Cultural events and festivals throughout the year


Luxembourg City Film Festival

Launched in 2011, the Luxembourg City Film Festival is the reference event for movies in Luxembourg. As a festival designed for the general public, Discovery Zone aims at feeding the curiosity of everyone, of children and adults alike, by programming local as well as international films, selected among contemporary productions or among cinematographic heritage.

Besides its role in the discovery of new productions, the festival chooses to be different through an original programme, to promote the creation of Luxembourgish productions, and to provide a specific section for young audiences, children and adolescents. The festival awards the Grand Prix and the Critics' Prize.

For more information:

Festival international Echternach

Since 1975, Luxembourg has been hosting the Festival International Echternach every year between March and December, a festival of classical and jazz music of international renown.

The festival features well-known artists, as well as promising talents or winners of national and international competitions.

The festival programme ranges from medieval music to world music, via classical music and jazz.

Every year, it transforms the small medieval town of Echternach into a mecca of music.

Printemps musical

Since 1982, the Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) has been organising every year from March to May the Printemps musical — Festival de Luxembourg.

This festival of world music and jazz offers a mix of prestigious celebrities and groundbreaking discoveries in the best concert halls in the Grand Duchy's capital.

All concerts make proof of an openness towards and an incredible mix of music styles.

Established in 1982, the festival has become somewhat of an evergreen that deeply marks the cultural life of the capital of the Grand Duchy.

Invitation aux musées

On the last weekend of March, the group 'd’stater muséeën' (museums of Luxembourg City) organises an open doors weekend in forty museums in the country, which open their doors to offer tours, workshops, performances, meetings with artists, lectures, concerts, tastings and entertainment for children.

Free shuttles are available to further accentuate the walk and discover-feature.

Admission to the museums is free.

Festival des migrations, des cultures et de la citoyenneté

Organised since 1982 by the Liaison Committee of associations for foreigners (Comité de liaison des associations d'étrangers, CLAE), the Festival of Migration, Culture and Citizenship celebrates the multicultural aspect of Luxembourg's society and aims to strengthen links between the foreign communities, provide information and encourage the debate on the role of immigration and social cohesion in Luxembourg.

The public has the opportunity to experience different cultures through debates, roundtables and nearly 300 booths, as well as culinary specialties, exhibitions, concerts, shows and entertainment for children.

The very popular 'Salon du livre et des cultures' (fair of books and cultures), organised since 1990, is also part of the festival.

The festival spans a weekend at Luxexpo in Luxembourg City. For more information:

Festival Humour pour la paix

Established in 2007, the Humor for Peace Festival (Festival Humour pour la paix) is dedicated to the Iraqi comedian Walid Hassan, assassinated in 2006. It is organised by the Neumünster Abbey Cultural and Meeting Centre (Neimënster — Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster, CCRN) and showcases, over a week, international comedians including an evening specially dedicated to Luxembourg humour.

For more information:

De klenge Maarnicher Festival

Founded in 1987, 'De Klenge Maarnicher Festival' (Small Marnach Festival) is a classical music festival which takes place annually during the months of March and April in different localities of the Luxembourg Ardennes. The aim is to contribute to a high-quality decentralised cultural offer. The festival invites Luxembourgish and international musicians.

For more information:

Musek am Syrdall

Founded in 1987, 'Musek am Syrdall' (music in the Syr valley) is a classical music festival held from March to May each year in the various municipalities in the Syr valley in the eastern part of the Grand Duchy. The aim is to contribute to a high-quality decentralised cultural offer. The festival invites Luxembourgish and international musicians.

For more information:

Baroque music festival 'B-days'

The Centre des arts pluriels d'Ettelbruck and the Conservatoire de musique du nord organise 'B-days', the biennial regional Baroque music festival. Concerts are held either at the plural arts centre in Ettelbruck or in cultural infrastructures in the surrounding area.

For more information:

  • Updated 28-02-2017

Veranstaltungen und Volksfeste im Laufe des Jahres

März

Luxembourg City Film Festival

Das 2011 entstandene Luxembourg City Film Festival ist das bedeutendste Filmkunstevent Luxemburgs. Das Luxembourg City Film Festival ist ein Festival das sich an das allgemeine Publikum richtet, mit dem Ziel, Groß und Klein Lust auf Kino zu machen, mit einem Programm das sowohl internationale als auch heimische Werke umfasst und aktuelle Kinobeiträge ebenso berücksichtigt wie Bestandteile des Filmerbes.

Das Festival möchte sich darüber hinaus durch die Originalität seiner Programmgestaltung hervorheben, das heimische Filmschaffen fördern und das junge Publikum mit einem speziellen Angebot ansprechen. Beim Festival werden zwei Preise verliehen: der Große Preis und der Kritikerpreis.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.luxfilmfest.lu/de.

