Top 10 tourist hotspots

Luxembourg's 10 most popular tourist hotspots
The Butterfly Garden in Grevenmacher counted some 37,000 visitors in 2016 and ranks 10th of the most visited tourist hotspots in Luxembourg. The garden counts dozens of different types of butterflies. For the pleasure of big and small, they fly freely through the garden.

© Päiperleksgaart
The Hop on-Hop off buses ferried some 50,000 tourists across Luxembourg City in 2016. Tours start and end at the Place de la Constitution in the city centre and can drop you off and pick you up at a large number of stops all over Luxembourg City. An audio guide in 8 languages and breathtaking views will reward you if you choose this way of discovering Luxembourg City.

© SIP
The National Museum of History and Art (MNHA) counted some 64,000 visitors in 2016 and thus ranks 8th. The route of the museum display spreads over ten levels. From the depths of prehistory to the most recent artistic experiments, the visitor climbs from floor to floor as if walking through the corridors of time.

© MNHA / Tom Lucas
In 1994, a splendid mosaic from the 3rd century AD, part of a large Roman villa, was discovered in the village of Vichten. It was transported to the MNHA and painstakingly restored. The mosaic is in an exceptionally good condition.

© Guy Hoffmann / SIP
With 82,000 visitors in 2016, the chairlift in Vianden ranks 7th. This spectacular mode of transportation takes the passengers from Vianden up to a neighbouring hill, over the river Our.

© Legrand
The chairlift starts in the valley at 220 metres over sealevel to rise to 440 metres. From this vantage point you'll enjoy a fantastic panoramic view over Vianden, the castle and the reservoir.

© Legrand
The Museum of Modern Art Grand Duke Jean (MUDAM) comes in 6th place, with some 97,0000 visitors in 2016. The building was designed by renowned Chinese architect Ieoh Ming Pei, who also designed the pyramid the the courtyard of the Louvre in Paris, among others. The hypermodern building is grafted onto the remains of 18th century Fort Thüngen, which was part of the belt of forts surrounding the fortress of Luxembourg.

© SIP
The MUDAM Collection bears witness to a particular interest in artworks anchored in the contemporary world regardless of the techniques employed (painting, sculpture, photo, installation, video...). The collection is devoted to international artworks as well as to local productions. Luxembourgish artists make up around ten per cent of artists in the collection.

© SIP / Zineb Ruppert
With some 105,000 visitors in 2016, the Mullerthal Trail has a confirmed following among hikers. On a length of 112 km, the Mullerthal Trail passes through all the natural particularities of the Mullerthal Region – Luxembourg's Little Switzerland. In 2014, the Mullerthal Trail received the label 'Leading Quality Trails - Best of Europe'.

© SIP
The Schiessentümpel is one of the Mullerthal's most beautiful and popular spots. The waters of the Black Ernz flow under the bridge and over three small waterfalls. The lovely stone bridge and the impressive rocks turn it into one of the most popular excursion spots in the region.

© SIP
In 2016, some 130,000 visitors descended into the bowels of Luxembourg City in order to explore the ancient network of the casemates. Thus, this attraction comes in 4th place. The casemates of the fortress of Luxembours consist of some 23 kilometres of underground caverns.

© SIP / Christof Weber
The network was continuously dug and extended over centuries. Some of these casemates, such as those in the Bock promontory, could protect a garrison. Others linked outlying forts to the city centre. A number of the casemates are open for visits or guided tours.

© Yves Welter
With 171,722 visitors in 2016, Vianden castle comes in 3rd place in our ranking of Luxembourg's most popular tourist attractions. The renovated castle radiated the splendor of one of the largest and most beautiful feudal residences of the romanesque and gothic periods in Europe.

© Raymond Clement/Naturpark Our
Perched on top of a hill, the castle allow a spectacular view over the Luxembourg Oesling and the German Eifel regions. The castle is open for visits all year round, but it is mostly during summer when hikers and tourists wonder at the castle at the charming village it overlooks.

