Around the capital

The capital and its surroundings are at the heart of Guttland, geographic region which includes the central and southern parts of the country, extending from the river valleys in the west to the rocky labyrinths in the east.

This area, often called the orchard of Luxembourg, consists mainly of fields and forests. The Grand Duchy's finest forests are to be found here. Therefore, it is hardly surprising that this region is, throughout the year, highly popular with hikers.

Right outside the capital, two large forests invite you to unwind and to pursue sporting activities: the 'Bambësch' and the 'Gréngewald', which are the largest wooded area in the country.

To the west of the capital, the Eisch valley, also called the Valley of the Seven Castles, unites along its 24km length the castles of Mersch, Schoenfels and Hollenfels, the two castles of Ansembourg, the castle of Septfontaines and the ruins of the castle of Koerich. These castles blend harmoniously into a landscape of meadows and historic villages, inviting for long walks in the winding valley of the Eisch.

Hospitable, authentic and beautifully restored villages also await discovery in this region. The picturesque villages of Bourglinster and Useldange are fine examples thereof.

  • Updated 06-05-2015

Die Umgebung der Hauptstadt

Die Hauptstadt und ihre Umgebung befinden sich im Herzen des Gutlandes, einer geographischen Region, die das Zentrum und den Süden des Landes umfasst und sich von den Flusstälern des Ostens bis zu den Felslabyrinthen im Westen erstreckt.

Diese oft als Obstgarten Luxemburgs bezeichnete Region besteht vor allem aus Feldern und Wäldern. Man findet hier die schönsten zusammenhängenden Waldflächen Luxemburgs. Daher ist es wenig erstaunlich, dass diese Gegend das ganze Jahr über Wanderer zu begeistern weiß.

Nur wenige Minuten von der Hauptstadt entfernt laden zwei ausgedehnte Waldgebiete zu Erholung und sportlicher Betätigung ein: der "Bambësch" und der "Gréngewald", die die umfangreichste Waldfläche des Landes darstellen.

Östlich der Hauptstadt liegt das Eischtal, auch Tal der Sieben Schlösser genannt, das auf 24 Kilometern die Schlösser von Mersch, Schoenfels, Hollenfels und Septfontaines (Siebenbrunnen) sowie die beiden Schlösser von Ansembourg und die Schlossruine von Koerich umfasst. Diese Schlösser fügen sich harmonisch in eine Landschaft der Auen und der historischen Ortschaften ein, die zu ausgedehnten Spaziergängen im gewundenen Eischtal einladen.

In dieser Region erwarten Sie darüber hinaus gastfreundliche, ursprüngliche und wunderbar restaurierte Dörfer. Hiervon zeugen insbesondere die malerischen Orte Bourglinster und Useldingen.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 06-05-2015