Festival international Echternach (Internationales Festival Echternach)

Seit 1975 schon findet jedes Jahr zwischen März und Dezember das Internationale Festival Echternach statt. Hierbei handelt es sich um ein international bekanntes Festival für Klassik und Jazzmusik.

Das Festival bietet großen, etablierten Künstlern ebenso eine Bühne wie vielversprechenden Talenten oder den Gewinnern heimischer und internationaler Wettbewerbe.

Das Programm des Festivals reicht von mittelalterlicher Musik über Weltmusik bis hin zu klassischer Musik und Jazz.

Es verwandelt alljährlich die kleine, mittelalterliche Stadt Echternach in eine Musikhochburg.

Printemps musical (Musikalischer Frühling)

Seit 1982 organisiert das Luxemburg City Tourist Office (LCTO) alljährlich von März bis Mai das Festival "Printemps musical - Festival de Luxemburg".

Dieses Weltmusik- und Jazzfestival bietet in den besten Konzertsälen der Hauptstadt eine Mischung aus glanzvollen Stars und Neuentdeckungen.

Alle Konzerte zeugen von Offenheit und bieten eine unglaubliche Mischung unterschiedlicher Musikstile.

Das 1982 gegründete Festival ist zu einem echten Evergreen geworden, der das Kulturleben der Hauptstadt stark prägt.

Invitation aux musées (Einladung in die Museen - Museumsfest)

Am letzten März-Wochenende des Jahres veranstaltet die Gruppierung "d'stater muséeën" (Museen der Stadt Luxemburg) ein Wochenende der offenen Tür in landesweit etwa vierzig Museen, die geführte Besichtigungen, Workshops, Vorführungen, Begegnungen mit Künstlern, Konferenzen, Konzerte, Verkostungen und Aktivitäten für Kinder organisieren.

Kostenlose Zubringerdienste tragen zusätzlich zum Entdeckungscharakter der Veranstaltung bei.

Der Eintritt in alle teilnehmenden Museen ist kostenlos.

Festival des migrations, des cultures et de la citoyenneté

Das seit 1982 vom CLAE (Comité de liaison des associations d’étrangers, Komitee für die Beziehungen ausländischer Vereine) organisierte Festival würdigt die multikulturelle Gesellschaft in Luxemburg und soll die Beziehungen zwischen den Gemeinschaften stärken, Informationen bereitstellen und die Debatte zur Rolle der Einwanderung und des gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalts in Luxemburg mit Leben erfüllen.

Die breite Öffentlichkeit erhält die Gelegenheit, die unterschiedlichen Kulturen an etwa 300 Vereinsständen, in Diskussionen und bei Rundtischgesprächen sowie durch kulinarische Spezialitäten, Ausstellungen, Konzerte, Vorstellungen und Aktivitäten für Kinder entdecken.

Anlässlich des Festivals findet seit 1990 auch der beliebte "Salon du livre et des cultures" (Messe für Bücher und Kulturen) statt.

Das Festival wird während eines Wochenendes in der hauptstädtischen Luxexpo organisiert. Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.clae.lu.

Festival "Humour pour la paix" (Humor für den Frieden)

Das 2007 geschaffene Festival "Humour pour la paix" ist dem irakischen Humoristen Walid Hassan gewidmet, der 2006 ermordet wurde. Es wird vom Neimënster - Kultur- und Begegnungszentrum Abtei Neumünster (Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster, CCRN) organisiert, präsentiert eine Woche lang internationale Comedians und widmet dem luxemburgischen Humor einen Themenabend.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.ccrn.lu.

De klenge Maarnicher Festival

Das seit 1987 organisierte "Klenge Maarnicher Festival" ist ein Festival für klassische Musik, das alljährlich während der Monate März und April in unterschiedlichen Ortschaften der luxemburgischen Ardennen stattfindet. Das Festival soll zu einem hochwertigen, dezentralisierten Kulturangebot beitragen. Es gibt sowohl luxemburgischen als auch internationalen Musikern eine Bühne.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.dkmf.lu.

Musek am Syrdall

"Musek am Syrdall", erstmals veranstaltet im Jahr 1987, ist ein Festival für klassische Musik, das alljährlich während der Monate März bis Mai in unterschiedlichen Gemeinden des Syrtals im Osten Luxemburgs stattfindet. Das Festival soll zu einem hochwertigen, dezentralisierten Kulturangebot beitragen. Es gibt sowohl luxemburgischen als auch internationalen Musikern eine Bühne.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: msyrdall.betzdorf.lu.

Barockmusik-Festival "B-days"

Das im Zweijahresrhythmus stattfindende Barockmusik-Festival "B-days" wird gemeinsam vom Kulturzentrum Centre des arts pluriels in Ettelbrück (CAPe) und vom Musikkonservatorium Norden (Conservatoire de musique du nord) organisiert. Die Konzerte finden entweder im CAPe oder in den kulturellen Einrichtungen der umliegenden Gemeinden statt.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.cape.lu.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 28-02-2017