© MECO, LFF, CC et al. / Géry Oth
222,839 visitors - that's how many people have let themselves be enchanted by the Fairy Tale Parc in Bettembourg in 2016. Open between April and October, the parc has a host of attractions for big and small, among them a large number of well-equipped playgrounds.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
The parc has its name from a number of small cottages in which fairy tale stories are told in a number of languages while being illustrated by moving puppets.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
The Fairy Tale Parc in the only animal parc in Luxembourg. Some 200 species from 5 continents live here. Some animals can also be fed with a special food which can be bought in the parc's shop. A petting zoo with goats, as well as special structures for certain species complete the spacious outer compounds.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
With 273,480 visitors in 2016, guided tours in Luxembourg City have been the most successful tourist attraction in Luxembourg. The Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) organises guided tours to your liking, be it for bigger groups or individuals, and fitted to your interests. Moreover, the 'Green Jackets' are there to answer all of your questions about Luxembourg City and its tourist gems. You'll meet them everywhere in the city centre during the summer months.

© LCTO
The city centre is where a number of Luxembourg City's tourist gems are located, such as the Grand Ducal Palace or the Bock Casemates. However, it's also a convivial meeting place. The Place d'Armes, with its cafes and restaurants, located in the middle of the shopping streets, is an ideal meeting place, during the day as well as at night.

© SIP
Luxembourg City is much more than the city centre. Visit the other picturesque districts or take a stroll in one of the parks which surround the centre and discover the city's other sides. Cultural offers, such as Neumünster Abbey in the Gund district, invite you to listen to a concert, visit an exhibition or simply explore the surrounding area, which always lead you to enchanted spots.

© LCTO
  • Updated 09-08-2017

Top 10 Touristenattraktionen

Die 10 beliebtesten Touristenziele in Luxemburg
Der Schmetterlingsgarten in Grevenmacher zählte 37.000 Besucher 2016 und eröffnet unsere Top10 der beliebtesten Touristenattraktionen auf der Position 10. Der Garten zählt Dutzende Typen Schmetterlinge. Zum großen Vergnügen von Groß und Klein fliegen die Schmetterlingen frei durch den Garten.

© Päiperleksgaart
Hop on-Hop off Busse kutschierte 2016 fast 50.000 Touristen durch Luxemburg-Stadt. Die Touren beginnen und enden an der Place de la Constitution. Die Busse halten außerdem an vielen weiteren Orten in der Stadt Luxemburg. Ein Audioguide in 8 Sprachen und atemberaubende Aussichten erwarten Sie, wenn Sie dieses Fortbewegungsmittel benutzen, um Luxemburg-Stadt zu erkunden.

© SIP
Das Nationale Museum für Geschichte und Kunst zog 2016 etwa 64.000 Besucher in seinen Bann und kommt damit auf Rang 8. Das Museum erstreckt sich auf zehn Niveaus. Von der Vorgeschichte bis hin zu den neuesten Kunstexperimenten entdeckt der Besucher, indem er von Etage zu Etage steigt, die großen Abschnitte der Geschichte.

© MNHA / Tom Lucas
1994 wurde in Vichten ein prächtiges Mosaik aus dem 3. Jahrhundert AD entdeckt, welches Teil einer großen römischen Villa war. Das Mosaik wurde zum MNHA transportiert und dort Stück für Stück restauriert. Das Mosaik ist außergewöhnlich gut erhalten.

© Guy Hoffmann / SIP
Mit 82.000 Besuchern 2016 kommt der Sessellift in Vianden an 7. Stelle in unserem Ranking. Dieses Fortbewegungsmittel transportiert die Passagiere von der Stadt Vianden bis zum Gipfel eines benachbarten Hügels, über den Fluss Our.

© Legrand
Der Sessellift führt aus dem in 220m gelegenem Tal in eine Höhe von 440m. Von dort aus profitiert man von einen wunderschönen Panoramablick über die gesamte Stadt, einschließlich des Schlosses und des Staudamms.

© Legrand
Das Museum für Moderne Kunst Großherzog Jean (MUDAM) ist auf dem 6. Platz, mit etwa 97.000 Besuchern 2016. Das Gebäude entspringt der Feder des bekannten chinesischen Architekten Ieoh Ming Pei, der u.a. die Pyramide im Hof des Louvre in Paris schuf. Das hypermoderne Gebäude steht auf den Überresten des Forts Thüngen aus dem 18. Jahrhundert, welches ein Teil des befestigten Gürtels um die Festungsstadt Luxemburg war.

© SIP
Die MUDAM Sammlung widmet sich Werken, die in der heutigen Welt verankert sind, unabhängig von der jeweils verwendeten Technik (Malerei, Bildhauerei, Fotografie, Installation, Video…). In der Sammlung finden sich sowohl internationale Werke als auch Arbeiten einheimischer Künstler – etwa zehn Prozent der in der Sammlung vertretenen Künstler kommen aus Luxemburg.

