Religious Communities

Catholic Church

The Catholic Church plays a fundamental role in the religious life of Luxembourgers, since the vast majority of the population belong to this religion. It has been firmly rooted in the culture of the country for over 1,500 years.

In 1840, after having been divided for centuries among a number of neighbouring dioceses, the Catholic Church in Luxembourg became an independent apostolic vicariate, in 1870 a diocese and an archdiocese in 1988. In 1985, His Holiness Pope John Paul II visited the Christians of Luxembourg.

The main Catholic places of pilgrimage are:

Protestant Church

The Luxembourg Protestant Church was founded in 1952, when the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was set up in Luxembourg. Today, the Protestant church has several hundred members, mostly German-speaking. There are also three foreign Protestant communities in Luxembourg.

Anglican Church

With a British community of about 5,000 living in Luxembourg, on 27 January 2003 the Luxembourg Government signed an agreement with the Anglican Church, determining the number of its ministers, who are financed by the State.

Orthodox Churches

So far as concerns the Orthodox Churches, in 2003 the Luxembourg government extended its agreement with the Greek Orthodox Church, dating from 1997, to the Romanian Orthodox Church and the Serbian Orthodox Church. The Convention provides for the assumption by the Luxembourg State of responsibility for the remuneration of a priest for each religious group. A Russian Orthodox parish can also be found in Luxembourg.

Jewish Community

The Luxembourg Jewish community has about a thousand members, that is to say between 300 and 350 families. The first traces of Jews in Luxembourg date back to the Middle Ages. In 1894 the big synagogue in rue Aldringen, Luxembourg, was built. The building, surmounted by three domes, was closed, then destroyed, by German occupiers in 1941. It was not until 1953 and 1954 that two new synagogues were inaugurated, in Avenue Monterey, Luxembourg, and rue du Canal, Esch-sur-Alzette.

Muslim Community

Since 1992, the Muslim community of the Grand Duchy, then composed of people from Arabic-speaking countries and Iran and Pakistan, has increased dramatically as a result of intense immigration associated with the Balkan wars.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Religiöse Gemeinschaften

Die katholische Kirche

Die katholische Kirche spielt eine fundamentale Rolle im religiösen Leben der Luxemburger, da die überwiegende Mehrheit der Bevölkerung dieser Religion angehört. Der Katholizismus ist seit über 1.500 Jahren fest mit der Kultur des Landes verwurzelt.

Im Jahre 1840 wurde Luxemburg ein unabhängiges apostolisches Vikariat, nachdem das Land über Jahrhunderte hinweg benachbarten Diözesen zugeteilt war. 1870 wurde Luxemburg zur Diözese, 1988 dann Erzdiözese. Im Jahr 1985 besuchte Seine Heiligkeit Papst Johannes Paul II die Christen von Luxemburg.

Die wichtigsten katholischen Wallfahrtsorte sind:

Die protestantische Kirche

Die protestantische Kirche Luxemburgs wurde 1952 ins Leben gerufen, anlässlich der Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl (EGKS) in Luxemburg. Heutzutage zählt die protestantische Kirche mehrere hundert, hauptsächlich deutschsprachige, Mitglieder. Des weiteren gibt es in Luxemburg unter anderem drei ausländische protestantische Gemeinden.

Die anglikanische Kirche

In Luxemburg leben etwa 5.000 Briten. Grund genug für die Regierung, am 27. Januar 2003 eine Konvention mit der anglikanischen Kirche zu unterzeichnen, die die Anzahl der vom Staat zu übernehmenden Priestergehälter festlegt.

Die orthodoxen Kirchen

Was die orthodoxen Kirchen angeht, so hat die luxemburgische Regierung 2003 die Konvention mit der griechisch-orthodoxen Kirche aus dem Jahre 1997 auf die rumänisch-orthodoxe und die serbisch-orthodoxe Kirchen erweitert. Die Konvention sieht vor, dass der luxemburgische Staat die Vergütung eines Priesters pro Kultus übernimmt. In Luxemburg gibt es ebenfalls eine russisch-orthodoxe Kirchengemeinde.

Jüdische Gemeinde

Die jüdische Gemeinde Luxemburgs zählt etwa tausend Mitglieder, also zwischen 300 und 350 Familien. Die ersten Spuren der Juden in Luxemburg führen zurück ins Mittelalter. 1894 wurde in der rue Aldringen die große Synagoge von Luxemburg errichtet. Das Gebäude, das von drei Kuppeln überragt war, wurde von den deutschen Besatzern zuerst geschlossen und dann im Jahr 1941 zerstört. Erst in den Jahren 1953 und 1954 wurden zwei neue Synagogen eingeweiht: in der avenue Monterey in Luxemburg, sowie in der Kanalstraße (rue du Canal) in Esch an der Alzette.

Die muslimische Gemeinschaft

Seit 1992 hat die muslimische Gemeinde Luxemburgs einen starken Zuwachs erlebt, was in erster Linie mit der starken Einwanderung infolge der Balkankriege zusammenhing. Davor hatte die muslimische Gemeinde vor allem aus Gläubigen aus der arabischen Welt, Iran und Pakistan bestanden.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015