The economy and key sectors

Economic highlights

A very open economy, high growth potential, balanced macroeconomic foundations, diversified industry, international financial centre, modern infrastructures, excellent market connectivity, attractive institutional, legislative and fiscal framework

Capital of the European Union:

Luxembourg City is one of the three 'capitals' of the European Union, along with Brussels and Strasbourg. Luxembourg City is home to a number of European departments and institutions, including several departments of the European Commission (translation, publications, statistics), the European Court of Auditors, the Court of Justice of the European Union, the European Investment Bank (EIB), the European Investment Fund (EIF), the European Parliament's Secretariat, the European Financial Stability Facility (EFSF), and the European Financial Stabilisation Mechanism (EFSM).

Founding member of major international organisations:

  • Benelux, Council of Europe
  • European Union
  • NATO
  • OECD
  • United Nations
  • WTO ...

Currency

  • 1 euro (€) = 100 cents

Employment market

Unemployment rate

  • 7,1% (March 2014)

Total domestic employment*

  • 392,131 employees (March 2014); around 70% of the country’s workforce is composed of immigrants or cross-border employees.

Frontier workers

  • incoming cross-border employees *: 162 183 (March 2014)
  • outgoing resident employees*: 11,908 (March 2014)

The ratio of cross-border employees grew from 3% in 1961 to 44% in 2010; nearly one cross-border employee in two comes from France.

International agents and officials

  • 1,400 (2012)

Inflation rate

  • 1.7% (2013)

GDP (real growth rate) **

  • 2.7% (2014)

* seasonally adjusted data
** forecast

per capita GDP

82,700 EUR in 2012. This figure makes the Grand Duchy the richest country in the world, but account should be taken of the large number of cross-border workers who by definition are not included in the equation.

Great political and social stability

Faithful to the 'Luxembourg social model', the government, employers and the trade unions get together under the 'Tripartite' scheme to discuss important social and economic matters. As a result, the annual number of days of industrial action is particularly low in the Grand Duchy.

The Grand Duchy's open attitude:

The Grand Duchy is heavily dependent on other countries, both as clients for its goods and services and as suppliers of those goods and services not available on the national market.

Information society:

in 2013, 99.4% of households had a mobile phone, 94% had a computer, 95% had access to the Internet at home, and nearly 8 households in 10 had high-speed access. Almost all businesses use computers and are connected to the Internet. 9 businesses in 10 use broadband connections. 8 businesses in 10 apply a 'green IT' policy.

Breakdown of GDP by sector of activity:

  • agriculture: 0.3%
  • industry: 13.4%
  • services: 86.8%

Important economic sectors

The financial sector is the main driving force behind the Grand Duchy's economy. Even so, the Grand Duchy's authorities are aware of the risk of the economy being over-dependent on any one sector, and have adopted a policy of diversification of the country's economic fabric by providing support for information and communication technologies (ICTs), logistics, bio- and eco-technologies, research, etc. as well as actively promoting the diversification of the financial marketplace.

Finance 

The Grand Duchy is a first rate financial marketplace. Some 150 banks (2014) operate out of the Grand Duchy. Luxembourg is the leading centre in Europe for investment funds (in second place worldwide, after the USA), the leading centre for private banking in the Eurozone, and the domicile of choice for reinsurance companies. Luxembourg for Finance (LFF) is the country's agency for the development and promotion of the financial marketplace. The banks located in the Grand Duchy specialise in private banking (wealth management for private clients), insurance, the functions of custodian bank for investment funds and fund administration, and in the distribution of shares in invetment funds. The activities of the financial marketplace are also diversifying into the fields of microfinance, philanthropy and Islamic finance. The financial sector creates one-third of the Grand Duchy's GDP.

  • For more information, please read our 'Finance' pages.

