Luxembourg in the Heart of the Greater Region

The Greater Region is located in the heart of Europe, on the road and railroad axis that links the Mediterranean region to the North Sea. It is home to some 11.5 million people (comparable to the population of Belgium or Greece) and spans 65,500km2 of land (about the size of Lithuania).

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is the only sovereign state of this Greater Region, which includes:

  • Lorraine in France;
  • Saarland and Rhineland-Palatinate in Germany;
  • the Walloon Region and the French and German-speaking communities of Belgium;
  • Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Luxembourg's population only accounts for 4.8% of the total population of this cross-border space, but boasts the most dynamic growth. Also, when it comes to employment, the Grand Duchy can be said to be the powerhouse of the Greater Region.

Discover this unique cross-border space on the portal www.granderegion.net, which contains exhaustive information about the development of the Greater Region, its population, its culture, education and employment.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Luxemburg im Herzen der Großregion

Die Großregion befindet sich im Herzen Europas, auf der Verkehrs- und Eisenbahnachse die die Mittelmeerregion mit der Nordsee verbindet. Hier leben 11,5 Millionen Menschen (etwa die Einwohnerzahl Belgiens oder Griechenlands) auf einer Fläche von 65.000 km2 (etwa die Größe Litauens).

Das Großherzogtum Luxembourg ist der einzige souveräne Staat dieser Großregion, die aus folgenden Teilen besteht:

  • Lothringen in Frankreich;
  • das Saarland und Rheinland-Pfalz in Deutschland;
  • die wallonische Region und die französische und deutschsprachige Gemeinschaft in Belgien;
  • das Großherzogtum Luxemburg

Die Bevölkerung Luxemburgs macht nur etwa 4,8% der Gesamtbevölkerung dieser grenzüberschreitenden Region aus, wächst aber am schnellsten. Was die Beschäftigung angeht, so kann das Großherzogtum als wahrhafter Motor der Großregion angesehen werden.

Entdecken Sie diese einzigartige grenzübergreifende Region auf dem Portal www.granderegion.net, auf dem Sie viele Informationen über die Entwicklung der Großregion finden, ihre Bevölkerung, ihre Kultur, Bildung und Beschäftigung!

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015