Transport and Mobility

Air travel

Luxembourg-Findel International Airport is located 8 km north-east of Luxembourg City (www.lux-airport.lu).

Rail travel

The TGV high-speed train currently links Luxembourg City and Paris within 2 hours 5 minutes and Luxembourg City and Strasbourg in 90 minutes. Thus Luxembourg is well connected with major European cities.

Dense railway network connecting the Grand Duchy with the whole of Europe (www.cfl.lu)

Travel by car

Car registration plate code: L

Highway Code on the website of the Department of Transport (in French)

Free and dense motorway network

Motorway network

  • The Grand Duchy is located on the E25 and E44 international routes.
  • A1 motorway – 220km to Cologne
  • A3 motorway – 374km to Paris
  • A4 motorway – linking Luxembourg City and Esch-sur-Alzette
  • A6 motorway – 229km to Brussels
  • A7 motorway – northern route, linking Ettelbruck and Luxembourg City
  • A31 motorway – 225km to Strasbourg

Public transport

Public transport throughout the country:  Train and bus network, including special services such as during the night or during certain events (information on www.mobiliteit.lu)

Public transport in Luxembourg City: train and bus network (City Night Bus, free City Shopping Bus, Call a bus or bus on demand, Sightseeing Bus); park and ride system (www.avl.lu)

Tram: a project to introduce trams is currently being put into action. The project should be completed by 2020/21. One line will run from the Cloche d'Or (southern part of Luxembourg City) to Findel (Luxembourg-Findel International Airport), 8km north-east of the city, passing through the city centre and Luxembourg-Kirchberg (www.luxtram.lu).

mLive: national project for telematics in public transport, making it possible to synchronise mobility with the other areas of users' lives. Centralised processing of the information gathered from the various parties involved in public transport makes it possible to offer users full general information plus the details essential for planning their business or personal travel. Personal mobility can be organised easily using a computer, a tablet, or a smartphone.

Gentle mobility

Gentle mobility throughout the Grand Duchy: network of almost 900km of cycle tracks, network of 5,000km of footpaths with more than 500 marked paths and walks, pedestrian areas in most towns, bicycle rental scheme in Esch-sur-Alzette (Vël'OK) and in Luxembourg City. More information on the website of the Mobility Centre.

Soft mobility in Luxembourg City vel'oh!, bike rental service, network of cycle paths, pedestrian areas. For more information visit the website of Luxembourg City.

Alternatives to public transport

Taxis: There are specific locations for taxis, but customers may flag a taxi anywhere on the road, provided that the next taxi stop is at in least 50 metres' distance. In Luxembourg, taxi companies can freely determine their fares, but taxis must clearly display their prices, and they are negotiable.

Carsharing in Luxembourg City: Luxembourg City has carsharing system called Carloh. For more information visit the website of Luxembourg City.

  • Updated 30-01-2017

Transport und Mobilität

Flugzeug

Der internationale Flughafen Luxemburg-Findel liegt 8 km nordöstlich von Luxemburg-Stadt (www.lux-airport.lu).

Bahn

Der TGV verbindet Luxemburg mit Paris in 2 Stunden 5 Minuten und mit Straßburg in 90 Minuten. Somit ist die Hauptstadt mit vielen europäischen Großstädten verbunden.

Luxemburg besitzt ein dichtes Bahnnetz mit Verbindungen nach ganz Europa (www.cfl.lu).

Auto

Kfz-Kennzeichen: L

Die Straßenverkehrsordnung auf der Website der Verkehrsabteilung (auf Französisch)

Ein dichtes und kostenloses Autobahnnetz

Autobahnnetz:

  • Luxemburg liegt an der internationalen Verkehrsachse E25 / E44
  • Autobahn A1 – 220 Kilometer bis nach Köln
  • Autobahn A3 – 374 Kilometer bis Paris
  • Autobahn A4 – Verbindung zwischen Luxemburg und Esch/Alzette
  • Autobahn A6 – 229 Kilometer bis Brüssel
  • Autobahn A7 ("Nordstraße") - Verbindung zwischen Ettelbrück und Luxemburg
  • Autobahn A31 – 225 km bis Straßburg

Öffentlicher Personennahverkehr (ÖPNV)

Der öffentliche Personennahverkehr über Land: Bahn- und Busnetzwerk, so wie ein Angebot an Sonderfahrten nachts oder bei verschiedenen Ereignissen (Informationen unter www.mobiliteit.lu)

Öffentlicher Personennahverkehr (ÖPNV) in Luxemburg-Stadt: Bahn- und Busnetzwerk (City Night Bus, kostenloser City Shopping Bus, Call a Bus oder Bus auf Anfrage, Sightseeing Bus); Park & ​​Ride-System (www.avl.lu)

Straßenbahn: Das Projekt einer Straßenbahn befindet sich derzeit in der Umsetzung. 2020/21 soll sie den Betrieb aufnehmen. Eine Linie soll von Cloche d'Or (südlich von Luxemburg-Stadt) über das Stadtzentrum und Kirchberg zum internationalen Flughafen Findel (8 km nordöstlich von Luxemburg-Stadt) führen (www.luxtram.lu)

mLive: Das nationale Projekt für Telematik im öffentlichen Personennahverkehr mLive trägt dazu bei, die Mobilität besser auf die eigenen Bedürfnisse abzustimmen. Auf Basis von Daten der verschiedenen Verkehrsträger, die zentral gesammelt und aufbereitet werden, sollen den Fahrgästen damit allgemeine und individuelle Informationen bereitgestellt werden, um geschäftliche und private Fahrten zu planen. So lässt sich die persönliche Mobilität bequem mit dem PC, Tablet oder Smartphone vorbereiten.

Sanfte Mobilität

Möglichkeiten für sanfte Mobilität innerhalb des Landes: Es gibt ein Radwegenetz von fast 900 km Länge, ein Netz von mehr als 500 markierten Wanderwegen mit einer Länge von 5.000 km, Fußgängerzonen in den meisten Ortschaften, ein Fahrradverleihsystem in Esch-sur-Alzette (Vël'OK) und in der Stadt Luxemburg. Nähere Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Website der Mobilitätszentrale.

Sanfte Mobilität in Luxemburg-Stadt vel'oh!, Fahrradverleih, Radwegenetz, Fußgängerzonen. Nähere Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Internetseite der Stadt Luxemburg.

Alternativen zu öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln

Taxis: Es gibt spezifische Standplätze für Taxis, aber Taxis können auch außerhalb dieser Plätze Passagiere mitnehmen, wenn diese ein Signal geben und der nächste Standplatz mehr als 50 m entfernt ist. In Luxemburg gilt Tariffreiheit für Taxi-Unternehmen, aber Taxis müssen die jeweiligen Gebühren gut sichtbar anbringen. Tarife sind verhandelbar.

Carsharing in Luxemburg-Stadt: in Luxemburg-Stadt gibt es ein Carsharing-System namens Carloh. Nähere Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Internetseite der Stadt Luxemburg.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 30-01-2017