Luxembourgers in International Institutions

A number of Luxembourgers occupy prestigious positions on the international scene.

As a member of major international economic, political, financial and legal institutions, Luxembourg assumes its role in Europe and in the world, furthering multilateralism and international cooperation. Luxembourgers have often held important tasks in these institutions. A number of Luxembourgers currently occupy important positions in international institutions.

Jean-Claude Juncker, president of the European Commission

The Luxembourger Jean-Claude Juncker has been president of the European Commission since 1 November 2014. Jean-Claude Juncker, former Prime Minister of the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg, honorary Minister of State and former president of the Eurogroup (2000-2013), is the 13th president of the European Commission. Before him, other Luxembourgers have occupied the highest post in the European Commission: Gaston Thorn and Jacques Santer were presidents of the European Commission, from 1981 to 1985 and from 1995 to 1999 respectively.

Marc Jaeger, president of the General Court of the European Union

Since 1996 Marc Jaeger has been judge at the General Court of the European Union. He has been president of the General Court since 17 September 2007. Established in 1987, the General Court is one of the three jurisdictions of the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU). It handles appeals by the member states against the European Commission and certain acts of the Council, as well as appeals that are addressed by physical and legal persons. The General Court is made up of at least one judge per member state.

Dean Spielmann, judge at the General Court of the European Union

Since 13 April 2016 Dean Spielman has been judge at the General Court of the European Union. He is one of the new judges that have been appointed as a result of the reform of the judicial architecture of the Court of Justice of the European Union.

Yves Mersch at the Executive Board of the European Central Bank (ECB).

On 22 November 2012 the extraordinary European Council decided the appointment of Yves Mersch to the Executive Board of the European Central Bank (ECB) for a duration of 8 years. Having been president of the Luxembourg Central Bank (Banque centrale du Luxembourg, BCL) since its creation in 1998, Yves Mersch took over is new post on 15 December 2012. Thereby he succeeded Manuel González-Páramo, whose term ended on 31 May 2012.

  • Updated 08-04-2016

Luxemburger in internationalen Institutionen

Eine Reihe Luxemburger bekleiden eminente Posten auf der internationalen Bühne

Als Mitglied der wichtigsten internationalen Institutionen im wirtschaftlichen, politischen, finanziellen und rechtlichen Bereich nimmt Luxemburg, indem es sich dem Multilateralismus und der internationalen Zusammenarbeit verschreibt, seine Rolle in Europa und in der Welt wahr. Luxemburger haben oft wichtige Aufgaben in diesen Institutionen ausgeübt. Mehrere Luxemburger besetzen derzeit wichtige Positionen in internationalen Institutionen.

Jean-Claude Juncker, Präsident der Europäischen Kommission

Der Luxemburger Jean-Claude Juncker ist seit dem 1. November 2014 Präsident der Europäischen Kommission. Jean-Claude Juncker, ehemaliger Premierminister des Großherzogtums Luxemburg, Ehrenstaatsminister und ehemaliger Vorsitzender der Eurogruppe (2005-2013), ist der 13. Präsident der Europäischen Kommission. Vor ihm hatten weitere Luxemburger diesen höchsten Posten in der Europäischen Kommission inne: Gaston Thorn und Jacques Santer waren von 1981 bis 1985 bzw. von 1995 bis 1999 Präsident der Europäischen Kommission.

Marc Jaeger, Präsident des Gerichts der Europäischen Union

Marc Jaeger ist seit 1996 Richter am Gericht der Europäischen Union. Seit dem 17. September 2007 ist er Präsident des Gerichts. Das Gericht, das 1987 gegründet wurde, ist eine der drei Gerichtsbarkeiten des Gerichtshofs der Europäischen Union (EuGH). Es befasst sich mit den Berufungen der Mitgliedstaaten gegen die Europäische Kommission und gegen bestimmte Handlungen des Rates sowie mit Berufungen, die von natürlichen und juristischen Personen eingereicht werden. Das Gericht besteht aus mindestens einem Richter pro Mitgliedstaat.

Dean Spielmann, Richter am Gericht der Europäischen Union

Seit dem 13. April 2016 ist Dean Spielmann Richter am Gericht der Europäischen Union. Er gehört zu den neuen Richtern, die im Zuge der Reform des Gerichtssystems des Gerichtshofs der Europäischen Union ernannt wurden.

Yves Mersch im Direktorium der Europäischen Zentralbank (EZB)

Der außerordentliche Europäische Rat verabschiedete am 22. November 2012 einen Beschluss zur Berufung von Yves Mersch in das Direktorium der Europäischen Zentralbank (EZB) für einen Zeitraum von acht Jahren. Yves Mersch, der seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1998 Vorsitzender der Zentralbank von Luxemburg ist, übt seine neue Funktion seit dem 15. Dezember 2012 aus. Er ist Nachfolger von José Manuel González-Páramo, dessen Amtszeit am 31. Mai 2012 endete.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 08-04-2016