Information and communication technologies (ICT) 

The ICT sector provides 6.6% of total gross added value (figure for 2012). The ICT sector's share of total employment is 4.0% (figure for 2012). Multiple very high-speed direct connections lead from the Grand Duchy to the main European hubs. The time lag between the Grand Duchy and London, Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Paris, etc. is extremely short. The Grand Duchy hosts some of the 'stars' of the ICT sector, including Amazon, iTunes, eBay, Vodafone, RealNetworks, Rakuten, etc., as well as a number of online video game companies. Some of the Grand Duchy's other advantages:

  • Great diversity of very high level data centres
  • Low cost of electricity
  • Broadband Internet coverage: 100% (2014)
  • Penetration rate of mobile broadband Internet: 65% (based on mobile telephone users, 2012)
  • Fixed-line broadband Internet coverage at 100 Mbps: 80% (based on population, 2014)
  • Fixed-line broadband Internet coverage at 1 Gbps: 25% (based on population, 2014)
  • Number of certified Tier IV data centres in the Grand Duchy: 6 (2014)

The Grand Duchy is the leading country in Europe for broadband Internet coverage (2014) and international internet bandwidth (2014). It is also the leading country (among 148) for legislation on ICTs (2014). The Grand Duchy's ICT Cluster oversees the whole sector.

  • For more information, please read our 'E-commerce' pages.

Logistics

Logistics: Taking advantage of excellent connectivity to international markets, the Grand Duchy's logistics sector is surging ahead. It is based on three mainstays: air freight with Cargolux, one of the largest air freight companies in the world, LuxairCargo and CargoCenter, rail freight with CFL Cargo and CFL Multimodal, and river freight; Luxembourg Freeport, the first free zone of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg at Findel International Airport; Pharma & Healthcare Center at Findel International Airport; Pharma & Healthcare Centre at Findel international airport; 'Cluster for Logistics' overseeing the whole sector. According to the World Bank's Logistics Performance Index (LPI), the Grand Duchy stands in 8th position of the countries with the best performance in logistics (2014).

  • For more information, please read our 'Logistics' pages.

Biotechnology

The University of Luxembourg and the publicly funded research centres are collaborating with a number of internationally renowned research institutions on three projects: a bio-bank, the Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL), the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine, and research in the field of validating markers for lung cancer. The Luxembourg BioHealth Cluster oversees the whole sector.

Eco-technologies

The Grand Duchy hosts about 200 eco-industries working in the fields of renewable sources of energy, waste management, water and eco-construction. They are supported in their work by 28 public-sector agencies and six research institutes. The Luxembourg Ecoinnovation Cluster oversees the whole sector.

Industry

For many years, the iron and steel industry was the driving force behind the Grand Duchy's economy, until the crisis in the industry in the 1970s. ARBED's name is directly connected with the country's wealth. ARBED's merger in 2001 with Usinor and Aceralia produced ARCELOR, which in turn merged with Mittal Steel in 2006. ArcelorMittal, whose headquarters are in Luxembourg City, is currently the world's largest steel group. Other industrial sectors materials (DuPont de Nemours, Guardian Glass, etc.) and fittings for the motor vehicle industry (Goodyear, Delphi, etc.)

  • For more information, please read our 'Industry' pages .

Audiovisual production

The Grand Duchy played a pioneering role on the European media scene. Two media and communications giants came into being in Luxembourg and are still continuing to expand from their HQ in the Grand Duchy: the RTL group, the leading radio and television broadcaster in Europe, and SES, the world's leading provider of communication and broadcasting services, with a fleet of about fifty satellites. There are also about twenty film production companies, three film studios, and about thirty post-production companies in the Grand Duchy. A good number of Luxembourgish (co-)productions have won awards at international film festivals. In 2014, the Grand Duchy won its first Oscar, for the animated film Mr Hublot (Zeilt Productions). In 2013, the animated film Ernest et Célestine (Mélusine Productions) won, among other awards, the César for the best animated film.

