Political parties

History

From the start of the 20th century, political interest groups constitute themselves: the Social Democratic Party (Sozialdemokratesch Partei, 1902) and the Liberal League (Liberal Liga, 1904), followed by the Party of the Right (Rietspartei, 1914) were the first Luxembourgish political parties.

These parties are the respective predecessors of the currently largest political parties in Luxembourg: the Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party (Lëtzebuerger Sozialistesch Aarbechterpartei, LSAP), the Democratic Party (Demokratesch Partei, DP) and the Christian Social People's Party (Chrëschtlech Sozial Vollekspartei, CSV). Since the 1950s, the parties making up the respective coalition governments have been hailing from this group of parties, except for the 2013 coalition government, which also includes the Green Party (déi gréng).

Party politics today

The law of 21 December 2007 regulating party financing gives the definition of a political party or group. In the confines of this law, a political party or group is an association of natural persons, with or without a legal personality, which is involved, in accordance with the fundamental principles of democracy, in the expression of universal suffrage and the popular will in the manner set our in its statutes or programme. In order to create a better balance between men and women in decision-making, the law was amended in December 2016 to provide that the amount awarded to a political party may be decreased in increments, if the number of candidates of the under-represented gender on the list remains below certain thresholds.

Today, about a dozen political parties are active in Luxembourg. The current coalition government is made up of three parties. In total, six parties have been represented at the Chamber of Deputies since the parliamentary elections of 2013.

The landscape of political parties is quite stable. However, in the run-up to legislative elections it is not uncommon for political groups with agendas diverging from the established parties to constitute themselves. However, their success has so far remained rather limited.

Here is a list of political parties arranged alphabetically:

Alternativ Demokratesch Reformpartei – ADR

adr.lu (Alternative Democratic Reform Party)

Chrëschtlech-Sozial Vollekspartei – CSV

csv.lu (Christian Social People's Party)

déi gréng

www.greng.lu (The Green Party)

Déi Konservativ

déikonservativ.lu (The Conservatives)

déi Lénk

www.dei-lenk.lu (The Left)

Demokratesch Partei – DP

www.dp.lu (Democratic Party)

Fräi Sozial Partei

fsapartei.com (Free Social Alternative) 

FRÄI WIELER

www.biergerlescht.lu (Free Constituents)

Kommunistesch Partei Lëtzebuerg – KPL

www.kp-l.org (Communist Party Luxembourg)

Lëtzebuerger Sozialistesch Aarbechterpartei – LSAP

www.lsap.lu (Luxembourg Socialist Workers' party)

Partei fir Integral Demokratie – PID

pid4you.lu (Party for Integral Democracy)

Piratepartei

www.piraten.lu (Pirate Party)

Sozialliberal Partei Lëtzebuerg

www.sozialliberal.lu (Parti social libéral Luxembourg)

  • Updated 07-09-2018

Politische Parteien

Geschichtlicher Überblick

Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts bildeten sich die ersten politischen Vereinigungen: Die Sozialdemokratische Partei (1902), die Liberale Liga (1904) und die Rechtspartei (1914) waren die ersten politischen Parteien in Luxemburg.

Sie waren die jeweiligen Vorgängerorganisationen der drei aktuell größten luxemburgischen Parteien: Nämlich der Luxemburger Sozialistischen Arbeiterpartei (Lëtzebuerger Sozialistesch Aarbechterpartei – LSAP), der Demokratischen Partei (Demokratesch Partei – DP) und der Christlich-Sozialen Volkspartei (Chrëschtlech Sozial Vollekspartei – CSV). Seit den 1950er Jahren wurden die jeweiligen Regierungskoalitionen grundsätzlich aus diesen drei Parteien gebildet, wobei sich aber an der seit 2013 bestehenden Koalition neben DP und LSAP auch die Grünen (déi Gréng) beteiligen.

Die politischen Parteien heute

Die Definition einer Partei oder politischen Gruppierung wurde per Gesetz vom 21. Dezember 2007 (Regelung der Parteienfinanzierung) festgelegt. Gemäß dieses Gesetzes handelt es sich bei einer Partei oder politischen Gruppierung um eine Vereinigung natürlicher Personen. Diese Vereinigung kann (muss aber nicht zwingend) eine Rechtspersönlichkeit haben. Sie achtet die Grundsätze der Demokratie und trägt gemäß ihren Statuten oder ihres Programms zum Ausdruck des allgemeinen Wahlrechts und des Bevölkerungswillens bei. Um das Gleichgewicht zwischen Mann und Frau in der Politik zu stärken wurde das Gesetz, im Dezember 2016, dahingehend abgeändert, dass die Summe der Zuwendungen des Staates an die politischen Parteien partiell gekürzt werden können, wenn die Anzahl der Kandidaten des unterrepräsentierten Geschlechts unter einer gewissen Schwelle liegt.

Heute sind etwa ein Dutzend Parteien in Luxemburg tätig. Die aktuelle Regierungskoalition besteht aus drei Parteien. Seit den Parlamentswahlen von 2013 sind insgesamt sechs Parteien in der Chambre des députés (Abgeordnetenkammer) vertreten.

Die politische Parteienlandschaft kennzeichnet sich durch eine gewisse Konstanz. Vor Parlamentswahlen kommt es allerdings nicht selten zur Bildung unabhängiger Parteien, deren politische Agenda sich von der Programmatik der großen Parteien absetzt. Der Erfolg dieser Neubildungen war bislang allerdings eher gering.

Nachfolgend eine Liste der politischen Parteien in alphabetischer Reihenfolge:

Alternativ Demokratesch Reformpartei – ADR

adr.lu (Alternative Demokratische Reformpartei)

Chrëschtlech Sozial Vollekspartei – CSV

csv.lu (Christlich-Soziale Volkspartei)

déi gréng

www.greng.lu (Die Grünen)

Déi Konservativ

déikonservativ.lu (Die Konservativen)

Déi Lénk

http://www.dei-lenk.lu (Die Linke)

Demokratesch Partei – DP

www.dp.lu (Demokratische Partei)

Kommunistesch Partei Lëtzebuerg – KPL

www.kp-l.org (Kommunistische Partei Luxemburg)

Lëtzebuerger Sozialistesch Aarbechterpartei – LSAP

www.lsap.lu (Luxemburger Sozialistische Arbeiterpartei)

Partei fir Integral Demokratie – PID

pid4you.lu (Partei für Integrale Demokatie)

Piratepartei

www.piraten.lu (Piratenpartei)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 03-04-2017