Cultural events and festivals throughout the year

February

Carnival

Luxembourgers love to celebrate Carnival, which traditionally takes place from 2 February ('Liichtmëssdag' or Candlemas Day) through to Ash Wednesday ('Aschermëttwoch', in early March).

During those five weeks, including the 'Fuessonnden' (Carnival Sunday) and 'Fuesméinden' (Carnival Monday), a multitude of masked balls, parades and cavalcades are organized for children and adults.

For more information, please visit our 'Carnival' page in the 'Festivals and traditions' section.

Buergbrennen

On the first Sunday after Carnival, the 'Buergen' (torches) are lit across the Grand Duchy to chase away the winter.

The blaze symbolises the rebirth of spring and the end of winter, the triumph of warm over cold, of light over darkness.

For more information, please visit our 'Buergbrennen' page in the 'Festivals and traditions' section.

Jazz Festival 'Piano plus'

Launched in 2008, the jazz festival 'Piano plus' takes place every two years at the Neumünster Abbey Cultural and Meeting Centre in Luxembourg City. It pairs virtuoso jazz pianists with other talented musicians. The festival is produced jointly by Jazz in Luxembourg (JAIL) and the Neimënster — Neumünster Abbey Cultural Exchange Centre.

For more information: www.ccrn.lu.

Baroque music festival 'B-days'

The Centre des arts pluriels d'Ettelbruck and the Conservatoire de musique du nord organise 'B-days', the biennial regional Baroque music festival. Concerts are held either at the plural arts centre in Ettelbruck or in cultural infrastructures in the surrounding area.

For more information: www.cape.lu.

Luxembourg City Film Festival

Launched in 2011, the Luxembourg City Film Festival, is the reference event for movies in Luxembourg. As a festival designed for the general public, the Luxembourg City Film Festival aims at feeding the curiosity of everyone, of children and adults alike, by programming local as well as international films, selected among contemporary productions or among cinematographic heritage.

Besides its role in the discovery of new productions, the festival chooses to be different through an original programme, to promote the creation of Luxembourgish productions, and to provide a specific section for young audiences, children and adolescents. The festival awards the Grand Prix and the Critics' Prize.

For more information: www.luxfilmfest.lu/de.

  • Updated 30-01-2017

Veranstaltungen und Volksfeste im Laufe des Jahres

Februar

Karneval

Die Luxemburger lieben den Karneval, der traditionell am 2. Februar (Liichtmëssdag - Lichtmess) beginnt und bis zum Äschermëttwoch (Aschermittwoch, Anfang März) andauert.

Im Laufe dieser fünf Wochen, und vor allem an Fuessonnden (Karnevalssonntag) und Fuesméinden (Rosenmontag), finden zahlreiche Maskenbälle sowie Umzüge für Groß und Klein statt.

Mehr zu diesem Thema finden Sie auf unserer Seite "Karneval" in der Rubrik "Feste und Traditionen".

Buergbrennen

Am ersten Sonntag nach Karneval werden im ganzen Land Buergen ("Burgen", also riesige Kreuze aus Holz und Stroh) angezündet, um den Winter zu vertreiben.

Das Feuer steht für die Wiedergeburt des Frühlings und die Vertreibung des Winters; es ist der Triumph der Hitze über die Kälte, des Lichts über die Dämmerung.

Mehr zu diesem Thema finden Sie auf unserer Seite "Buergbrennen" in der Rubrik "Feste und Traditionen".

Jazzfestival "Piano plus"

Das Jazzfestival "Piano plus" findet seit 2008 alljährlich im hauptstädtischen Kultur- und Begegnungszentrum Abtei Neumünster (Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster, CCRN) statt. Dabei tun sich Jazz-Klaviervirtuosen mit anderen talentierten Musikern zusammen. Das Festival wird von der Vereinigung "Jazz in Luxembourg" (JAIL) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem CCRN durchgeführt.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.ccrn.lu.

Barockmusik-Festival "B-days"

Das im Zweijahresrhythmus stattfindende Barockmusik-Festival "B-days" wird gemeinsam vom Kulturzentrum Centre des arts pluriels in Ettelbrück (CAPe) und vom Musikkonservatorium Norden (Conservatoire de musique du nord) organisiert. Die Konzerte finden entweder im CAPe oder in den kulturellen Einrichtungen der umliegenden Gemeinden statt.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.cape.lu.

Luxembourg City Film Festival

Das 2011 entstandene Luxembourg City Film Festival ist das bedeutendste Filmkunstevent Luxemburgs. Luxembourg City Film Festival ist ein Festival das sich an das allgemeine Publikum richtet, mit dem Ziel, Groß und Klein Lust auf Kino zu machen, mit einem Programm das sowohl internationale als auch heimische Werke umfasst und aktuelle Kinobeiträge ebenso berücksichtigt wie Bestandteile des Filmerbes.

Das Festival möchte sich darüber hinaus durch die Originalität seiner Programmgestaltung hervorheben, das heimische Filmschaffen fördern und das junge Publikum mit einem speziellen Angebot ansprechen. Beim Festival werden zwei Preise verliehen: der Große Preis und der Kritikerpreis.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.luxfilmfest.lu/de.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 30-01-2017