Research and innovation

Research and innovation are key elements in the policy to diversify the Grand Duchy's economy. In 2014, 1,24% of the Grand Duchy's GDP was devoted to research. Un peu plus que la moitié des dépenses de recherche émane du secteur privé. The government has set a national target of 2.6% of GDP for spending on research and development (R&D). The University of Luxembourg, created in 2003, is a new, multilingual university focusing on research. It is located at the centre of the City of Science, Research and Innovation on the ancient industrial site of Esch-Belval as well as the House of Innovation and several public research bodies: LISER (Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research), LIST (Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology), LCSB (Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine)...

Crafts

Crafts: This sector, with some 7,000 businesses, is the leading employer in the Grand Duchy. In relation to the economy as a whole, the crafts sector represents 22% of businesses and 23% of total employment (2017 figures). The sector is heavily dependent on cross-border labour (49%). 

Tourism

Tourism: The World Tourism & Travel Council (WTTC) calculated the direct and indirect impact of tourism as representing 5.7% of the Grand Duchy's GDP (2012). The tourism sector represents 7.6% of total employment. The government pays particular attention to business and congress tourism (MICE). Tourism in the Grand Duchy is promoted by the National Tourist Board (Office national du tourisme, ONT).

Agriculture

Agriculture's contribution to the national economy has been stable in recent years, but at a very low level. Whereas in 1947 43.7% of the population of the Grand Duchy worked in the primary sector (agriculture, hunting, forestry, fishing), the figure has dropped considerably since, falling to 3.61% in 2001. Today, the number of farms and jobs in farming (1% of total employment in 2012) is declining, although the total area used for agricultural purposes remains more or less stable. Organic production is increasing (120 producers in 2013), albeit slowly. Demand for organic products continues to rise, however, in both specialist shops and supermarkets.

  • Updated 11-05-2017

Wirtschaft und Schlüsselbranchen

Wirtschaftliche Schwerpunkte

Wirtschaftliche Schwerpunkte: international orientierte Wirtschaft, großes Wachstumspotenzial, solide makroökonomische Grundlagen, breit gefächerte Industrie, internationales Finanzzentrum, moderne Infrastrukturen, optimale Vernetzung mit den Märkten, attraktive institutionelle, rechtliche und steuerliche Rahmenbedingungen

Hauptstadt der Europäischen Union:

Mit Brüssel und Straßburg zählt Luxemburg zu den drei „Hauptstädten“ der Europäischen Union. In der Hauptstadt befinden sich mehrere europäische Dienste und Einrichtungen, unter anderem die Dienststellen der Europäischen Kommission (Übersetzungsdienst, Amt für Veröffentlichungen, Statistisches Amt), der Europäische Rechnungshof, der Europäische Gerichtshof, die Europäische Investitionsbank (EIB), der Europäische Investitionsfonds (EIF), das Sekretariat des Europäischen Parlaments, die Europäische Finanzstabilisierungsfazilität (EFSF) und der Europäische Stabilitätsmechanismus (ESM).

Gründungsmitglied wichtiger internationaler Organisationen:

  • Benelux, Europarat
  • Europäische Union
  • NATO
  • OECD
  • Vereinte Nationen
  • WTO ...

Währungseinheit

  • 1 euro (€) = 100 cents

Arbeitsmarkt

Arbeitslosenquote*

  • 7,1% (März 2014)

Gesamtinlandsbeschäftigung*

  • 392.131 Arbeitnehmer (März 2014); etwa 70 Prozent der Arbeitskräfte des Landes sind Gastarbeiter oder Grenzgänger.

Grenzgänger

  • Einpendler*: 162.183 (März 2014)
  • Auspendler*: 11.908 (März 2014)

Der Anteil an Grenzgängern ist von 3% in 1961 auf 44% in 2010 angestiegen; fast die Hälfte der Grenzgänger kommt aus Frankreich.

Internationale Bedienstete und Beamte

  • 10.400 (2012)

Inflationsrate

  • 1,7% (2013)

BIP (reales Wachstum)

  • 2,7% (2014)

* saisonbereinigte Daten
Vorhersage

BIP/Einwohner

82.700 EUR im Jahr 2012. Nach diesem Indikator steht Luxemburg an der Spitze der reichsten Länder der Welt. Dies ist allerdings angesichts des hohen Anteils von Grenzgängern, die nicht im Nenner des Quotienten berücksichtigt sind, zu relativieren.

