publications printed and published in the Grand Duchy. It also purchases publications relating to Luxembourg or written by Luxembourgers but published abroad. Its Luxemburgensia section includes a collection of 150,000 books in Luxembourgish.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Institutionen zur Förderung der luxemburgischen Sprache

Die Seite stellt die öffentlichen Institutionen vor, die sich für die Förderung der luxemburgischen Sprache einsetzen, sei es durch Lehre, Forschung oder Dokumentation.

Universität Luxemburg

Im Forschungsbereich der Universität Luxemburg gehört die Luxemburgistik zu den obersten Prioritäten. Luxemburgistikstudien beinhalten sowohl Überlegungen zur luxemburgischen Sprache und Literatur als auch zur Identität, Geschichte, Migration, Raumplanung, Geografie und der Politikwissenschaft in Luxemburg.

Seit Januar 2009 gibt es an der Universität Luxemburg einen Lehrstuhl für luxemburgische Linguistik und Literatur. Hinzu kommen verschiedene Master in luxemburgischer Sprache und Literatur.

Die Universität Luxemburg bietet auch Weiterbildungskurse in luxemburgischer Sprache und Kultur an, mit dem Ziel, Kursleiter auszubilden, die Luxemburgisch für Erwachsene unterrichten können.

Nationales Spracheninstitut (Institut national des langues, INL)

Das Nationale Spracheninstitut (INL) ist eine öffentliche Einrichtung für Sprachunterricht. Hier kann neben vielen anderen Sprachen auch Luxemburgisch gelernt werden. Das INL ist gleichzeitig die nationale Zertifizierungsstelle für Diplome und Zertifikate der luxemburgischen Sprache:

  • "Diplom Lëtzebuergesch als Friemsprooch" (Diplom Luxemburgisch als Fremdsprache)
  • "Sprochentest Lëtzebuergesch", der bestanden werden muss um die luxemburgische Staatsbürgerschaft zu beantragen.

Das INL bildet auch Luxemburgischlehrer aus, die mit dem "Zertifikat Lëtzebuerger Sprooch a Kultur" ausgezeichnet werden (Zertifikat luxemburgische Sprache und Kultur).

Rat der Luxemburger Sprache (Conseil permanent de la langue luxembourgeoise, CPLL)

Der Rat der Luxemburger Sprache (Conseil permanent de la langue luxembourgeoise, CPLL) wurde 1998 gegründet und besteht aus 11 Experten auf dem Gebiet der Linguistik, sowie Vertretern von Institutionen die sich mit der luxemburgischen Sprache beschäftigen, wie

  • Ministerium für Erziehung, Kinder und Jugend;
  • die Universität Luxemburg;
  • das nationale Spracheninstitut (INL).

Zum Aufgabenberich des CPLL gehören das Studium, die Beschreibung und die Förderung der Luxemburger Sprache. Seine Mitglieder geben auch Stellungnahmen in Bezug auf die luxemburgische Sprache heraus.

Der CPLL besteht aus zwei Arbeitsgruppen:

  • Die Gruppe die sich mit der Rechtschreibung beschäftigt hat die Aufgabe, koordinierte und stets aktuelle Texte zu den Rechtschreibregeln der luxemburgischen Sprache zu verfassen.
  • Die zweite Gruppe übernimmt ähnliche Aufgaben im Bereich der Luxemburger Grammatik.

Vereinigung "Moien– Eng Bréck fir eis Sprooch"

"Moien - eng Bréck fir eis Sprooch" wurde 2005 gegründet. Ziel der Vereinigung ist es, die Wahrnehmung der luxemburgischen Sprache als Brücke anstatt als Barriere zu fördern, und diese Botschaft an alle in Luxemburg lebenden und arbeitenden Menschen weiterzuleiten. In diesem Sinne bietet der Verein zum Beispiel Kurse in luxemburgischer Sprache an (Linguistik, Rechtschreibung, Grammatik). "Moien" hat sich des Weiteren zum Ziel gesetzt:

  • den Gebrauch der luxemburgischen Sprache zu beleben;
  • eine Austauschplattform über die luxemburgische Sprache anzubieten;
  • die luxemburgische Kultur und Lebensweise für Nicht-Luxemburger zugänglicher zu gestalten.

Großherzogliches Institut (Institut grand-ducal)

Die Abteilung Sprachwissenschaft, Ethnologie und Namenskunde des großherzoglichen Instituts (Institut grand-ducal) veröffentlicht sowohl generelle, linguistische Studien als auch spezifische Studien über die luxemburgische Sprache. Es ist auch für die Veröffentlichung und die Aktualisierung des "Lëtzebuerger Dictionnaire" (Wörterbuch der luxemburgischen Sprache) verantwortlich.

Nationales Literaturzentrum (Centre national de littérature, CNL)

Das Nationale Zentrum für Literatur (Centre national de littérature, CNL) ist ein Zentrum für Dokumentationsrecherche rund um die luxemburgische Sprache. Darüber hinaus werden hier zahlreiche soziokulturelle Aktivitäten zum Thema Bücher und Lesen angeboten. Es ist außerdem Auftrag des CNL, die Zerstreuung sowie den Verlust von Zeugnissen der Luxemburger Literatur (Luxemburgensia) zu verhindern und die wissenschaftliche Betrachtung ebendieser zu fördern.

Die Luxemburger Nationalbibliothek

Die Luxemburger Nationalbibliothek ist die Wächterin des gedruckten luxemburgischen Kulturguts und sammelt alle in Luxemburg gedruckten und herausgegebenen Publikationen. Darüber hinaus kauft sie Publikationen, die Luxemburg thematisieren oder von einem luxemburgischen Autor verfasst, und im Ausland veröffentlicht wurden. In der Rubrik Luxemburgensia verfügt das CNL über eine Sammlung von 150.000 Titeln in luxemburgischer Sprache.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 28-04-2015