Visit the capital

There is hardly another European capital that can boast contrasts as impressive as Luxembourg. The capital is a captivating contrast of large and small, old and new, valley and plateau, local and international.

The upper part of the city — the traditional, historical area — is perched on a rocky plateau surrounded by river valleys. The Kirchberg Plateau on the other side of the Alzette valley is the up-to-date contemporary headquarters of many European, cultural and financial institutions. 

Since 1994, the powerful bastions of Luxembourg's former fortifications and the old city centre have been included on UNESCO's World Heritage List.

Luxembourg City is the safest capital in the world; its cosmopolitanism is evident at every level. With a population of more than 100,000, more than 68% of whom are citizens of some 155 different nationalities, Luxembourg City is without a doubt one of the smallest capitals in Europe; above all, it is a real microcosm of Europe.

With its reputation as a financial and banking centre, headquarters of the European institutions, administrative centre for the Grand Duchy and home of the government, the capital has also become the economic centre of the transfrontier Greater Region.

Together with the French city of Metz and the German cities of Saarbrucken and Trier, Luxembourg City is a demonstration of the practical side of transfrontier cooperation within the Quattropole.

  • Updated 11-05-2015

Die Hauptstadt besuchen

Wohl kaum eine andere europäische Hauptstadt weist so eindrucksvolle Kontraste auf wie Luxemburg. Die Hauptstadt bietet ein aufregendes Wechselspiel von Groß und Klein, Gestern und Heute, Tälern und Plateaus, nationalem und internationalem Flair.

Die Oberstadt, das historische und traditionsreiche Viertel, befindet sich auf einem Felsplateau, das von Flusstälern umgeben ist. Das Kirchberg-Plateau auf der anderen Seite des Alzette-Tals ist der moderne und zeitgemäße Sitz zahlreicher europäischer Institutionen, kultureller Einrichtungen und Finanzinstitute. 

Seit 1994 stehen die mächtigen Bastionen der ehemaligen Festung Luxemburg und die Altstadt auf der Liste des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes.

Luxemburg ist die sicherste Hauptstadt der Welt und zeugt in jeder Hinsicht von kosmopolitischem Wesen. Mit einer Bevölkerung von mehr als 100.000 Einwohnern, darunter mehr als 68 % Bürger ausländischer Staatsangehörigkeit aus etwa 155 Ländern, ist Luxemburg sicherlich eine der kleinsten europäischen Hauptstädte, jedoch vor allem ein wahrer europäischer Mikrokosmos.

Die Hauptstadt - bekannt vor allem als Finanz- und Bankenzentrum, Sitz von EU-Institutionen, Verwaltungszentrum des Landes sowie als Regierungssitz - ist auch zum wirtschaftlichen Herzen der Großregion geworden.

Gemeinsam mit dem französischen Metz und den deutschen Städten Saarbrücken und Trier veranschaulicht Luxemburg in der Praxis die grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit im Rahmen von QuattroPole.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 12-05-2015