© SIP / Zineb Ruppert
Mit etwa 105.000 Besuchern 2016 erfreut der Mullerthal Trail sich großer Beliebtheit bei Wanderern. Der Mullerthal Trail führt auf einer Länge von 112 km durch alle landschaftlichen Besonderheiten der Region Müllerthal – Kleine Luxemburger Schweiz. Der Mullerthal Trail ist seit 2014 mit dem Label "Leading Quality Trails - Best of Europe" ausgezeichnet.

© SIP

© SIP
2016 stiegen rund 130.000 Besucher hinab in die Unterwelt der Stadt Luxemburg um das Netzwerk der Kasematten zu erkunden. Somit kann diese Attraktion Rang 4 für sich beanspruchen. Die Kasematten der Festung Luxemburg bestehen aus einem Netz an unterirdischen Galerien, welches sich über 23 Kilometer erstreckt.

© SIP / Christof Weber
Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte gegraben und erweitert konnten einige dieser Kasematten, wie die Bock-Kasematten, eine Garnison schützen. Andere verbanden außenliegende Forts mit dem Stadtzentrum. Einige können frei oder mit Führungen besichtigt werden.

© Yves Welter
Mit 171.722 Besuchern 2016 kommt das Schloß Vianden auf den 3. Platz der beliebtesten Touristenattraktionen in Luxemburg. Das komplett renovierte Schloß strahlt den Glanz einer der grössten und schönsten feudalen Residenzen der romanischen und gotischen Zeit in Europa aus.

© Raymond Clement/Naturpark Our
Auf dem Rücken eines Hügels sitzend erlaubt das Schloß ein Panorama welches die luxemburgische Oesling- und die deutsche Eifelregion umschließt. Das Schloß kann das ganze Jahr über besichtigt werden, aber vor allem während der Sommermonate lassen sich Wanderer und Touristen vom Schloß und dem charmanten Dorf verzaubern, über welches dieses wacht.

© MECO, LFF, CC et al. / Géry Oth
222.839 Besucher - so viele Personen haben sich 2016 vom Märchenpark Bettembourg in seinen Bann ziehen lassen. Zwischen April und Oktober bietet der Park eine große Anzahl an Attraktionen für Groß und Klein, darunter mehrere große Spielplätze.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
Der Park hat seinen Namen von kleinen Häuschen die im Park stehen, und in denen Märchen in mehreren Sprachen erzählt werden, untermalt von beweglichen Marionetten.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
Der Parc Merveilleux ist der einzige Tierpark Luxemburgs. Fast 200 Tierarten aus 5 Kontinenten leben hier. Einige Tiere dürfen auch gefüttert werden, mit einer speziellen, im Laden des Parks erhältlichen Nahrung. Ein Streichelzoo mit Ziegen und besondere Häuser für einige Tierarten runden das bestehende Angebot mit großzügigen Außengehegen ab.

© Parc merveilleux Bettembourg
Mit 273.480 Besuchern 2016 sind die geführten Besichtigungen in Luxemburg-Stadt die beliebteste Touristenattraktion in Luxemburg. Das Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) bietet geführte Besichtigungen nach Maß an, von großen Gruppen, bis hin zu Einzelpersonen, je nach Interessen. Die bekannten "Green Jackets" hingegen sind da um Ihnen Fragen über Luxemburg-Stadt und seine vielen interessanten Orte zu beantworten. Man findet sie überall im Stadtzentrum in den Sommermonaten.

© LCTO
Im Stadtzentrum befinden sich einige der schönsten touristischen Attraktionen, wie z.B. das großherzogliche Palais oder die Bock-Kasematten. Das Zentrum ist allerdings auch ein beliebter Ort um sich zu treffen. Die Place d'Armes, mit ihren Cafes und Restaurants, befindet sich außerdem inmitten der Einkaufsstraßen - ein idealer Platz um sich zu treffen, am Tag wie auch nachts.

© SIP
Luxemburg-Stadt hat mehr zu bieten als nur das Stadtzentrum. Steigen Sie hinab in malerische Stadtteile oder spazieren Sie durch die Parkanlagen die das Stadtzentrum umgeben um die anderen Seiten der Stadt zu entdecken. Kulturelle Angebote, wie hier die Abtei Neumünster im Stadtteil Grund, laden Sie zu Konzerten oder Ausstellungen ein - alternativ können Sie auch einfach die Umgebung erkunden, was sie jedes Mal an malerische Orte führen wird.

© LCTO
  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 09-08-2017