Population

Luxembourg's population counts about 576,200 residents (as of 1 January 2016). Among them, 307,000 are Luxembourgers and 269,000 have a foreign nationality — they represent by themselves 46.7% of the entire population. In the capital, this percentage exceeds 69%!

On workdays, 174,684 cross-border workers from France, Belgium and Germany joining Luxembourg's workforce add to this number (2016 figures). Luxembourg can therefore be considered as a pole of attraction for workers from the Greater Region.

So, today the country is an immigration hub, but this has not always been the case. Successive waves of emigration have driven Luxembourgers to Romania, France and the Americas, fleeing from poverty, armed conflicts and lack of economic perspectives. Emigration then turned into immigration in the 20th century, fueled by the development of the steel industry in the 19th and 20th centuries. All of this has contributed to making Luxembourgish society diverse, multicultural and multi-ethnic, proof that exchange between cultures is a foundation of a country's prosperity.

The consequence of Luxembourg's comparatively high standard of living is not only an excellent quality of life — as confirmed regularly by international studies — but also a life expectancy at birth which increases. Moreover, an excellent social security coverage, parent-friendly policies and an open, dynamic and emerging technology-oriented employment market allow the majority of Luxembourg's population to join the workforce to actively contribute to maintaining this standard of life.

  • Updated 28-02-2017

Bevölkerung

Die Bevölkerung Luxemburgers beträgt 590.667 Einwohner (Stand 1. Januar 2017). 308.919 von ihnen sind Luxemburger, während 281.748 einen ausländischen Pass besitzen — letztere Gruppe macht 47,7% der Gesamtbevölkerung aus. In der Hauptstadt beträgt dieser Anteil sogar mehr als 69%.

Hinzu gesellen sich an den Werktagen 174.684 Grenzgänger aus Frankreich, Belgien und Deutschland, die ihren Anteil an der luxemburgischen Wirtschaftsleistung haben (Zahlen von 2016). Luxemburg gilt also zu Recht als Anziehungspunkt für Arbeitnehmer aus der gesamten Großregion.

Heute ist Luxemburg ein Einwanderungsland, was aber nicht immer der Fall war. Geprägt wurde das Land in früheren Zeiten durch mehrere aufeinanderfolgende Auswanderungswellen nach Rumänien, Frankreich und Nord- und Südamerika, ausgelöst durch die Verarmung weiter Bevölkerungsteile, bewaffnete Konflikte und mangelnde wirtschaftliche Perspektiven. Gestoppt wurde dieser Trend erst im aufkommenden 20. Jahrhundert, als im Gefolge der boomenden Eisen- und Stahlindustrie die ersten großen Einwanderungswellen zu verzeichnen waren. All das hat der luxemburgischen Gesellschaft zu ihrem vielfältigen, multikulturellen und multiethnischen Charakter verholfen, und es zeigt, dass der Wohlstand des Landes auch auf dem kulturellen Austausch beruht.

Der erhöhte Lebensstandard in Luxemburg bringt neben einer ausgezeichneten Lebensqualität auch eine steigende Lebenserwartung mit sich, wie internationale Studien belegen. Auch dank guter Sozialleistungen, einer familienfreundlichen Politik und eines offenen, dynamischen und auf neue Technologien setzenden Arbeitsmarkts kann die Bevölkerung maßgeblich am luxemburgischen Arbeitsmarkt teilnehmen und so aktiv zum Erhalt dieses hohen Standards beitragen.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 08-05-2017