Cultural events and festivals throughout the year

May

The Oktav

Every year, from the 3rd to the 5th Sunday after Easter, the Oktav takes place in Luxembourg City, an annual pilgrimage in honour of Our Lady of Luxembourg, the country's largest religious festival.

The Oktav is traditionally accompanied by a market at Knuedler square (Place Guillaume II), the Mäertchen (literally: small market).

Attracting some 90,000 faithful each year, the Oktav is today still one of the country's most important religious events.

Printemps musical

Since 1982, the Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO) has organised a musical spring festival, the Printemps musical — Festival de Luxembourg from March to May each year.

This festival of world music and jazz offers a mix of prestigious celebrities and groundbreaking discoveries in the best concert halls in the capital.

All concerts showcase an openness and incredible mix of music styles.

In its 30 years of existence, the festival has become somewhat of an evergreen that deeply marks the cultural life of the capital of the Grand Duchy.

Danz Festival Lëtzebuerg

Each year in late May, Danz Festival Lëtzebuerg (dance festival Luxembourg) sees itself as a platform for a meeting of dancers and choreographers from Luxembourg and the Greater Region with internationally renowned companies.

Organised since 2005, Danz Festival puts a special focus on a different country every year.

Apart from dance, it offers exhibitions, conferences and a programme aimed at a young public.

Like A Jazz Machine

Launched in 2012, the Dudelange cultural centre opderschmelz organises the international jazz festival 'Like A Jazz Machine'. The festival offers a range which is both diverse and representative of contemporary trends.

It mixes big international names with those of the lively national scene (Pascal Schumacher, David Laborier, Maxime Bender, Francesco Tristano, Michel Reis, Marc Demuth, Paul Wiltgen, ...), which is making a name for itself on an international level.

Dudelange, a city closely linked to the jazz scene for more than 20 years, has over the years become a real 'jazz capital' of the country. The aim of the festival, which is on track to becoming a major event in the cultural life of the country, is to showcase jazz and attract new audiences

For more information: www.jazzmachine.lu

Festival of industrial culture and innovation

The Festival of industrial culture and innovation, which was first held in 2014, takes place from May until July with the participation of 25 cultural and economic operators from the Land of the Red Rocks and under the leadership of the Fondation Bassin minier. The programme is impressively diverse: movies, theatres, exhibitions, visits and walks, as well as conferences, discussions and workshops. The theme of the festival is the working class and industrial culture in Luxembourg in general.

For more information: www.fondationbassinminier.lu

'Saveurs culturelles du monde' festival

The 'Saveurs culturelles du monde' festival was launched in 2005 and is held every year at the end of May at Casino 2000 in Mondorf-les-Bains. During one weekend, headliners as well as rising stars of the regional cultural scene perform in about 30 concerts, performances and exhibitions, aiming to celebrate cultural diversity.

For more information: www.casino2000.lu

Musek am Syrdall

Founded in 1987, 'Musek am Syrdall' (music in the Syr valley) is a classical music festival held from March to May each year in the various municipalities in the Syr valley in the eastern part of the Grand Duchy. The aim is to contribute to a high-quality decentralised cultural offer. The festival invites Luxembourgish and international musicians.

For more information: msyrdall.betzdorf.lu

European Month of Photography

Since 2006, Luxembourg City has been one of the seven European capitals (the others are Berlin, Paris, Vienna, Bratislava, Budapest and Ljubljana) that organise the 'European Month of Photography' festival every other year.

The festival takes place in April and May, with the help of around twenty partners, such as museums, art galleries, and financial institutions. The aim of the festival is to promote European photography, whether established or emerging. The European Month of Photography Arendt Award was awarded for the first time in 2013. In Luxembourg, the European Month of Photography is organised by the association 'Café-Crème'.

For more information: www.emoplux.lu

  • Updated 02-05-2018

Veranstaltungen und Volksfeste im Laufe des Jahres

Mai

Die "Oktav"

Vom dritten bis zum fünften Sonntag nach Ostern findet in der Stadt Luxemburg die "Oktav" statt, eine jährliche Wallfahrt zu Ehren Unserer Lieben Frau von Luxemburg und gleichzeitig das größte religiöse Fest des Landes.

Zeitgleich mit der Oktav findet auf dem Knuedler (Place Guillaume II) der "Mäertchen" ("kleiner Markt") statt.

Die "Oktav", die jedes Jahr etwa 90.000 Gläubige anzieht, ist nach wie vor eine der wichtigsten religiösen Veranstaltungen des Landes.

Printemps musical (Musikalischer Frühling)

Seit 1982 organisiert das Luxemburg City Tourist Office (LCTO) alljährlich von März bis Mai das Festival "Printemps musical - Festival de Luxemburg".

