Luxembourg, a capital with a long history

Luxembourg was founded in 963 when the Ardennes Count Siegfried built a castle ('Lucilinburhuc', literally: little castle) on the Bock cliff, around which over the centuries a fortified city would grow.

Modified and reinforced countless times during centuries of foreign domination, the fortress of Luxembourg was once one of the largest in Europe. With a reputation of being impregnable, it became known abroad as the 'Gibraltar of the North'.

Since 1994, the bastions and the old city centre have been included on UNESCO's World Heritage List.

Cultural trails, such as the Wenzel or Vauban round walks, the underground labyrinth of casemates or a visit of the remains of the fortress and the many museums of the capital, such as the 'Musee Dräi Eechelen', allow visitors to experience and relive the captivating history of the capital.

Historical maps and views of the capital online

The site at www.mapping‐luxembourg.lu is an innovative visual tool for taking a look at the history of the Grand Duchy's capital. The Luxembourg City History Museum (Musée d'histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg, MHVL) and the National Archives (Archives Nationales de Luxembourg, ANLUX) have produced a digital representation of historical maps and views overlaying the current urban topography. Based on a Google Maps aerial view of the city, fifty historic buildings and thirteen areas mapped between the 17th century and the early 20th century have been marked with interactive tags to provide a user-friendly means of becoming familiar with the historical topography of the city and its urban development. The site provides historical information on each building, with various views dating from the 19th and 20th centuries.

  • Updated 14-09-2017

Luxemburg, eine Hauptstadt mit langer Geschichte

Luxemburg wurde im Jahr 963 gegründet, als der Ardennergraf Siegfried auf dem Bockfelsen die Burg "Lucilinburhuc" (kleine Burg) errichtete, um die herum sich im Laufe der Jahrhunderte eine befestigte Stadt entwickelte.

Die Festung Luxemburg - im Laufe jahrhundertelanger Fremdherrschaft unzählige Male umgebaut und verstärkt - war seinerzeit eine der größten Befestigungen Europas. Die Festung, die einst als uneinnehmbar galt, wird im Ausland bis heute "Gibraltar des Nordens" genannt.

Seit 1994 stehen die mächtigen Bastionen und die Altstadt auf der Liste des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes.

Entdecken und erleben können Besucher die faszinierende Geschichte der Hauptstadt auf Kulturwanderwegen wie dem Wenzel- oder dem Vauban-Rundweg, im unterirdischen Labyrinth der Kasematten oder bei einem Besuch der Festungsruinen und der zahlreichen Museen der Hauptstadt, zum Beispiel des "Musée Dräi Eechelen".

Historische Karten und Ansichten der Hauptstadt online

Die Website www.mapping‐luxembourg.lu ist ein innovatives visuelles Tool, das Einblick in die Geschichte der Hauptstadt des Großherzogtums gewährt. Das Historische Museum der Stadt Luxemburg (Musée d'histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg) und das Nationalarchiv von Luxemburg (Archives nationales de Luxembourg) ermöglichen eine digitale Darstellung der historischen Karten und Ansichten vor dem Hintergrund der derzeitigen städtischen Topografie. Auf der Grundlage der Luftbilder der Stadt Luxemburg in der Google Maps-Version sind 50 historische Gebäude sowie 13 zwischen dem 17. und Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts kartografierte Flächen mit interaktiven Tags markiert, durch die man sich spielerisch mit der historischen Topografie und der urbanen Entwicklung vertraut machen kann. Zu jedem einzelnen Gebäude liefert die Internetseite Informationen über dessen Geschichte sowie verschiedene Ansichten aus dem 19. und 20. Jahrhundert.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 14-09-2017