History and symbols

History

Located in the heart of Europe, positioned between France, Belgium and Germany, the Grand Duchy has taken part in the major European developments. The Grand Duchy's history can therefore be seen as a condensed version of European history.

963 The history of Luxembourg goes back to 963, when Count Sigfried acquired the small fort called Lucilinburhuc in an exchange with St Maximin's Abbey in Trier. The fort stood on the rocky spur of the Bock, dominating the Alzette valley.
14th and 15th centuries:

During the Middle Ages, the Princes of Luxembourg wore the crown of the Holy Roman Empire.

  • Henri VII, Count of Luxembourg, was elected King of Germany in 1308 and crowned as Emperor four years later in Rome. The Counts of Luxembourg also became Kings of Bohemia by the marriage of John the Blind, son of Henri VII, to Elisabeth, heiress to the kingdom of Bohemia. John the Blind was a model knight, and died a hero’s death in the service of the King of France at the Battle of Crécy in 1346.
  • In 1364, with the definitive acquisition of the County of Chiny, the possessions of the Dukes of Luxembourg covered the largest area in their history (10,000 square kilometres).
  • After Henri VII, three other members of the Luxembourg dynasty were to wear the royal or imperial crowns in succession: Charles IV (1346-1378), Wenceslas (1376-1400) and Sigismund (1410-1437), the last Emperor from the House of Luxembourg.
  • In modern times, Luxembourg's fortress, referred to as 'Gibraltar of the North', was a focal point in the struggles among the major powers.
  • Before obtaining its independence during the 19th century, Luxembourg lived under successive Burgundian, Spanish, French, Austrian and Dutch sovereignty.
1795 Luxembourg was annexed to France, becoming the 'Département des Forêts' under Napoleon
1815-1890 Creation of the current Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
1815 After the collapse of the Napoleonic Empire, the map of Europe was redrawn and divided up among the major powers, meeting at the Congress of Vienna in 1815. This was when Luxembourg was created as an independent political entity. It was made a Grand Duchy, and attributed to the King of the Netherlands, William I of Orange-Nassau. Despite this rise in status, the Grand Duchy was obliged to cede to Prussia the Eifel area and a vast area to the east of the Moselle, Sûre and Our rivers.
1839 It was not until 1839, with the Treaty of London, that the Grand Duchy took on its present day form. The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg remained under the sovereignty of the House of Orange-Nassau, but acquired its own administration, and the Belgian part of Luxembourg became a province of Belgium.
1890 The personal union with the Netherlands did not end until 1890, with the death of William III. Adolphe of Nassau-Weilbourg became Grand Duke of Luxembourg. The country then had its own dynasty.
20th century

The end of neutrality, and the Grand Duchy's role in the construction of Europe

  • Despite its neutrality, the Grand Duchy was invaded by the German army during both World Wars, on 2 August 1914 and 10 May 1940.
  • During the second invasion, Grand Duchess Charlotte and the government went into exile and the country was subjected to occupation by the Nazis. On 10 September 1944, Luxembourg City was liberated by American troops. During the Ardennes offensive (the Battle of the Bulge), German forces devastated the north and east of the country (between December 1944 and February 1945).
  • After the Second World War, the Grand Duchy abandoned neutrality and took its place in the international community which came into being after 1945. It is a founding member of the UN (1945), Benelux (1947), NATO (1949), the ECSC (1951), the EEC and Euratom (Treaties of Rome) (1958), etc.
  • The accession to the throne of Grand Duke Jean in 1964 coincided with an era of exceptional prosperity. Grand Duke Jean abdicated in 2000 in favour of his son, Henri.
  • 2014 marks the 175th anniversary of the Grand Duchy's independence.

For more information read our pages about the history of the Grand Duchy!

