Emigration and immigration

Today, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is a country of immigration. This has not always been the case. Over the years, Luxembourg has been affected by various waves of emigration.

From a country of emigration...

Before the rise of the steel industry in the mid-19th century, Luxembourg was a poor and rural country. Driven by the hope of carving out a better life elsewhere, numerous inhabitants left their homeland.

A first wave of emigration took place in the 12th century to Transylvania. During the first half of the 18th century, another wave of emigration headed for Banat, a region of south-eastern Europe.

In the course of the 19h century and until the First World War, there was a strong trend in the country towards overseas emigration (USA, Brazil, Argentina, etc.). Others went to France to work as craftsmen or, in the case of young girls, as maids and house-keepers. The number of Luxembourgers who left the country between 1841 and 1891 is thought to be more than 72,000 (out of a total population of 212,800 inhabitants in 1891).

Luxembourgers migrated for economic reasons: the population increased, agricultural holdings shrank and harvests were bad. The traditional craft sector witnessed the disappearance of jobs with the emergence of large-scale industry.

Entire families and sometimes entire villages left the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg in the hope of finding a better life. Thus, there were 16,000 Luxembourg emigrants living in Chicago in 1908! Some became famous in their new homeland, such as Hugo Gernsback (1884-1967), the inventor of the term 'science fiction', or Edward Steichen, a painter and famous photographer, who became Director of the Department of Photography in the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA).

... to a country of immigration

In the 20th century, the population of Luxembourg has constantly been growing. In 100 years, it has almost doubled from about 260,000 in 1910 to over 500,000 in 2010. Today, the Grand Duchy has more than 576,000 inhabitants.

This exceptional population growth is largely due to immigration, which has always gone hand in hand with the country’s economic development. Initially, the steel sector attracted many Italians and Portuguese. Then came the French, the Belgians and the British, attracted by the tertiary sector. All this means that the country’s population now comprises more than 46% non-Luxembourg nationals.

It is the Portuguese who are the largest foreign community in the Grand Duchy, amounting to 16.2% of the total population. Next come the French (7.2%), the Italians (3.5%), the Belgians (3.4%) and the Germans (2.2%).

  • Updated 16-12-2016

Auswanderung und Einwanderung

Das Großherzogtum Luxemburg ist heute ein Einwanderungsland. Dies war jedoch nicht immer so. Im Laufe der Geschichte wurde Luxemburg von mehreren Auswanderungswellen geprägt.

Von einem Auswandererland...

Vor dem Aufschwung der Stahlindustrie, Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts, war Luxemburg ein armes, ländlich geprägtes Land. Getrieben von der Hoffnung auf ein besseres Leben in einem anderen Land verließen viele Luxemburger ihre Heimat.

Eine erste Auswanderungswelle, nach Transsylvanien, hatte schon im 12. Jahrhundert stattgefunden. Während der ersten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts, wanderten dann viele nach Banat, eine Region im Südosten Europas, aus.

Im Laufe des 19. Jahrhunderts und bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg ist Luxemburg durch eine starke Auswanderung nach Übersee gekennzeichnet (Vereinigte Staaten, Brasilien, Argentinien...). Andere gehen nach Frankreich, um dort als Handwerker oder, wie viele junge Mädchen, als Bedienstete oder Gouvernanten zu arbeiten. Die Zahl der Luxemburger die zwischen 1841 und 1891 das Land verließen, wird auf 72.000 geschätzt, wobei die Gesamtbevölkerung im Jahre 1891 212.800 Einwohner beträgt.

Die Luxemburger wandern aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen aus: die Bevölkerung nimmt zu, die landwirtschaftlichen Parzellen werden immer kleiner und die Weinlesen sind mager. Durch den Aufschwung der Großindustrie gehen im traditionnellen Handwerk Stellen verloren.

In der Hoffnung auf eine bessere Zukunft verlassen Familien, und manchmal ganze Dörfer das Großherzogtum und seine Umgebung. Im Jahre 1908 leben so beispielsweise 16.000 luxemburgische Auswanderer in der amerikanischen Stadt Chicago. Manche gelangten in ihrer neuen Heimat zum Ruhm, wie zum Beispiel Hugo Gernsback (1884-1967), der Erfinder des Begriffs "Science Fiction", oder Edward Steichen, Maler und begnadeter Fotograf, der die Leitung der Fotografieabteilung des New Yorker Museum of Modern Art (MoMa) übernahm.

... zu einem Einwanderungsland

Im 20. Jahrhundert nahm die Bevölkerung konstant zu. In 100 Jahren hat sie sich fast verdoppelt, und wuchs von 260.000 Einwohnern im Jahre 1910 auf 500.000 im Jahre 2010 an. Heutzutage zählt das Großherzogtum mehr als 576.000 Einwohner.

Diese außergewöhnliche demografische Entwicklung fußt größtenteils auf einer Einwanderung, die sich im parallel zum wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung des Landes entwickelt hat. Anfangs war es die Eisenerzindustrie die zahlreiche Italiener und Portugiesen nach Luxemburg gelockt hat. Später waren es dann Franzosen, Belgier und Briten, die von einem attraktiven Dienstleistungssektor angezogen wurden. Diese Entwicklung hat dazu geführt, dass die Bevölkerung des Landes heutzutage aus mehr als 46% Nicht-Luxemburgern besteht.

16,2% der Einwohner Luxemburgs gehören der portugiesischen Gemeinschaft an, die damit zahlenmäßig am stärksten vertreten ist. Es folgen die Franzosen (7,2%), Italiener (3,5%), Belgier (3,4%) und Deutschen (2,2%).

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 16-12-2016