Cultural events and festivals throughout the year

April

Emaischen

On Easter Monday the traditional 'Éimaischen' (Feast of Emmaus) takes place. It is a folk festival celebrated in the old quarter of Luxembourg City (Place du Marché-aux-Poissons and surrounding area) and in the village of Nospelt.

The Éimaischen is best known for its Péckvillchercher, a sort of terracotta birds, typically Luxembourgish objects, which imitate the cuckoo's calling when you blow into them.

The festival offers, alongside Péckvillercher and demonstrations by potters, many stalls of sweets (nougat, roasted almonds and hazelnuts) and tents, where you can eat, drink and socialise.

Festival international Echternach

Since 1975, Luxembourg has been hosting the Festival international Echternach every year between March and December, a festival of classical and jazz music of international renown.

The festival features well-known artists, as well as promising talents or winners of national and international competitions.

The festival programme ranges from medieval music to world music, via classical music and jazz.

Every year during the festival, the small medieval town of Echternach is all about music.

Printemps musical

Since 1982, the Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) has been organising every year from March to May the Printemps musical — Festival de Luxembourg.

This festival of world music and jazz offers a mix of prestigious celebrities and groundbreaking discoveries in the best concert halls in the capital.

All concerts showcase an openness and incredible mix of music styles.

In 30 years of existence, the festival has become somewhat of an evergreen that deeply marks the cultural life of the capital of the Grand Duchy.

Zeltik

Zeltik Festival is a festival of Celtic music staged in Dudelange in the south of the Grand Duchy. Launched in 1998, it stages a range of concerts over a weekend in April. It consists of the Celtic Prelude and Celtic Celebration. In recent years, the biggest stars of Celtic music, such as Carlos Núñez, Capercaillie, the Waterboys or The Levellers have performed here.

For more information: www.zeltik.lu

De klenge Maarnicher Festival

Founded in 1987, 'De Klenge Maarnicher Festival' (Small Marnach Festival) is a classical music festival which takes place annually during the months of March and April in different localities of the Luxembourg Ardennes. The aim is to contribute to a high-quality decentralised cultural offer.

For more information: www.dkmf.lu

Musek am Syrdall

Founded in 1987, 'Musek am Syrdall' (music in the Syr valley) is a classical music festival held from March to May each year in the various municipalities in the Syr valley in the eastern part of the Grand Duchy. The aim is to contribute to a high-quality decentralised cultural offer. The festival invites Luxembourgish and international musicians.

For more information: msyrdall.betzdorf.lu

Printemps des poètes Luxembourg

Launched in 1999 in France by Jack Lang, the Spring of Poets (Printemps des poètes Luxembourg) has been celebrated in Luxembourg since 2007. The event, aimed at promoting poetry, offers three days of lectures, meetings with domestic and foreign poets, concerts and exhibitions at Neimënster — Neumünster Abbey Cultural and Meeting Centre (Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster), the Kulturfabrik and the Simoncini Gallery.

For more information: www.prinpolux.lu

LiteraTour

During the book and copyrights days, the town of Bettembourg organises its LiteraTour festival, which is entirely devoted to books and literature. Whether young or old, there will be something for every book worm during these three days. Countless lectures by Luxembourgish and foreign writers, creative writing workshops, slams, etc. The LiteraTour festival is a whole weekend dedicated to words in a perfectly local setting. Indeed, some of the events take place at Bettembourg castle and its park, at the Le Paris cinema and at the 'Parc merveilleux'.

For more information www.bettembourg.lu

European Month of Photography

Since 2006, Luxembourg City has been one of the seven European capitals (the others are Berlin, Paris, Vienna, Bratislava, Budapest and Ljubljana) that organise the 'European Month of Photography' festival every other year.

The festival takes place in April and May, with the help of around twenty partners, such as museums, art galleries, and financial institutions. The aim of the festival is to promote European photography, whether established or emerging. The European Month of Photography Arendt Award was awarded for the first time in 2013. In Luxembourg, the European Month of Photography is organised by the association 'Café-Crème'.

For more information: www.emoplux.lu

Festival Out Of The Crowd

Every year since 2004, the 'Schalltot' Collective has organised a festival of contemporary independent music in the Kulturfabrik, a cultural centre located in the buildings of a former slaughterhouse in Esch-sur-Alzette.

For more information: www.ootcfestival.com

  • Updated 31-03-2017

Veranstaltungen und Volksfeste im Laufe des Jahres

April

Emaischen

Am Ostermontag findet die traditionnelle Éimaischen (Emmausfest), ein Volksfest, in Luxemburgs Altstadt (Fischmarkt und Umgebung) sowie im Dörfchen Nospelt statt.

Die Éimaischen ist vor allem wegen der sogenannten "Péckvillercher" bekannt, den kleinen, typisch luxemburgischen Vogelfiguren aus Ton, deren Pfeifton dem Ruf des Kuckucks auf unverwechselbare Weise ähnelt.

Das Festival bietet neben "Péckvillchen" und Töpfervorführungen auch viele Stände mit Süßigkeiten (Nougat, geröstete Mandeln und Haselnüsse) und ein abwechslungsreiches Unterhaltungsprogramm unter einem Zeltdach.