Große politische und soziale Stabilität

Regierung, Arbeitgeber und Gewerkschaften setzen sich gemäß dem "Luxemburger Sozialmodell" an einen Tisch, um im Rahmen der sogenannten Tripartite über wichtige wirtschaftliche und soziale Fragen zu verhandeln. Aus diesem Grund kommt es in Luxemburg ausgesprochen selten zu Streiks.

Starke internationale Ausrichtung 

Das Großherzogtum ist in Bezug auf den Absatz seiner Waren und Dienstleistungen sowie die Versorgung mit auf dem Inlandsmarkt nicht verfügbaren Waren und Dienstleistungen, erheblich auf das Ausland angewiesen.

Informationsgesellschaft

2013 verfügten 99,4% der privaten Haushalte über ein Mobiltelefon, 94% der Haushalte besaßen einen Computer, 95% der Haushalte hatten einen privaten Internetzugang und fast acht von zehn Haushalten nutzten einen Breitbandanschluss. Nahezu alle Firmen verwendeten Computer und waren ans Internet angeschlossen. Neun von zehn Firmen nutzten Breitbandverbindungen. Acht von zehn Firmen verfolgten eine „Green IT“-Strategie, haben also Maßnahmen zur umweltschonenden Nutzung von Informationstechnologie ergriffen.

Anteil der Wirtschaftssektoren am BIP:

  • Landwirtschaft: 0,3%
  • Industrie: 13,4%
  • Dienstleistungen: 86,8%

Wichtige Wirtschaftszweige

Der wichtigste Motor der luxemburgischen Wirtschaft ist der Finanzsektor. Da die Abhängigkeit von einem Sektor jedoch ein wirtschaftliches Risiko darstellt, verfolgen die luxemburgischen Behörden bewusst eine Diversifizierungspolitik, mit der Bereiche wie Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik (IKT), Logistik, Biotechnik, Umwelttechnologie und Forschung gefördert werden, und gleichzeitig die Diversifizierung des Finanzsektors vorangetrieben wird.

Finanzen 

Luxemburg hat sich als führender Finanzplatz etabliert. Rund 150 Banken (2014) sind im Großherzogtum tätig. Es ist das größte Zentrum für Investmentfonds in Europa (zweitgrößtes weltweit nach den USA), das größte Private-Banking-Zentrum der Eurozone und führender Standort für Rückversicherungsunternehmen. Für die Entwicklung und Förderung des Finanzplatzes Luxemburg ist die Einrichtung Luxembourg for Finance (LFF) zuständig. Die Banken in Luxemburg haben sich auf Private-Banking (Vermögensverwaltung für Privatkunden), Versicherungswesen, die Verwaltung und Verwahrung des Sondervermögens von Investmentfonds und die Ausgabe von Fondsanteilen spezialisiert. Darüber hinaus ist der Finanzplatz im Bereich der Mikrofinanz, der philanthropischen Investments und des Islamischen Finanzwesens aufgestellt. Der Finanzsektor trägt ein Drittel zum BIP Luxemburgs bei.

  • Mehr zu diesem Thema in unserer Rubrik Finanzen.

Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik (IKT) 

Der IKT-Sektor generiert 6,6% der Bruttowertschöpfung und macht 4,0% der Gesamtbeschäftigung aus (2012). Luxemburg verfügt über eine Vielzahl direkter Breitbandverbindungen zu den wichtigsten europäischen Internetknoten in London, Amsterdam, Frankfurt und Paris, die sehr niedrige Latenzzeiten erreichen. Sehr niedrige Latenzzeiten nach London, Amsterdam, Frankfurt und Paris. Führende Unternehmen der IKT-Branche wie Amazon.com, iTunes, eBay, Vodafone, RealNetworks und Rakuten sowie Unternehmen aus dem Bereich Online-Spiele haben sich in Luxemburg niedergelassen. Weitere vorteilhafte Standortfaktoren Luxemburgs:

  • Große Bandbreite leistungsfähiger Rechenzentren
  • Niedrige Strompreise
  • Versorgungsgrad mit Breitbandinternet: 100% (2014)
  • Verbreitung mobiler Breitbandanschlüsse: 65% (gemessen an der Zahl der Mobilfunknutzer, 2012)
  • Verbreitung fester Breitbandanschlüsse mit 100 Mbit/s: 80% (gemessen an der Bevölkerung, 2014)
  • Verbreitung fester Breitbandanschlüsse mit 1 Gbit/s: 25% (gemessen an der Bevölkerung, 2014)
  • Anzahl zertifizierter Tier-4-Rechenzentren in Luxemburg: 6 (2014)

Luxemburg steht bei der Breitbandabdeckung und den Kapazitäten für internationalen Datenverkehr europaweit an erster Stelle (2014). Auch in Bezug auf die Gesetze im Bereich IKT belegt das Land den ersten Platz (von 148 Ländern, 2014). Als Dachorgan des gesamten IKT-Sektors fungiert das Luxembourg ICT Cluster.

Logistik

Die Logistik ist in Luxemburg dank der guten Vernetzung mit den internationalen Märkten ein boomender Sektor. Der Sektor stützt sich auf drei Pfeiler: die Luftfracht (Cargolux, eine der größten Frachtfluggesellschaften weltweit, LuxairCargo und CargoCenter), die Eisenbahnfracht (CFL Cargo und CFL Multimodal) und die Binnenschiffsfracht. Luxemburg Freeport, die erste Freihandelszone des Großherzogtums Luxemburg am internationalen Flughafen Findel; Pharma & Healthcare Center am internationalen Flughafen Findel Als Dachorgan des Sektors fungiert das Luxembourg BioHealth Cluster. Als Dachorgan des Sektors fungiert das Cluster for Logistics. Als Dachorgan des Sektors fungiert das Cluster for Logistics. Laut dem Logistics Performance Index (LPI) der Weltbank belegt Luxemburg im Ranking der Länder mit der besten Logistikleistung derzeit (2014) den achten Platz.

  • Mehr zu diesem Thema in unserer Rubrik Logistik.

Biotechnologie

Die Universität Luxemburg und die öffentlichen Forschungszentren arbeiten mit weltweit renommierten Forschungseinrichtungen bei drei Vorhaben zusammen: die Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL), das Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine und die Forschung zur Validierung von Markern für Lungenkrebs. Als Dachorgan des Sektors fungiert das Luxembourg BioHealth Cluster.

Umwelttechnologien

Luxemburg beherbergt rund 200 Unternehmen, die in den Bereichen erneuerbare Energien, Abfallentsorgung, Abwasserwirtschaft und ökologisches Bauen tätig sind. Sie werden bei ihrer Arbeit von 28 öffentlichen Einrichtungen und 6 Forschungsinstituten unterstützt. Als Dachorgan des Sektors fungiert das Luxembourg Ecoinnovation Cluster.

Industrie

Die Eisen- und Stahlindustrie war bis zur Strukturkrise in den 1970er Jahren das Zugpferd der luxemburgischen Wirtschaft. Das Stahlwerk ARBED hat maßgeblich zum Wohlstand des Landes beigetragen. 2001 entstand durch den Zusammenschluss von ARBED mit Usinor und Aceralia der Konzern ARCELOR, der 2006 wiederum mit Mittal Steel fusionierte. ArcelorMittal, dessen Sitz in Luxemburg liegt, ist heute der weltweit größte Stahlkonzern. Andere Industriezweige sind die Werkstoffindustrie (u. a. DuPont de Nemours, Guardian Glass) und die Automobilzuliefererindustrie (u. a. Goodyear, Delphi).

  • Mehr zu diesem Thema in unserer Rubrik Industrie.