Some famous people who passed through the Grand Duchy

The following famous people visited Luxembourg:


Sébastien le Prestre de Vauban (1633-1707) French engineer Sébastien le Prestre de Vauban directed operations for the armies of France's King Louis XIV besieging Luxembourg's fortress in 1684.
Jean Racine (1639-1699) Great French playwright Jean Racine passed through Luxembourg in 1687 as Louis XIV's historiographer and inspector of Luxembourg's fortress.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe(1749-1832) German poet Johann Wolfgang von Goethe stayed in Luxembourg's fortress on two occasions in 1792.
Joseph Mallord William Turner (1775-1851) English painter Joseph Mallord William Turner painted a good number of views of Luxembourg's fortress during his two visits, in 1826 and 1834.
Victor Hugo (1802-1885) French writer Victor Hugo produced a number of drawings during his stay in Vianden, in the Ardennes.
Barend Cornelis Koekkoek (1803-1862) Dutch landscape artist Barend Cornelis Koekkoek painted a series of landscapes depicting the Grand Duchy in the 1840s.
Mihály Munkácsy (1844-1900) For 25 years, Hungarian painter Mihály Munkácsy lived with his Luxembourgish wife at Colpach castle, the couple's summer residence. The most important painter in 19th-century Hungary was constantly painting the surroundings of the castle and the inhabitants of the village.
Franz Liszt (1811-1886) Hungarian composer Franz Liszt also stayed in Colpach some time before his death. He gave his last piano recital, on 19 July 1886, at the 'Casino Bourgeois' in Luxembourg City.
André Gide (1869-1951) French Nobel Prize in Literature winner André Gide was among the guests of the famous 'Colpach circle', centred on Aline and Emile Mayrisch, which brought together the European cultural icons of the early 1920s at Colpach castle.
Paul Almasy (1906-2003)

Franco-Hungarian Paul Almasy, one of the greatest photo reporters of the 20th century, took hundreds of photographs of the Grand Duchy during his many stays in the country.

Symbols

The symbols of a State represent and symbolise not only the identity of its people and its sovereignty, but also its desire to 'live together'. The symbols of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg are:

drapeaulux

The National Flag

The national flagconsists of three horizontal stripes in red, white, and sky blue. Although the flags of the Grand Duchy and the Netherlands are very similar, the distinguishing feature of the Dutch flag is its ultramarine blue stripe, whereas the blue on the Grand Duchy's flag is sky blue.

Like the national coat of arms, the Grand Duchy's flag is protected by the Law of 23 June 1972 on national emblems.

infographie-hymne-198573

The National Anthem

The national anthem (legally protected since 1993) consists of the first and last verses of the song 'Ons Heemecht' (our homeland), dating from 1859, with words by the poet Michel Lentz and set to music by Jean-Antoine Zinnen. Played in public for the first time at a major ceremony in Ettelbruck in 1864, the national anthem expresses the country's immense joy at finally becoming independent, and celebrates its peacefulness and prosperity.

Only the government has the right to translate the national anthem. Translations into a number of languages are available online on this portal:

wilhelmus-129168

The 'Wilhelmus', the anthem of the grand ducal house.

The 'Wilhelmus' is the anthem of the grand ducal house. It is heard whenever a member of the grand-ducal family arrives at or leaves an official ceremony. It takes its inspiration from a trumpet sounding or a cavalry fanfare; there is no written trace thereof prior to the 16th century.

En amont de la fête nationale

National Day: 23 June

The National Day has been celebrated on 23 June each year since 1962: it is the public celebration of the sovereign's birthday, regardless of the actual date of his or her birthday (grand ducal order of 23 December 1961). Every year it attracts tens of thousands of Luxembourgers, foreign residents and tourists.

Les petites armoiries

Coat of arms

The origins of the Grand Duchy's coat of arms date back to the Middle Ages. There are three grades of the Grand Duchy's coat of arms: the small coat of arms, the medium coat of arms and the great coat of arms. They are protected by the Law of 23 June 1972 on national emblems.

Inscription

National motto

'Mir wëlle bleiwe wat mir sinn' (We want to remain what we are) The motto is taken from a song entitled 'De Feierwôn' (the chariot of fire) written by national poet Michel Lentz to mark the inauguration of the railway in 1859. It has become a true national song.