Festival international Echternach (Internationales Festival Echternach)

Seit 1975 schon findet jedes Jahr zwischen März und Dezember das Internationale Festival Echternach statt. Hierbei handelt es sich um ein international bekanntes Festival für Klassik und Jazzmusik.

Das Festival bietet großen, etablierten Künstlern ebenso eine Bühne wie vielversprechenden Talenten oder den Gewinnern heimischer und internationaler Wettbewerbe.

Das Programm des Festivals reicht von mittelalterlicher Musik über Weltmusik bis hin zu klassischer Musik und Jazz.

Es verwandelt alljährlich die kleine, mittelalterliche Stadt Echternach in eine Musikhochburg.

Printemps musical (Musikalischer Frühling)

Seit 1982 organisiert das Luxemburg City Tourist Office (LCTO) alljährlich von März bis Mai das Festival "Printemps musical - Festival de Luxemburg".

Dieses Weltmusik- und Jazzfestival bietet in den besten Konzertsälen der Hauptstadt eine Mischung aus glanzvollen Stars und Neuentdeckungen.

Alle Konzerte zeugen von Offenheit und bieten eine unglaubliche Mischung unterschiedlicher Musikstile.

In den dreißig Jahren seines Bestehens ist das Festival ist zu einem wahren Evergreen geworden, der das Kulturleben der Hauptstadt stark prägt.

Zeltik

Das Zeltik-Festival ist das Festival für keltische Musik der Stadt Düdelingen im Süden des Großherzogtums. Das seit 1998 stattfindende Festival bietet im Laufe eines April-Wochenendes eine Vielzahl an Konzerten an. Es besteht aus der Celtic Prelude und der Celtic Celebration. In den letzten Jahren traten die größten Stars der keltischen Musik auf, beispielsweise Carlos Núñez, Capercaillie, die Waterboys oder The Levellers.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.zeltik.lu.

De klenge Maarnicher Festival

Das seit 1987 organisierte "Klenge Maarnicher Festival" ist ein Festival für klassische Musik, das alljährlich während der Monate März und April in unterschiedlichen Ortschaften der luxemburgischen Ardennen stattfindet. Das Festival soll zu einem hochwertigen, dezentralisierten Kulturangebot beitragen.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.dkmf.lu.

Musek am Syrdall

"Musek am Syrdall", erstmals veranstaltet im Jahr 1987, ist ein Festival für klassische Musik, das alljährlich während der Monate März bis Mai in unterschiedlichen Gemeinden des Syrtals im Osten Luxemburgs stattfindet. Das Festival soll zu einem hochwertigen, dezentralisierten Kulturangebot beitragen. Es bietet sowohl luxemburgischen als auch internationalen Musikern eine Bühne.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: msyrdall.betzdorf.lu.

Printemps des poètes Luxembourg (Dichterfrühling in Luxemburg)

Der 1999 in Frankreich von Jack Lang initiierte "Printemps des poètes" (Dichterfrühling) findet seit 2007 auch in Luxemburg statt. Diese Veranstaltung, mit der die Poesie gefördert werden soll, bietet während drei Tagen Vorträge, Begegnungen mit in- und ausländischen Dichtern, Konzerte und Ausstellungen, die im Neimënster - Kultur- und Begegnungszentrum Abtei Neumünster (Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster, CCRN), in der Kulturfabrik und in der Galerie Simoncini stattfinden.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.prinpolux.lu.

LiteraTour

Anlässlich der Tage des Buches und des Urheberrechtes veranstaltet die Stadt Bettemburg ihr Festival "LiteraTour", bei dem sich alles um Bücher und Literatur dreht. An diesem Wochenende kommen kleine und große Buchliebhaber auf ihre Kosten. Das Festival "LiteraTour" bietet unzählige Lesungen von luxemburgischen und ausländischen Autoren, Schreibateliers, Poetry-Slam,... und das alles mit lokalem Charme: Teile der Veranstaltung finden im Schloss bzw. im Schlosspark von Bettemburg, im Ciné Le Paris und im Märchenpark (Parc merveilleux) statt.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.bettembourg.lu.

Europäischer Monat der Fotografie

Seit 2006 gehört Luxemburg (neben Berlin, Paris, Wien, Bratislava, Budapest und Ljubljana) zu den sieben europäischen Hauptstädten, die im Zwei-Jahres-Rhythmus einen Europäischen Monat der Fotografie organisieren, ein Festival, das der Fotografie gewidmet ist.

Das Festival findet im April und Mai statt und ist eine Zusammenarbeit von rund 20 Partnern: Museen, Kunstgalerien und Finanzinstitute. Zweck des Festivals ist die Förderung der europäischen Fotografie, sei sie schon etabliert oder noch in der Entstehung. Der "European Month of Photography Arendt Award" wird seit 2013 vergeben. Im Groβherzogtum wird der Europäische Monat der Fotografie von der Vereinigung Café-Crème organisiert.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.emoplux.lu.

Festival "Out Of The Crowd"

Das Kollektiv Schalltot organisiert seit 2004 ein alljährlich stattfindendes Festival für zeitgenössische Indie Musik in der Kulturfabrik, einem Kulturzentrum in den Mauern eines ehemaligen Schlachthofs in Esch/Alzette.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.ootcfestival.com.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 31-03-2017