Dieses Weltmusik- und Jazzfestival bietet in den besten Konzertsälen der Hauptstadt eine Mischung aus glanzvollen Stars und Neuentdeckungen.

Alle Konzerte zeugen von Offenheit und bieten eine unglaubliche Mischung unterschiedlicher Musikstile.

In den dreißig Jahren seines Bestehens ist das Festival ist zu einem wahren Evergreen geworden, der das Kulturleben der Hauptstadt stark prägt.

Danz Festival Lëtzebuerg

Jedes Jahr Ende Mai bietet das Danz Festival Lëtzebuerg (Tanzfestival Luxemburg) eine Plattform für Begegnungen zwischen Tänzern und Choreografen aus Luxemburg und der Großregion sowie internationale und renommierte Tanzensembles.

Das seit 2005 stattfindende Danz Festival setzt seinen Schwerpunkt alljährlich auf ein bestimmtes Land.

Neben den Tanzvorführungen bietet es auch Ausstellungen, Konferenzen und ein Programm für jugendliche Zuschauer.

Like A Jazz Machine

Das 2012 gegründete Kulturzentrum opderschmelz in Dudelange richtet das internationale Jazzfestival "Like A Jazz Machine" aus. Auf dem Programm steht eine zugleich vielfältige und repräsentative Mischung der gängigen Jazztrends.

Große internationale Namen mischen sich hier unter Künstler der quicklebendigen einheimischen Szene (Pascal Schumacher, David Laborier, Maxime Bender, Francesco Tristano, Michel Reis, Marc Demuth, Paul Wiltgen,...), die auch international zunehmend an Beachtung gewinnt.

Die Stadt Dudelange ist mit der Jazzszene seit mehr als zwanzig Jahren eng verbunden und ist im Laufe der Jahre zu einer wahrhaftigen Jazzhauptstadt geworden. Das Festival, das sich allmählich zu einem der bedeutendsten Events des heimischen Kulturlebens entwickelt, möchte das Publikum näher an den Jazz heranführen und neue Zielgruppen erschließen.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.jazzmachine.lu

Festival der Industriekultur und Innovation (Festival de la culture industrielle et de l'innovation)

Seit 2014 findet zwischen Mai und Juli das Festival der Industriekultur und Innovation statt, wobei nicht weniger als 25 Akteure aus Kultur und Wirtschaft aus der Region der Roten Erden unter der Schirmherrschaft der Stiftung "Bassin minier" mitwirken. Das Programm zeugt von einer beeindruckenden Vielfalt: Filme, Theater, Ausstellungen, Besichtigungen, Rundgänge finden im Wechsel mit Konferenzen, Diskussionsrunden und Workshops statt. Zentrales Thema bleibt das Arbeitermilieu und die luxemburgische Industriekultur im weitesten Sinne.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.fondationbassinminier.lu

Festival Kulturelle Genüsse aus aller Welt (Festival Saveurs culturelles du monde)

Seit 2005 findet jedes Jahr gegen Ende Mai im Casino 2000 in Mondorf-les-Bains das Festival "Kulturelle Genüsse aus aller Welt" statt. Neben Auftritten von Headlinern und Shootingstars der regionalen und internationalen Szene finden an einem Wochenende etwa dreißig Konzerte, Shows und Ausstellungen zu Ehren der kulturellen Vielfalt statt.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.casino2000.lu

Musek am Syrdall

"Musek am Syrdall", erstmals veranstaltet im Jahr 1987, ist ein Festival für klassische Musik, das alljährlich während der Monate März bis Mai in unterschiedlichen Gemeinden des Syrtals im Osten Luxemburgs stattfindet. Das Festival soll zu einem hochwertigen, dezentralisierten Kulturangebot beitragen. Es gibt sowohl luxemburgischen als auch internationalen Musikern eine Bühne.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: msyrdall.betzdorf.lu

Europäischer Monat der Fotografie

Seit 2006 gehört Luxemburg (neben Berlin, Paris, Wien, Bratislava, Budapest und Ljubljana) zu den sieben europäischen Hauptstädten, die im Zwei-Jahres-Rhythmus einen Europäischen Monat der Fotografie organisieren, ein Festival, das der Fotografie gewidmet ist.

Das Festival findet im April und Mai statt und ist eine Zusammenarbeit von rund 20 Partnern: Museen, Kunstgalerien und Finanzinstitute. Zweck des Festivals ist die Förderung der europäischen Fotografie, unabhängig davon, ob sie schon etabliert ist oder noch in der Entstehung. Der "European Month of Photography Arendt Award" wird seit 2013 vergeben. Im Großherzogtum wird der Europäische Monat der Fotografie von der Vereinigung Café-Crème organisiert.

Mehr zu diesem Thema: www.emoplux.lu

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 02-05-2018