Luxembourg job market

The Luxembourg job market is characterised by an international and multicultural working environment, an exceptional level of foreign and multilingual workforce, predominance of the service sector and an unemployment rate lower than the European average.

The Luxembourg job market in a few words

  • Twice as many jobs as the national active population;
  • Four times as many jobs as the active population on the territory of Luxembourg City;
  • The excess job openings have to be filled with outside job seekers;
  • Around 70% of the country’s workforce is made up of immigrants or border workers;
  • The ratio of cross-border employees grew from 3% in 1961 to 44% in 2010; nearly one cross-border employee in two comes from France.

An international and multicultural working environment

Several international industrial groups are located in Luxembourg (ArcelorMittal, Goodyear, Guardian, Dupont, etc.).

In the fields of information technology, communication and the media, several communication giants operate out of Luxembourg: the RTL Group, Europe’s leading television and radio broadcaster, and SES, the world’s leading provider of communication and broadcasting services via an array of 40 satellites. Skype, iTunes, PayPal, eBay and Amazon.com — the huge multinationals in digital economy, are all present in the Grand Duchy.

The Luxembourg financial centre plays a leading role on the international level and many European institutions are located in the capital of Luxembourg.

For getting to know the main companies in the Grand Duchy, visit our 'Companies' page.

An exceptionally high level of foreign workforce

Around 70% of the country’s workforce is composed of immigrants or cross-border employees. There are also some 10,000 international officials and civil servants.

Since the need for workers cannot be met by domestic labour and migrant workers, the number of posts held by cross-border employees residing in one of the neighbouring countries (Germany, Belgium and France) has been constantly increasing since 1985.

Some 160,000 cross-border employees are working in Luxembourg. Representing 50% of that workforce, France provides the largest contingent, followed by Belgium (26%) and Germany (24%). 45% of domestic employment is thus accounted for by cross-border workers.

A multilingual workforce

The workforce of local origin is fluent in the three languages used in day-to-day life (Luxembourgish, French and German). Given the multicultural environment, many employees also speak English. The choice of language in the workplace largely depends on the origin or nationality of the company.

Net predominance of services

While the number of employees in the industrial sector has declined in recent years, there has been a tremendous expansion in the tertiary sector.

A lower unemployment rate than the European average

Since 2002, the unemployment rate, relatively low until then, has continued to grow, but it is still below the European average. In October 2014, it was at 7.1%

The National Employment Agency (Agence pour le développement de l'emploi, ADEM) is entrusted with the task of helping jobseekers find appropriate employment and to help employers find staff suitable for their businesses.

A strong tradition of social peace

In Luxembourg, there is a strong tradition of social peace and social problems are usually resolved within the framework of wide-ranging consultation between the social partners, both at business and national levels.

Economic Committee

It is the responsibility of the Economic Committee (Comité de conjoncture) to closely monitor the evolution of the country’s economic situation, both short-term and long-term, and the situation prevailing in the labour market.

(Sources: Chamber of Commerce, Statistics Portal)

  • Updated 06-05-2015

Luxemburger Arbeitsmarkt

Der Luxemburger Arbeitsmarkt zeichnet sich durch ein internationales und mutikulturelles Arbeitsumfeld aus. Die Zahl ausländischer und mehrsprachiger Arbeitskräfte ist in Luxemburg außergewöhnlich hoch. Hinzu kommt ein sehr starker Dienstleistungssektor und eine Arbeitslosenquote, die unter dem europäischen Durchschnitt liegt.

Der Luxemburger Arbeitsmarkt in ein paar Worten

  • Zweimal mehr Arbeitsplätze als nationale aktive Bevölkerung
  • Viermal mehr Arbeitsplätze als aktive Bevölkerung auf dem Gebiet der Stadt Luxemburg
  • Der Überschuss an Arbeitsplätzen muss durch Arbeitskräfte von aussen gedeckt werden
  • Um die 70% der Beschäftigten sind Einwanderer oder Grenzgänger
  • Der Anteil an Grenzgängern ist von 3% in 1961 auf 44% in 2010 angestiegen; fast die Hälfte der Grenzgänger kommt aus Frankreich

Ein internationales und multikulturelles Arbeitsumfeld

Mehrere weltweit agierende Industriekonzerne haben in Luxemburg ihren Firmensitz (ArcelorMittal, Goodyear, Guardian, Dupont...).