Other objects of great symbolic importance

drapeau-lionrouge-162126
The red lion, as represented on the blue and white striped flag Luxembourgers bring out for sports events, or in a stylised form on biometric passports;
gelle-fra-129195
The 'Gëlle Fra' (Golden Lady) — the monument with its statue of a golden lady on the Place de la Constitution in Luxembourg City — is considered to be a symbol of Luxembourgish identity.
  • Updated 30-01-2017

Geschichte und Symbole

Geschichte

Im Herzen Europas, zwischen Frankreich, Belgien und Deutschland gelegen, hatte Luxemburg Anteil an den großen europäischen Entwicklungen. Aus diesem Grund stellt die Geschichte des Großherzogtums Luxemburg einen echten Querschnitt durch die Geschichte Europas dar.

963 Luxemburgs Ursprünge reichen ins Jahr 963 zurück, als Graf Siegfried durch einen Tauschhandel mit der Abtei Sankt Maximin in Trier ein kleine Festung namens Lucilinburhuc erwarb. Sie befand sich auf dem Bockfelsen, einem Felsvorsprung über dem Alzettetal.
14. bis 15. Jahrhundert:

Im Mittelalter trugen die Luxemburger Fürsten die Krone des Heiligen Römischen Reiches Deutscher Nation.

  • Graf Heinrich VII. von Luxemburg wurde 1308 zum deutschen König gewählt und vier Jahr später in Rom zum Kaiser gekrönt. Sein Sohn Johann der Blinde heiratete die Erbin des böhmischen Königreiches, Prinzessin Elisabeth, wodurch die Grafen von Luxemburg auch Könige von Böhmen wurden. Johann der Blinde fiel 1346 als Held und vorbildlicher Ritter im Dienste des französischen Königs in der Schlacht bei Crécy.
  • 1364: Mit dem endgültigen Erwerb der Grafschaft Chiny erreichen die Besitzungen der Herzöge von Luxemburg ihre größte Ausdehnung (10.000 km2).
  • Nach Heinrich VII. trugen nacheinander drei andere Mitglieder der Luxemburger Dynastie die Königs- und sogar die Kaiserkrone: Karl IV. (1346-1378), Wenzel (1376-1400) und Sigismund (1410-1437), der letzte Kaiser aus dem Hause Luxemburg.
  • In der Neuzeit kam der als „Gibraltar des Nordens“ bezeichneten Festung Luxemburgs große Bedeutung im Kampf zwischen den Großmächten zu.
  • Vor der im 19. Jahrhundert erlangten Unabhängigkeit stand Luxemburg nacheinander unter burgundischer, spanischer, französischer, österreichischer und holländischer Hoheit.
1795 Luxemburg wurde unter Napoleon als Département des Forêts (Wälderdepartement) von Frankreich annektiert.
1815-1890 Entstehung des heutigen Großherzogtums Luxemburg
1815 Nach dem Untergang des napoleonischen Kaiserreiches nahmen die auf dem Wiener Kongress von 1815 versammelten Großmächte eine Umgestaltung und Neuordnung Europas vor. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt entstand Luxemburg als politisch unabhängige Einheit. Das Land wurde zum Großherzogtum erhoben und dem niederländischen König Wilhelm I. von Oranien-Nassau zugesprochen. Trotz des höheren Ranges musste das Großherzogtum die Eifel und große Gebiete östlich der Flüsse Mosel, Sauer und Our an Preußen abtreten.
1839 Seine heutige Form erlangte Luxemburg erst 1839 mit dem Londoner Vertrag. Das Großherzogtum Luxemburg blieb unter der Herrschaft des Hauses Oranien-Nassau, erhielt jedoch eine eigene Verwaltung, während das belgische Luxemburg eine Provinz Belgiens wurde.
1890 Die Personalunion mit den Niederlanden endete erst 1890 mit dem Tod Wilhelms III. Das Großherzogtum Luxemburg fiel daraufhin Adolph von Nassau-Weilburg zu. Damit erhielt das Land seine eigene Dynastie.
20. Jahrhundert

