Luxembourg, a bustling capital

There is no season without its celebrations in Luxembourg City. All throughout the year, musical and cultural festivals enliven the narrow streets and attract music lovers and curious people who invade the main squares of the capital.

The capital is also the venue of the main popular and traditional festivals of the country. Thus, on 22 June, the eve of National Day, Luxembourg becomes a huge multicultural festival which is characterised by a torchlight parade and an impressive fireworks display.

From August to September, the city annually hosts the 'Schueberfouer', a fair that attracts the young and old, residents of the city, the country and the Greater Region.

Night owls can find bars and cafes of all kinds in different parts of the old town, Hollerich at Grund and Clausen. Apart from the atmosphere they generate, these bars are for the most part at the foot of the fortress or near the traditional and historic sites of the city and offer a breathtaking view of the illuminated citadel.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Luxemburg, eine pulsierende Hauptstadt

In der Stadt Luxemburg gibt es keine Jahreszeit ohne Feste oder Feierlichkeiten. Das ganze Jahr über beleben Musik- oder Kulturfestivals die kleinen Gassen oder locken scharenweise Musikfreunde und Schaulustige zu den großen Plätzen der Hauptstadt.

In der Hauptstadt finden auch die bedeutendsten Volks- und Traditionsfeste des Landes statt. So verwandelt sich Luxemburg-Stadt am 22. Juni, dem Vorabend des Nationalfeiertages, in ein riesiges multikulturelles Volksfest mit Fackelzug und beeindruckendem Feuerwerk.

Im August und September lockt die Schueberfouer, ein Jahrmarkt, Groß und Klein an: die Einwohner der Hauptstadt sowie die Bewohner des übrigen Landes und der Großregion.

Nachtschwärmer haben die Wahl zwischen Bars und Gaststätten jedweder Couleur, die sich in den unterschiedlichen Vierteln der Altstadt, in Hollerich, im Grund-Viertel und in Clausen befinden. Neben der dort herrschenden großartigen Stimmung bietet die Lage am Fuß der Festung oder nahe der traditionellen und historischen Orte der Hauptstadt zudem eine erstklassige Sicht auf die hell erleuchteten Festungsanlagen.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015