The grand ducal family

Grand Duke Henri, the reigning sovereign, is the eldest son of Grand Duke Jean and Grand Duchess Joséphine Charlotte of Luxembourg (passed away on 10 January 2005). He succeeds to the throne on 7 October 2000, after the abdication of his father, Grand Duke Jean (1964 — 2000).

One family, four generations

On 14 February 1981, prince Henri marries Maria Teresa Mestre in the Cathedral Our Lady of Luxembourg. Grand Duke Henri and Grand Duchess Maria Teresa have 5 children, as well as 3 grand-children. From their union are issued:

  1. prince Guillaume, Hereditary Grand Duke, born on 11 November 1981;
  2. prince Félix, born on 3 June 1984;
  3. prince Louis, born on 3 August 1986;
  4. princess Alexandra, born on 16 February 1991;
  5. prince Sébastien, born on 16 April 1992.

Grand Duke Jean, who lives in Fischbach Castle, holds a special place among these four generations.

A close family

The grand ducal family is an especially close family, which, like all Luxembourgish families, tries to spend a maximum of time together. During holidays the complete family can either be found at Berg Castle, or at their Cabasson estate, or in Switzerland for winter sports.

Marriages and births

Prince Guillaume was officially appointed Hereditary Grand Duke on 18 December 2000. In October 2012, at the Cathedral Our Lady of Luxembourg, he married countess Stéphanie de Lannoy, who thereby became Hereditary Grand Duchess of Luxembourg.

In September 2013, prince Félix married princess Claire of Luxembourg at the Basilica of Sainte Marie-Madelaine in Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume (France). From this union a grand-daughter was born: princess Amalia.

Finally, two more grand-children are issued from the marriage of prince Louis to princess Tessy of Luxembourg, celebrated in September 2006: princes Gabriel and Noah.

A very committed family

In the context of their official functions, TRH the Grand Duke and the Grand Duchess regularly embark on state visits and official visits, which allow them to meet heads of state and government across the globe. As head of the Luxembourg army, the Grand Duke also regularly visits deployments of the Luxembourgish army abroad.

The grand ducal couple is also involved actively in the life of the country, through numerous sponsorships and commitments in the social, humanitarian, economic, cultural and sports domains.

Thus, the Grand Duke is, among others, member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC). The Grand Duchess is notably president of the Grand Duke and Grand Duchess Foundation, whose objective is to help people in need in Luxembourg. On an international level, she is among others a Unesco Goodwill Ambassador.

The Hereditary Grand Duke also travels across the globe to represent Luxembourg abroad. As honorary president of Luxembourg for Business, he regularly heads Luxembourgish economic or financial missions, during which he is often joined by the Hereditary Grand Duchess. Moreover, he shows its humanitarian commitment by its patronage of the Kräizbierg Foundation, which helps people with disabilities.

(Source: www.monarchie.lu)

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Die großherzogliche Familie

Großherzog Henri, das derzeitige Staatsoberhaupt, ist der älteste Sohn von Großherzog Jean und Großherzogin Joséphine Charlotte von Luxemburg (am 1. Januar 2005 verstorben). Er besteigt den Thron am 7. Oktober 2000 indem er die Nachfolge seines Vaters, Großherzog Jean (1964-2000), antritt.

Eine Familie, vier Generationen

Am 14. Februar 1981 hat Prinz Henri Maria Teresa Mestre in der Kathedrale Unserer Lieben Frau in Luxemburg geheiratet. Großherzog Henri und Großherzogin Maria Teresa haben fünf Kinder und drei Enkelkinder. Aus ihrer Verbindung sind hervorgegangen:

  1. Prinz Guillaume, der Erbgroßherzog, am 11. November 1981 geboren;
  2. Prinz Félix, am 3. Juni 1984 geboren;
  3. Prinz Louis, am 3. August 1986 geboren;
  4. Prinzessin Alexandra, am 16. Februar 1991 geboren;
  5. Prinz Sébastien, am 16. April 1992 geboren.

Großherzog Jean, welcher auf Schloss Fischbach lebt, hält einen Ehrenplatz innerhalb dieser vier Generationen.

Eine Familie die zusammenhält

Die großherzogliche Familie ist eine besonders geeinte Familie die, wie alle luxemburgischen Familien, versucht so viel Zeit wie möglich miteinander zu verbringen. Während der Ferien kommt die ganze Familie entweder auf Schloss Berg zusammen, oder auf ihrem Landgut in Cabasson in Südfrankreich. In der Wintersaison trifft sie sich zum Wintersport in der Schweiz.

Hochzeiten und Geburten

Am 18. Dezember 2000 wurde Prinz Guillaume offiziell zum Erbgroßherzog ernannt. Am 20. Oktober 2012 heiratet er Gräfin Stéphanie de Lannoy, welche durch diese Heirat zur Ergroßherzogin von Luxemburg wurde.

Im September 2013 wird die Hochzeit von Prinz Félix von Luxemburg und Prinzessin Claire in der Basilika von Sainte Marie-Madeleine in Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume in Frankreich gefeiert. Eine Enkeltochter geht aus dieser Heirat hervor: Prinzessin Amalia.

Aus der Verbindung zwischen Prinz Louis von Luxemburg und Prinzessin Tessy, welche im September 2006 heirateten, gehen zwei Enkelkinder hervor: Prinz Gabriel und Prinz Noah.

Eine sehr engagierte Familie

Im Rahmen ihrer öffentlichen Funktionen unternehmen I. I. K. K. H. H. der Großherzog und die Großherzogin regelmäßig Staatsbesuche und offizielle Visiten im Ausland. Somit treffen sie Staats- und Regierungschefs in aller Welt. Als Oberhaupt der Luxemburger Armee besucht der Großherzog auch Kontingente der Luxemburger Armee im Ausland.

Das großherzogliche Paar nimmt auch sehr aktiv am gesellschaftlichen Leben Luxemburgs teil, durch seine vielen Engagements und Schirmherrschaften im sozialen, humanitären, wirtschaftlichen, kulturellen und sportlichen Bereich.

Der Großherzog ist unter anderem Mitglied des Internationalen Olympischen Komitees (IOC). Die Großherzogin ist Vorsitzende der "Fondation du Grand-Duc et de la Grande-Duchesse", die zum Ziel hat, bedürftigen Menschen in Luxemburg Unterstützung zu bieten. Auf internationaler Ebene ist sie neben vielen anderen Engagements auch UNESCO-Sonderbotschafterin.

Der Erbgroßherzog bereist die Welt um Luxemburg im Ausland zu repräsentieren. Als Ehrenvorsitzender von Luxembourg for Business steht er regelmäßig Wirtschafts- und Finanzmissionen vor, oft in Begleitung der Erbgroßherzogin. Durch seinen Ehrenvorsitz der "Fondation Kräizbierg", einer im Bereich Behindertenhilfe tätigen Stiftung, stellt er sein humanitäres Engagement unter Beweis.

(Source: www.monarchie.lu)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015