Aufhebung der Neutralität und Luxemburgs Rolle beim europäischen Aufbauwerk

  • Trotz seiner Neutralität wurde Luxemburg während beider Weltkriege, am 2. August 1914 und am 10. Mai 1940, von deutschen Truppen besetzt.
  • Während der zweiten Besetzung gingen die Großherzogin Charlotte und die Regierung ins Exil. Am 10. September 1944 wird die Stadt Luxemburg von den Amerikanern befreit. Im Rahmen der Ardennenoffensive verwüsten deutsche Truppen den Norden und Osten des Landes (Dezember 1944 bis Februar 1945).
  • Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg gibt das Großherzogtum seinen Neutralitätsstatus auf und wird fester Bestandteil der nach 1945 entstehenden internationalen Gemeinschaft. Es ist Gründungsmitglied der UNO (1945), der Benelux-Union (1947), der NATO (1949), der Montanunion (1951), der EWG, der EURATOM (Römische Verträge, 1958) usw.
  • Mit der Thronbesteigung von Großherzog Jean 1964 kam es zu einem rasanten wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung. Im Jahr 2000 dankte er zugunsten seines Sohnes Henri ab.
  • 2014 feiert Luxemburg den 175. Jahrestag seiner Unabhängigkeit.

Mehr zu diesem Thema finden Sie auf unseren Seiten zur Geschichte Luxemburgs!

Berühmte Persönlichkeiten, die zeitweise in Luxemburg lebten und wirkten


Sébastien le Prestre de Vauban (1633-1707) Der französische Ingenieur Sébastien Le Prestre de Vauban (1633-1707) leitete 1684 die Belagerung der Festung Luxemburg durch die Truppen Ludwigs XIV.
Jean Racine (1639-1699) Der große französische Dramatiker Jean Racine (1639-1699) war 1687 als Chronist Ludwigs XIV. und Inspektor der Festung in Luxemburg.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe(1749-1832) Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832) hielt sich 1792 zweimal in der Festung Luxemburg auf.
Joseph Mallord William Turner (1775-1851) Joseph Mallord William Turner (1775-1851) malte anlässlich zweier Aufenthalte 1826 und 1834 zahlreiche Ansichten der Festung Luxemburg.
Victor Hugo (1802-1885) Victor Hugo (1802-1885) verbrachte einige Zeit in der Ardennenstadt Vianden und erstellte dort Zeichnungen.
Barend Cornelis Koekkoek(1803-1862) Der niederländische Landschaftsmaler Barend Cornelis Koekkoek (1803-1862) malte in den 1840er Jahren eine Reihe von Landschaften des Großherzogtums.
Mihály Munkácsy(1844-1900) Mihály Munkácsy (1844-1900), der bedeutendste ungarische Maler des 19. Jahrhunderts, wohnte 25 Jahre mit seiner luxemburgischen Frau auf Schloss Colpach, das zur Sommerresidenz des Paars wurde. Dort malte er immer wieder die Umgebung des Schlosses und die Dorfbewohner.
Franz Liszt(1811-1886) Der ungarische Komponist Franz Liszt (1811-1886) weilte kurz vor seinem Tode ebenfalls in Colpach. Er gab am 19. Juli 1886 im Luxemburger Bürgercasino sein letztes Klavierkonzert.
André Gide(1869-1951) André Gide (1869-1951), französischer Literaturnobelpreisträger, gehörte zum berühmten „Colpacher Kreis“, in dem sich Anfang der 1920er Jahre europäische Künstler und Intellektuelle auf Schloss Colpach um Aline und Emile Mayrisch trafen.
Paul Almasy(1906-2003)

Der ungarisch-französische Fotograf Paul Almasy (1906-2003), einer der bekanntesten Fotojournalisten des 20. Jahrhunderts, machte bei seinen vielen Besuchen in Luxemburg hunderte von Aufnahmen.