Audiovisuelle Produktion

Luxemburg hat eine Vorreiterrolle in der europäischen Medienlandschaft gespielt. Zwei Riesen der Medien- und Kommunikationsindustrie haben in Luxemburg das Licht der Welt erblickt und entwickeln sich immer noch von Luxemburg aus weiter: RTL Group, Europas größter Betreiber von Privatfernsehen und Privatradio, und SES, weltweiter Marktführer im Kommunikations- und Fernübertragungswesen, mit einer Flotte von 50 Satelliten. Darüber hinaus verfügt Luxemburg über rund 20 Filmproduktionsgesellschaften, drei Filmstudios und etwa 30 Postproduktionsgesellschaften. Viele luxemburgische (Ko-)Produktionen haben Preise bei internationalen Filmfestivals gewonnen. 2014 holte der Animationsfilm „Mr Hublot“ (Zeilt Productions) erstmals einen Oscar nach Luxemburg. „Ernest & Célestine“ (Mélusine Productions) wurde 2013 unter anderem mit dem César in der Kategorie Bester Animationsfilm ausgezeichnet.

Forschung und Innovation

In der wirtschaftlichen Diversifizierungspolitik Luxemburgs kommt Forschung und Innovation eine wesentliche Rolle zu. 2014 investierte das Land 1,24% des BIP in diesem Bereich. Etwas mehr als die Hälfte der Investionen im Forschungsbereich kommen aus dem Privatsektor Die Regierung hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, eine nationale Forschungsquote von 2,6% des BIP zu erreichen. Die 2003 gegründete Universität Luxemburg ist eine junge, mehrsprachige Hochschule, die sich der Forschung verpflichtet. Sie befindet sich im Herzen des Wissenschaftsparks "Cité des sciences, de la recherche et de l’innovation" auf den alten Industriebrachen in Esch-Belval. Hier befindet sich ebenfalls das Haus der Innovation und mehrere öffentliche Forschungsstellen: LISER (Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research), LIST (Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology), LCSB (Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine)...

Handwerk 

Mit etwa 7.000 Betrieben ist dieser Sektor der größte Arbeitgeber des Großherzogtums. Gemessen an der Gesamtwirtschaft macht das Handwerk 22% der Unternehmen und 23% der Gesamtbeschäftigung aus (Daten 2017). Der Sektor ist in erheblicher Weise auf Grenzpendler angewiesen (49%). 

  • Mehr zu diesem Thema in unserer Artikel Über das Handwerk 2017

Tourismus

2012 trug der Tourismus nach Einschätzung des World Tourism and Travel Council (WTTC) direkt und indirekt 5,7% zum Luxemburger BIP bei. Der Sektor macht 7,6% der Gesamtbeschäftigung aus. Die Regierung legt einen besonderen Schwerpunkt auf den Geschäfts- und Kongresstourismus. Für die Förderung des Tourismus in Luxemburg ist das Nationale Fremdenverkehrsamt (Office national du tourisme, ONT) zuständig.

Landwirtschaft

Die Landwirtschaft hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren konstant entwickelt, spielt gesamtwirtschaftlich jedoch eine geringe Rolle. Die Zahl der Beschäftigten ist stark gesunken: 1947 arbeiteten 43,37% der luxemburgischen Bevölkerung im Primärsektor (Landwirtschaft, Jagd, Forstwirtschaft, Fischfang). 2001 waren es nur noch 3,61%. Die Zahl der landwirtschaftlichen Betriebe und Arbeitskräfte (1% der Gesamtbeschäftigung 2012) ist heute rückläufig, während die landwirtschaftliche Nutzfläche kaum abnimmt. Der Ökolandbau gewinnt, wenn auch langsam, zunehmend an Bedeutung (2013: 120 Biobauern). Dafür nimmt die Nachfrage nach Öko-Lebensmitteln sowohl bei Öko-Fachgeschäften als auch Supermärkten kontinuierlich zu.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 11-05-2017