Women

The proportion of women and men in the Grand Duchy's total population is more or less identical.

Life expectancy at birth for women is higher than for men (84.8 years for women compared with 80.2 years for men in 2013).

In the Grand Duchy, women marry younger than men. The average age at first marriage nevertheless continues to increase for both sexes. Most women these days marry when they are between 24 and 29 years old, whereas many men wait until they are between 30 and 34 years old.

In 2010, the number of children per woman was 1.63 and the average age of mothers at childbirth was 31.2 years. Nowadays, having one or two dependent children makes very little difference to women's participation in the labour market.

Women and employment

The proportion of women in work in the Grand Duchy has increased significantly since 1993. For women in the 25 to 49 years age bracket, the figure increased from 42.9% in 1983 to 76.5% in 2012. The gap between the figures for women and men (91.6% of men in the 25 to 49 years age bracket are in work) is one of the largest in Europe.

The proportion of women among the self-employed rose to 40% in 2008.

Part-time work remains limited almost exclusively to women. In 2010, 33.7% of women with at least one dependent child worked part-time, compared with 13.3% of those without dependent children. Because of the development of part-time work, women in the Grand Duchy are increasingly managing to combine the professional and family aspects of their lives.

The model of the 'single male breadwinner' which was very popular in the Grand Duchy in the 1980s and 1990s, is in decline.

Towards a gender balance in decision-making

Despite holding equal qualifications and their growing presence in the labour market, women in the Grand Duchy are still significantly under-represented among decision-makers in both the public and private sectors.

The proportion of female members of boards of directors, for example, is on average no more than 20%. In the civil service, although almost half of all senior civil servants in 2014 were women, only a quarter of them were in managerial posts.

The same is true in public establishments and businesses in which the State has an interest. Women are in a minority on the boards of directors of public establishments, and change is only being made very slowly.

To remedy the situation, the Luxembourg Government presented its strategy for a better gender balance in decision-making in September 2014.

International Women's Day

International Women's Day has been celebrated on 8 March each year since 1911. On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Day, on 8 March 2011, the Centre for information and documentation about women Cid-Femmes (Information and Documentations Centre about Women) launched the www.fraendag.lu website devoted to the history of the International Women's Day in the Grand Duchy.

The site offers a historic overview of this day of action at the level of the Grand Duchy, shows the progress made over these past hundred years, and presents a number of people who have been involved in the women's movement in the Grand Duchy.

  • Updated 26-11-2015

Frauen

Die Anzahl von Frauen und Männern ist in der Gesamtbevölkerung Luxemburgs ungefähr gleich hoch.

Die Lebenserwartung der Frauen ist höher als die der Männer. Im Jahr 2013 betrug die Lebenswartung der Frauen 84,8 Jahre, während die der Männer 80,2 Jahre betrug.

In Luxemburg heiraten die Frauen früher als die Männer. Allerdings steigt das Durchschnittsalter bei der ersten Eheschließung bei beiden Geschlechtern stetig an. Der Großteil der Frauen heiratet heute im Alter zwischen 25 und 29, während viele Männer zwischen 30 und 34 heiraten.

Im Jahr 2010 betrug die durchschnittliche Zahl von Geburten pro Frau 1,63 Kinder. Bei der Geburt ihres ersten Kindes war sie durchschnittlich 31,2 Jahre alt. Heute hat die Tatsache, ein oder zwei unterhaltsberechtigte Kinder zu haben, nur geringe Auswirkungen auf die Erwerbstätigkeit von Frauen.

Erwerbstätigkeit der Frauen

Die Frauenerwerbsquote ist in Luxemburg seit 1993 stark angestiegen. Bei den Frauen im Alter von 25 bis 49 stieg sie von 42,9 % im Jahre 1983 auf 76,5 % im Jahre 2012. Der Abstand zwischen der Erwerbsquote von Frauen und Männern mit einer Erwerbsquote von 91,6 % in der Altersklasse von 25 bis 49 Jahren ist einer der höchsten in Europa.

Der Anteil der als Selbstständige tätigen Frauen wuchs 2008 auf 40 %.

Darüber hinaus ist Teilzeitarbeit fast ausschließlich Frauensache. 2010 nahmen 33,7 % der Frauen mit Kindern die Möglichkeit der Teilzeitarbeit in Anspruch, was im gleichen Jahr nur bei 13,3 % der kinderlosen Frauen der Fall war. Dank der Entwicklung der Teilzeitarbeit, bringen Frauen in Luxemburg das Berufs- und Familienleben immer häufiger unter einen Hut.

Das Modell des "Single male breadwinner", das im Großherzogtum in den Achtziger- und Neunzigerjahren weit verbreitet war, ist rückläufig.

Auf dem Weg zu einem Gleichgewicht zwischen Frauen und Männern bei der Entscheidungsfindung

Die Luxemburgerinnen bleiben bei gleicher Qualifikation und trotz wachsender Präsenz auf dem Arbeitsmarkt bei den Entscheidungsträgern weitgehend unterrepräsentiert, sowohl im öffentlichen als auch im privaten Sektor.

Daher sind durchschnittlich nicht mehr als 20 % der Verwaltungsratsposten mit Frauen besetzt. Im öffentlichen Dienst hat nur ein Viertel der Frauen eine Führungsposition inne, obwohl sie 2014 praktisch die Hälfte aller Staatsbeamten des höheren/gehobenen Dienstes stellen.

Ebenso verhält es sich bei öffentlich-rechtlichen Einrichtungen oder Unternehmen mit staatlicher Beteiligung. Eine Minderheit von Frauen sitzt in den Verwaltungsräten der öffentlich-rechtlichen Einrichtungen und der Wandel geht nur langsam vonstatten.

Um etwas an dieser Situation zu ändern, hat die luxemburgische Regierung im September 2014 ihre Strategie zur Herstellung des Gleichgewichts zwischen Frauen und Männern bei der Entscheidungsfindung vorgestellt.

Internationaler Frauentag

Seit 1911 ist der 8. März der internationale Frauentag. Anlässlich des 100. internationalen Frauentags am 8. März 2011 hat das Fraueninformations- und -dokumentationszentrum Cid-Femmes (Centre d'information et de documentation sur les femmes) die Internetseite www.fraendag.lu ins Leben gerufen, die diesem internationalen Jahrestag in Luxemburg gewidmet ist.

Die Internetseite bietet einen historischen Abriss dieses Aktionstages in Luxemburg, zeigt die im Laufe der letzten 100 Jahre erzielten Fortschritte und stellt Persönlichkeiten vor, die sich in der Luxemburger Frauenbewegung engagiert haben.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 26-11-2015