History of House Nassau-Weilburg

Origins

Christof Weber / SIP
Even if the origins of Luxembourg reach back to the 10th century, the reigning national dynasty only acceded to power in 1890. Between 1815 and 1890, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg was ruled by the kings of the Netherlands in personal union. Even if the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg was theoretically an independent state, the Dutch kings ruled the country factually as a province of the Netherlands. In 1890 William III, King of the Netherlands, passes away without a male heir.

Even if this is not a problem for the Dutch crown, the family pact of House Nassau dating from 1783 stipulates that the crown of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has to pass to a male descendant. Thus, while Wilhelmina of the Orange-Nassau branch succeeded her father on the Dutch throne, the crown of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg passed to the only male heir of House Nassau, Adolf of Nassau of the Nassau-Weilburg branch.

In 1905, William IV succeeded his father upon the latter's death. Having had six daughters by his marriage, he foresaw that succession might be problematic upon his death. In 1907, he thus passed a new family statute, according to which his eldest daughter, princess Marie-Adelaïde, was declared heir to the throne.

The reign of Grand Duchess Marie-Adelaide

When William IV died in 1912, his eldest daughter Marie-Adelaïde succeeded her father. Contrary to the latter, she confirms her interests in political and social affairs and intervenes in political affairs. Even if she never overstepped the constitutionally fixed limits on her powers, her actions aroused the hostility of the opposition. Between 1914 and 1918, Luxembourg was occupied by German forces. The Grand Duchess did not oppose herself against the German war machine, in the interest of her people, for which she was criticised. In 1919, following revolutionary troubles, she abdicates in favour of her younger sister, Charlotte.

The reign of Grand Duchess Charlotte

Return from exile of the Grand Duchess Charlotte in 1945
Tony Krier / Photothèque de la Ville de Luxembourg
The reign of Grand Duchess Charlotte lasted from 1919 to 1964. Unlike her sister, she publicly stated her desire to remain above politics. The existence of the monarchy was confirmed in a referendum in 1919, in which 77.8% of Luxembourgers voted to keep the dynasty. From her marriage to prince Félix of Bourbon de Parme six children are issued, two sons and four daughters.

Her finest hour was between 1940 and 1944. At the beginning of the Second World War, German forces invaded Luxembourg, violating its neutrality. The Grand Duchess went into exile, accompanied by her family and the government. From France she passes via Spain to Portugal, the United States and eventually Great Britain, joined by the government. From her exile in London, she sends regular messages to the Luxembourg people via the BBC, encouraging the Luxembourgish resistance. The radio transmissions, which were listened to by many Luxembourgers despite the acute danger of having to suffer repressions, have become a symbol of resistance to the German occupation.

The reign of Grand Duke Jean

In 1964, Grand Duchess Charlotte abdicated in favour of her eldest son, Grand Duke Jean. Following his mother's lead, he remained above political affairs. He is regimental colonel of the Irish Guards, which he joined as a volunteer in 1942, during the Second World War. In 1953, he married princess Joséphine-Charlotte of Belgium. From this union, five children were born, three sons and two daughters. During the 36 years of the reign of Grand Duke Jean, Luxembourg underwent many social and economic changes, among which the passage from an economy based on industry and agriculture, to a services-oriented economy.

The reign of Grand Duke Henri

In 2000, Grand Duke Jean abdicated in favour of his eldest son Henri, who became the head of the ruling House of Nassau-Weilburg. Prince Henri married Maria Teresa Mestre in 1981. From their union, 5 children are issued, the eldest of which is the Hereditary Grand Duke Guillaume, born in 1981. The grand ducal couple has four more children: prince Félix (b. 1984), prince Louis (b. 1986), princess Alexandra (b. 1991) and prince Sébastien (b. 1992).

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Die Geschichte des Hauses Nassau-Weilburg

Die Ursprünge

Der Familienpakt des großherzoglichen Hauses
Christof Weber / SIP
Selbst wenn die Wurzeln Luxemburgs auf das 10. Jahrhundert zurückgehen, so ist die herrschende nationale Dynastie erst 1890 an die Macht gekommen. Zwischen 1815 und 1890 ist das Großherzogtum Luxemburg in Personalunion mit dem König der Niederlande verbunden. Auch wenn das Großherzogtum Luxemburg theoretisch ein unabhängiger Staat ist, so verwalten die Könige der Niederlande das Land als wäre es eine niederländische Provinz. 1890 kommt es dass Wilhelm III., König der Niederlande, stirbt ohne einen männlichen Nachkommen zu haben.