Im Bereich der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien sowie der Medien agieren mehrere Kommunikationsriesen von Luxemburg aus: RTL Group, Europas größter Betreiber von Privatfernsehen und Privatradio, und SES, weltweiter Marktführer im Kommunikations- und Fernübertragungswesen, mit einer Flotte von 40 Satelliten. Multinationale Konzerne des E-Businessbereichs wie Skype, iTunes, PayPal, eBay oder Amazon.com haben sich ebenfalls in Luxemburg niedergelassen.

Der Luxemburger Finanzplatz spielt auf internationalem Niveau eine führende Rolle und zahlreiche europäische Institutionen haben ihren Sitz in der luxemburgischen Hauptstadt.

Besuchen Sie bitte unsere Unternehmensseite um sich über die wichtigsten Firmen in Luxemburg ein Bild zu verschaffen.

Eine außergewöhnlich hohe Anzahl ausländischer Arbeitskräfte

Um die 70% der Beschäftigten sind Einwanderer oder Grenzgänger. Hinzu kommen etwa 10.000 internationale Angestellte und Beamte.

Seit 1985 steigt die Zahl der Arbeitnehmer die in Deutschland, Frankreich oder Belgien leben und in Luxemburg arbeiten, unaufhörlich. Grund für diese Entwicklung ist, dass das nationale Arbeitsplatzangebot die durch Luxemburger und Einwanderer geleistete Binnennachfrage übersteigt.

Etwa 160.000 Arbeitnehmer aus dem Grenzgebiet arbeiten in Luxemburg. Die Hälfte kommt aus Frankreich, das damit am stärksten vertreten ist, gefolgt von Belgien (26%) und Deutschland (24%). Insgesamt sind 45% des Arbeitsmarkts von Grenzgängern besetzt.

Mehrsprachige Arbeitskräfte

Die einheimischen Arbeitskräfte sprechen die drei alltäglichen Gebrauchssprachen (Luxemburgisch, Französisch, Deutsch) fließend. Durch das multikulturelle Umfeld sprechen viele Arbeitnehmer zudem Englisch. Welche Sprache am Arbeitsplatz gesprochen wird, hängt stark von der Herkunft oder der Nationalität des Unternehmens ab.

Ein überaus starkes Dienstleistungsgewerbe

Während die Anzahl der Industriearbeiter in den letzten Jahren gesunken ist, hat der Dienstleistungssektor einen großen Aufschwung erlebt.

Eine Arbeitslosenrate, die unter dem europäischen Durchschnitt liegt.

Seit 2002 steigt die bis dahin eher niedrige Arbeitslosenrate stetig an, bleibt aber unter dem europäischen Durchschnitt. Im Oktober 2014 lag sie bei 7,1%.

Die Agentur für Arbeit (ADEM) hat den Auftrag, den Arbeitslosen Menschen, und aber auch den Unternehmen, bei ihrer Suche zu helfen, sei es, um eine geeignete Arbeitsstelle zu finden oder um den passenden Kandidaten ausfindig zu machen.

Wo der soziale Frieden Tradition hat

Der soziale Frieden wird in Luxemburg traditionell groß geschrieben. Soziale Unstimmigkeiten werden in der Regel im Dialog mit den Tarifpartnern gelöst, sei es innerhalb eines Unternehmens oder auf Landesebene.

Konjunkturausschuss

Der Konjunkturausschuss hat die Aufgabe, die wirtschaftliche und konjunkturelle Entwicklung des Landes sowie die Situation auf dem Arbeitsmarkt genau zu verfolgen.

(Quellen: Handelskammer, Statistikportal)

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 06-05-2015