Symbole

Staatssymbole dienen der Veranschaulichung der Identität und Souveränität eines Volkes und drücken den Wunsch des Zusammenlebens aus. Hier die Symbole des Großherzogtums Luxemburg:

drapeaulux

Nationalflagge

Die Nationalflagge besteht aus drei horizontalen Streifen in den Farben Rot, Weiß und Himmelblau. Trotz der starken Ähnlichkeit zwischen den Flaggen Luxemburgs und der Niederlande unterscheidet sich die niederländische Flagge durch einen ultramarinblauen Streifen, während das Blau der luxemburgischen Flagge himmelblau ist.

Die luxemburgische Flagge ist ebenso wie das Staatswappen durch das Gesetz über die Hoheitszeichen vom 23. Juni 1972 geschützt.

infographie-hymne-198573

Nationalhymne

Die Nationalhymne (rechtlich geschützt seit 1993) besteht aus der ersten und letzten Strophe des Liedes "Ons Heemecht" (Unsere Heimat) von 1859, einem Text des Dichters Michel Lentz, der von Jean-Antoine Zinnen vertont wurde. Sie wurde erstmals 1864 bei einer Veranstaltung in Ettelbrück öffentlich gesungen und bringt die Freude darüber zum Ausdruck, dass das Land Unabhängigkeit, Frieden und Wohlstand erlangt hat.

Nur die Regierung darf Übersetzungen der Nationalhymne vornehmen. Die Hymne wurde in mehreren Sprachen übersetzt.

Wilhelmus

Wilhelmus, die Hymne des großherzoglichen Hauses

Wilhelmus“ ist die Hymne des großherzoglichen Hauses. Sie erklingt, wenn ein Mitglied der großherzoglichen Familie bei einer offiziellen Feier ankommt und wenn es diese wieder verlässt. „Wilhelmus“ wurde durch ein Trompetensignal oder eine Kavalleriefanfare inspiriert, die ab dem 16. Jahrhundert schriftlich belegt ist.

En amont de la fête nationale

Nationalfeiertag: 23. Juni

Seit 1962 wird der Nationalfeiertag am 23. Juni begangen. An diesem Tag wird offiziell der Geburtstag des Herrschers gefeiert, und zwar unabhängig von seinem tatsächlichen Geburtstag (großherzogliche Verordnung vom 23.12.1961). Jedes Jahr kommen hunderttausende Luxemburger, in Luxemburg lebende Ausländer und Touristen zu den Feierlichkeiten.

Les petites armoiries

Staatswappen

Der Ursprung des luxemburgischen Staatswappens reicht bis ins Mittelalter zurück. Das Wappen des Großherzogtums Luxemburg existiert in drei Größen: So gibt es das kleine Wappen, das mittlere Wappen und das große Wappen. Es ist durch das Gesetz über die Hoheitszeichen vom 23. Juni 1972 geschützt.

Inscription

Nationaler Wahlspruch

„Mir wëlle bleiwe wat mir sinn“ („Wir wollen bleiben, was wir sind“). Der Wahlspruch stammt aus dem Lied „De Feierwôn“ (Der Feuerwagen) des Nationaldichters Michel Lentz, der das patriotische Lied für die Einweihung der Eisenbahn 1859 komponierte. Es wurde zu einer regelrechten nationalen Hymne.

Sonstige Gegenstände mit starker Symbolkraft

drapeau-lionrouge-162126
Der rote Löwe: Er ist zum Beispiel auf der blau und weiß gestreiften Fahne dargestellt, die Luxemburger bei Sportanlässen benutzen, oder auch in stilisierter Form in biometrischen Reisepässen in Gebrauch;
gelle-fra-129195
Die "Gëlle Fra": Das Mahnmal auf dem Place de la Constitution in Luxemburg zeigt eine vergoldete Frauengestalt und gilt als Symbol für die luxemburgische Identität.
  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 30-01-2017