Für die niederländische Krone stellt dies kein Problem dar, aber der Familienpakt des Hauses Nassau von 1783 sieht vor, dass die Krone des Großherzogtums an einen männlichen Nachkommen weitergegeben werden muss. Während Wilhelmine, aus der Linie Oranien-Nassau, die Thronfolge ihres Vaters in den Niederlanden antritt, geht die Krone des Großherzogtums Luxemburg an den einzigen männlichen Nachkommen des Hauses Nassau über: an Adolph von Nassau, aus der Linie Nassau-Weilburg.

1905 tritt Wilhelm IV. die Nachfolge seines verstorbenen Vaters Adolph an. Da aus der Ehe sechs Töchter hervorgingen, ahnte Wilhelm IV., dass sich bei seinem Tod ein Problem hinsichtlich der Nachfolge ergeben könnte. Daher erlässt er 1907 ein neues Hausstatut gemäß dem seine erstgeborene Tochter, Prinzessin Marie-Adélaïde, zur Thronerbin erklärt wird.

Die Herrscherjahre von Großherzogin Marie-Adélaïde

Als Wilhelm IV. 1912 stirbt tritt seine älteste Tochter Marie-Adélaïde somit die Thronfolge an. Im Gegensatz zu ihrem Vater bekräftigt sie ihr Interesse am politischen und sozialen Geschehen und mischt sich in die politischen Angelegenheiten ein. Auch wenn sie nie die von der Verfassung gegebenen Grenzen überschritten hat, zieht sie sich dennoch die Feindseligkeit der Opposition zu. Zwischen 1914 und 1918 wird Luxemburg von den deutschen Truppen besetzt. Die Großherzogin verzichtet im Interesse des Luxemburger Volkes darauf, Widerstand gegen die deutsche Kriegsmaschinerie zu leisten, was ihr viel Kritik einbrachte. Nach den revolutionären Unruhen von 1919 dankt sie zugunsten ihrer jüngeren Schwester Charlotte ab.

Die Regentschaft von Großherzogin Charlotte

Heimkehr aus dem Exil der Großherzogin Charlotte in 1945
Tony Krier / Photothèque de la Ville de Luxembourg
Die Regentschaft von Großherzogin Charlotte dauert von 1919 bis 1964. Anders wie ihre Schwester erklärt sie öffentlich, sich nicht in die politischen Geschäfte einmischen zu wollen. Die Existenz der Monarchie wurde 1919 anlässlich eines Referendums bestätigt bei dem 77,8% der Luxemburger für den Fortbestand der Dynastie stimmten. Aus ihrer Ehe mit Prinz Felix von Bourbon-Parma gehen sechs Kinder hervor, zwei Söhne und vier Mädchen.

Ihre Sternstunden kommen zwischen 1940 und 1944. Zu Beginn des Zweiten Weltkriegs marschieren die deutschen Truppen in Luxemburg ein und verletzen somit die Neutralität des Landes. Die Großherzogin begibt sich zusammen mit ihrer Familie und der Regierung ins Exil. Von Frankreich aus gelangt sie zusammen mit der Regierung über Spanien und Portugal in die USA und anschließend nach Großbritannien. Von ihrem Exil in London aus richtet sie über die Radiowellen der BBC regelmäßig Ansprachen an das Luxemburger Volk aus in denen sie zum Widerstand aufruft. Diese Radioübertragungen wurden von vielen Luxemburgern gehört trotz der drohenden schwerwiegenden Repressionen. Sie wurden zum Symbol des Widerstandes gegen die deutsche Okkupation.

Die Herrscherjahre von Großherzog Jean

1964 dankt Großherzogin Charlotte zugunsten ihres ältesten Sohnes Jean ab. Wie seine Mutter mischt auch er sich nicht in das politische Tagesgeschäft ein. Er ist Offizier des Regiments der Irish Guards dem er 1942 während des Zweiten Weltkriegs als Freiwilliger beigetreten ist. 1953 heiratet er Prinzessin Joséphine-Charlotte von Belgien. Aus dieser Verbindung gehen fünf Kinder hervor, drei Söhne und zwei Töchter. Während der 36-jährigen Regentschaft von Großherzog Jean hat Luxemburg viele gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Umwälzungen erlebt. Dazu gehört auch der Übergang von einer Industrie- und Agrarwirtschaft zu einer Dienstleistungswirtschaft.

Die Herrscherjahre von Großherzog Henri

Im Jahr 2000 dankte Großherzog Jean zugunsten seines ältesten Sohnes Henri ab womit dieser an der Spitze des Herrscherhauses Nassau-Weilburg steht. Prinz Henri hat 1981 Maria Teresa Mestre geheiratet. Aus ihrer Verbindung sind fünf Kinder hervorgegangen, wobei Erbgroßherzog Guillaume, 1981 geboren, der älteste Sohn ist. Das großherzogliche Paar hat vier weitere Kinder: Prinz Félix (1984 geboren), Prinz Louis (1986 geboren), Prinzessin Alexandra (1991 geboren) und Prinz Sébastien (1992 geboren).

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015