Languages at work

The linguistic situation in Luxembourg is complex. The three languages used in daily life are Luxembourgish, German and French. In the world of work, depending on the origin or nationality of the company, the working language may be Luxembourgish, French, German, English or even Portuguese. French and English predominate, especially in the services sector.

Since the working population is mostly made up of foreign residents and French, Belgian and German cross-border commuters, French is the main vernacular language, followed by Lëtzebuergesch, German, English and Portuguese.

French is used particularly in trade, hotels, restaurants and cafes, mainly in the capital and surrounding area. The north of the country is the exception to the rule as it is the only region where Luxembourgish is more widespread than French.

Les langues parlées au travail, à l'école et/ou à la maison (The languages spoken at work, at school and/or at home) was the subject of a study published by STATEC in 2013, following the 2011 population census. The study showed that 70.5% of the population use Luxembourgish at work, at school and/or in the home, 55.7% use French, and 30.6% German. On average, 2.2 languages are used.

According to a study by the University of Luxembourg in 2010, French is the language most asked for in job vacancies advertised in the Grand Duchy. Luxembourgish is an essential requirement in nearly 45% of the vacancies advertised.

English is the lingua franca of the large international community working at the European institutions and of people employed in the banking and industrial sectors. English has become the language for business and finance, and it is very frequently used at meetings among people of different nationalities.

Because the community of Portuguese immigrants is so large, they often use their mother tongue in the workplace (especially in the construction, hospitality and cleaning industries) as well as during their leisure time (clubs, societies, cafes, etc.).

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Sprachen im Job

Die Sprachsituation in Luxemburg ist komplex. Im Alltag werden drei Sprachen benutzt: Luxemburgisch, Deutsch und Französisch. Am Arbeitssplatz wird, je nach Herkunft oder Nationalität des Unternehmens, Luxemburgisch, Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch oder Portugiesisch gesprochen. Französisch und Englisch überwiegen aber insgesamt, vor allem im Dienstleitungssektor.

Da die erwerbstätige Bevölkerung mehrheitlich aus Nicht-Luxemburgern – in Luxemburg lebenden Ausländern und Grenzgängern aus Frankreich, Belgien und Deutschland – besteht, ist die wichtigste Verkehrssprache Französisch, gefolgt von Luxemburgisch, Deutsch, Englisch und Portugiesisch.

Französisch wird vor allem im Handelssektor sowie im Hotel- und Gaststättengewerbe gesprochen, und zwar hauptsächlich in der Hauptstadt und Umgebung. Der Norden des Landes stellt eine Ausnahme dar, insofern als dies die einzige Region des Landes ist, wo mehr Luxemburgisch als Französisch gesprochen wird.

Les langues parlées au travail, à l'école et/ou à la maison (Der Sprachgebrauch auf der Arbeit, in der Schule und/oder zuhause): so ist eine Studie überschrieben die das Statec 2013, aufbauend auf den Resultaten der Volkszählung 2011, veröffentlicht hat. Dabei ist heraus gekommen, dass 70,5% der Bevölkerung bei der Arbeit, in der Schule und/oder zuhause Luxemburgisch sprechen, während Französisch von 55,7% gesprochen wird und Deutsch von 30,6%. Durchschnittlich werden 2,2 Sprachen im Alltag gesprochen.

Laut einer Studie der Universität Luxemburg (2010), ist Französisch die Sprache, die in Stellenanzeigen am meisten gefragt ist. Luxemburgisch obligatorisch zu beherrschen wird nur in 45% der Stellenanzeigen gefordert.

Englisch ist die Verkehrssprache der großen ausländischen Gemeinschaft, die bei den europäischen Institutionen, im Bankensektor und in der Industrie beschäftigt ist. Englisch hat sich zur am meisten gesprochenen Sprache im Wirtschafts- und Finanzsektor entwickelt und wird prinzipell in Sitzungen gesprochen, bei denen Menschen verschiedener Nationalitäten zusammensitzen.

Angesichts der großen portugiesischen Einwanderergemeinschaft verwenden die Portugiesen ihre Muttersprache häufig sowohl am Arbeitsplatz (vor allem im Bausektor sowie im Hotel-, Gaststätten- und Reinigungsgewerbe) als auch in der Freizeit (Vereine, Vereinigungen, Lokale …).

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015