Lëtzebuergesch - the national language

Lëtzebuergesch (Luxembourgish) — a Moselle Franconian dialect — is the mother tongue of most Luxembourgers. The 1984 Languages Law bestowed on it the status of national language. Luxembourgish is also one of the administrative languages, on a par with French and German.

According to the provisions of the Languages Law of 1984, the three languages of the Grand Duchy — Luxembourgish, French and German — are the languages used in administration and the judiciary system.

This parity is somewhat moderated by a provision in the law (Article 3), according to which the three languages are to be used 'as far as possible'. French nevertheless remains the language of legislation (Article 2), since the latter is based on the French Napoleonic Code.

The law therefore maintains the historic importance of both, German and French. And by maintaining the historic importance of 'foreign' languages, the Grand Duchy continues to stand as a meeting place.

This trilingualismmakes it easier for foreigners to integrate, as they are able to live in the Grand Duchy using French or German. It thus represents the openness of the Grand Duchy to the outside world.

Although French has developed into the lingua franca, Luxembourgish is still the language of integration.

The Grand Ducal Regulation of 30 July1999 reformed official spelling in Luxembourgish.

As well as in the Grand Duchy, Luxembourgish is also spoken in the eastern part of the province of Luxembourg (Belgium), the north-west of the Moselle département (France), and along the border between the Grand Duchy and Germany.

  • Updated 06-05-2015

Lëtzebuergesch – die Landessprache

Lëtzebuergesch, ein moselfränkischer Dialekt, ist die Muttersprache der meisten Luxemburger. Seit 1984 verleiht das Gesetz über die Sprachenordnung dem "Lëtzebuergesch" den Status der Landessprache. Luxemburgisch ist aber auch Verwaltungssprache, genauso wie Französisch und Deutsch.

Das Gesetz über die Sprachenordnung aus dem Jahre 1984 erkennt die drei Sprachen Luxemburgs (Luxemburgisch, Französisch und Deutsch) als Verwaltungs- und Justizsprachen an.

Diese Parität ist in einer Bestimmung dieses Gesetzes leicht differenziert dargestellt: der Artikel 3 des Textes besagt, dass die Bürger alle drei Sprachen "so weit wie möglich" anwenden sollen. Der Artikel 2 des Gesetzes hält fest, dass nur das Französiche als Gesetzessprache gilt, da die Luxemburger Gesetzgebung auf dem französischen Code Napoléon beruht.

Die historische Bedeutung der deutschen und der französischen Sprache wurden also mit diesem Gesetz erhalten. Durch diesen Erhalt beider "Fremdsprachen" bleibt Luxemburg symbolisch ein Ort der Begegnung.

Die Dreisprachigkeit erlaubt auch den Nicht-Luxemburgern eine leichtere Integration: sie können sich im Alltag auch mit Deutsch und Französisch verständigen. Darüber hinaus steht die Dreisprachigkeit auch für die Öffnung Luxemburgs nach aussen.

Und auch wenn sich die französische Sprache inzwischen zur lingua franca entwickelt hat, bleibt Lëtzebuergesch Integrationssprache.

Die großherzogliche Verordnung vom 30. Juli 1999 sieht eine Reform der offiziellen luxemburgischen Rechtschreibung vor.

Lëtzebuergesch wird allerdings nicht nur in Luxemburg gesprochen, sondern auch im Osten der belgischen Province de Luxembourg, im Nordwesten des französischen Departements Moselle sowie entlang der deutsch-luxemburgischen Grenze.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 07-05-2015