Religious Heritage

In Luxembourg, Catholicism is predominant. The regions of the present Grand Duchy of Luxembourg were evangelised from the 4th century onwards by missionaries coming from the town of Trier (Germany).

Among the most important religious centres of the country are Echternach and Luxembourg. The main religious buildings, the Saint Willibrord Basilica in Echternach and the Notre-Dame Cathedral in Luxembourg, are also the main destinations of pilgrimage in Luxembourg, with the Echternach dancing procession, the so-called Sprangprëssessioun, and the Oktav in Luxembourg.

Luxembourg

In Luxembourg City, the Cathedral Notre-Dame of Luxembourg was built between 1613 and 1621 by Jesuits to serve as a chapel for the adjoining school (today the National Library). The Northern portico is a typical example of the half-Renaissance, half-Baroque style of that period. Since 1794, it has housed the statue of Mary, the Consoler of the Afflicted. Having become a Cathedral in 1870, the building was enlarged from 1935 to 1938. The crypt is the resting place for John the Blind, King of Bohemia and Count of Luxembourg, as well as for the members of the grand ducal family.

The Oktav pilgrimage to the statue of the Consoler of the Afflicted takes place every year in May and is one of the pillars of the public manifestation of faith in Luxembourg.

Echternach

It was in the year 698 that the settlement of Echternach started to expand thanks to the efforts of the Anglo-Saxon monk Willibrord (658-739). The Basilica of St. Willibrord, whose present form dates from the 11th and 13th centuries, was heavily damaged during the Second World War and was partially rebuilt in Neo-Romanesque style. The crypt dates from the Carolingian period and still shows remains of frescos. It houses a sumptuous sarcophagus in white marble, containing the mortal remains of St. Willibrord.

The historical centre of the town and, more particularly, the basilica, are the background to the Hopping Procession on Whitsun Tuesday. The basilica is also one of the main concert venues of the Echternach International Festival.

The rest of the country

The most beautiful baroque churches are in Koerich, in the west, and in Junglinster, in the east of the country.

Another gem is the Saint Willibrord church in Rindschleiden, in the Ardennes region. Particularly noteworthy are its beautiful frescos, dating from the middle of the 15th and 16th centuries, covering an area of 170 square meters.

  • Updated 14-09-2017

Religiöses Erbe

Der katholische Glaube ist die vorherrschende religiöse Richtung in Luxemburg. Die Gegenden rund um das heutige Großherzogtum Luxemburg wurden ab dem 4. Jahrhundert von Missionaren aus der Stadt Trier zum Christentum bekehrt.

Zu den wichtigsten religiösen Zentren des Landes zählen Echternach und Luxemburg. Ihre bedeutendsten Sakralbauten - die Sankt-Willibrord-Basilika in Echternach und die Kathedrale Notre-Dame in Luxemburg-Stadt - sind zugleich die wichtigsten Pilgerstätten Luxemburgs, Veranstaltungsorte der Echternacher Springprozession bzw. der Oktave in Luxemburg-Stadt.

Luxemburg

Die Kathedrale unserer Lieben Frau von Luxemburg (Cathédrale Notre-Dame) wurde zwischen 1613 und 1621 von den Jesuiten erbaut. Ursprünglich fungierte sie als Kirche für das Gymnasium, in dem heute die Nationalbibliothek untergebracht ist. Das Nordportal ist ein typisches Merkmal der damals gebräuchlichen Stilmischung aus Renaissance und Barock. Die Kirche beherbergt seit 1794 die Statue der Trösterin der Betrübten. Zur Kathedrale erhoben wurde sie im Jahr 1870; in den Jahren 1935 bis 1938 erfolgte ein bedeutender Ausbau. Die Krypta dient als Ruhestätte für Johann den Blinden, König von Böhmen und Graf von Luxemburg, sowie für die verstorbenen Mitglieder der großherzoglichen Familie.

Die Oktav, die alljährlich im Mai stattfindende Pilgerfahrt zur Statue der Trösterin der Betrübten, ist ein grundlegender Bestandteil des luxemburgischen Volksglaubens.

Echternach

Echternach gewann ab 698 dank des angelsächsischen Mönchs Willibrord (658 bis 739) stetig an Bedeutung. Die Sankt-Willibrord-Basilika, die ihr aktuelles Erscheinungsbild im 11. und 13. Jahrhundert erhielt, wurde im Zweiten Weltkrieg schwer beschädigt und danach teils im neoromanischen Stil neu errichtet. Die Krypta stammt aus der Karolingerzeit und weist Freskenüberreste auf. Sie beherbergt den prächtigen weißen Marmorsarkophag mit den sterblichen Überresten des heiligen Willibrord.

Der historische Stadtkern und vor allem die Basilika bilden den Rahmen für die am Pfingstdienstag stattfindende Springprozession. Die Basilika fungiert auch beim Internationalen Festival Echternach als einer der Hauptveranstaltungsorte.

Übriges Land

Die schönsten Barockkirchen des Landes befinden sich in Koerich im Westen bzw. in Junglinster im Osten des Landes.

Ein weiteres Kleinod ist die Sankt-Willibrord-Kirche im Ardennendorf Rindschleiden. Bemerkenswert sind vor allem ihre wundervollen Fresken, die aus dem 15. und 16. Jahrhundert stammen und die eine Fläche von 170 Quadratmetern einnehmen.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 14-09-2017