Luxembourg, a European Capital

The capital of Luxembourg, a founding member of the European Union, became the temporary headquarters of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) in 1952, and at the same time the first European capital.

Birthplace of Robert Schuman, Luxembourg City is now, together with Brussels and Strasbourg, the third European capital and hosts most of the European institutions on its territory.

Thus, the General Secretariat of the European Parliament, various services of the European Commission, the Court of Justice of the European Communities and the Court of First Instance, the European Court of Auditors, the European Investment Bank and the Publications Office of the European Communities have their headquarters in Luxembourg.

Everyday life is also European through and through. Whether in shops, restaurants or bars, many languages spoken in the European Union make themselves heard in Luxembourg City. With 90%, nationals from the European Union member states are the largest group of foreigners who live and work in Luxembourg City. In fact, foreign nationals represent more than 60% of the population of the city.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Luxemburg-Stadt, eine europäische Hauptstadt

Die Hauptstadt des Großherzogtums Luxemburg (einem Gründungsmitglied der Europäischen Union) wurde 1952 zum provisorischen Sitz der Europäischen Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl (EGKS) auserkoren und damit zugleich zur ersten europäischen Hauptstadt.

Die Stadt Luxemburg, Geburtsstadt Robert Schumans, ist heute neben Brüssel und Straßburg die dritte europäische Hauptstadt und beherbergt die meisten europäischen Institutionen.

In Luxemburg beheimatet sind das Generalsekretariat des Europäischen Parlaments, unterschiedliche Dienststellen der Europäischen Kommission, der Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union bzw. das Gericht erster Instanz, der Europäische Rechnungshof, die Europäische Investitionsbank sowie das Amt für Veröffentlichungen der Europäischen Union.

Auch das Alltagsleben ist durch und durch europäisch geprägt. Sowohl in Geschäften als auch in Restaurants und Kneipen sind zahlreiche Sprachen aus der gesamten EU zu hören. Unter den aus dem Ausland stammenden Arbeitnehmern und Einwohnern der Stadt Luxemburg - mehr als 60 % der hauptstädtischen Gesamteinwohnerzahl sind Nicht-Luxemburger - bilden die Bürger aus dem EU-Ausland mit 90 % die größte Gruppe.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015