Moselle

For Luxembourgers, the 'Musel', the Moselle River is more than just a river drawing a natural border of 42 kilometers between the Grand Duchy and Germany. It is a picturesque region in the east of the country, full of life, stretching from Schengen in the south to Wasserbillig in the north.

Lush vineyards producing the best wines

Protected from the winds, with a relatively mild and sunny climate and steep, sun-kissed slopes, the valley of the Moselle is primarily a wine region with a long tradition.

The Wine Route, which follows the Moselle through its valley, allows the discovery of small, wine-producing villages with numerous wine cellars, eager to share their treasures. Especially renowned for its dry white wines of great quality, the Moselle region today sees its wines and sparkling wines proudly exported beyond its borders.

With its particular charm and atmosphere, the Moselle valley constantly attracts wine lovers and bon vivants who want to enjoy the new wines, being presented around Easter, or who want to let themselves get carried away by the spirit of celebration surrounding the wine festivals and participate in the grape harvest upon the arrival of autumn.

Land of flavours

Alongside the viticultural tradition, a great culinary tradition has naturally developed, which can be discovered in charming restaurants close to the Moselle or in small traditional villages with narrow streets, whose charm largely stems from the cultivation of wine. With its stately homes, Ehnen is certainly one of the finest wine-growing villages of the Moselle.

A place for relaxation and leisure.

The Moselle region also offers an extensive network for hiking and cycling, as well as a variety of water sports such as water skiing, sailing and surfing. Wellness enthusiasts can relax in the spa of ​​Mondorf-les-Bains, the Grand Duchy's only thermal spa.

Schengen, where the Schengen Agreements were signed

The Moselle, and specifically the village of Schengen, located where Luxembourg, France and Germany meet, is not just renowned for its quality of life, but also for the famous Schengen Agreements, signed here in 1985 and 1990. The Schengen Agreements, which constitute a decisive step towards the introduction of the free circulation of goods and people in Europe, are undoubtedly one of the key elements of EU policy.

  • Updated 06-05-2015

Mosel

Für die Luxemburger ist "d'Musel", die Mosel, weit mehr als nur ein 42 Kilometer langer Grenzfluss zwischen Luxemburg und Deutschland. Sie ist vielmehr der Inbegriff einer malerischen und lebendigen Region im Osten des Landes, die sich vom südlich gelegenen Schengen bis nach Wasserbillig im Norden erstreckt.

Eine Weinberglandschaft, Quell der edelsten Tropfen

Das windgeschützte Moseltal mit seinem verhältnismäßig milden Klima und den jäh abfallenden, sonnenbeschienenen Weinberghängen ist in erster Linie eine traditionsreiche Weinbauregion.

Die dem Lauf der Mosel folgende Weinstraße (Route du vin) durchquert das gesamte Tal. Hier befinden sich die kleinen Winzerdörfer mit den zahlreichen Weinkellereien, die nur allzugern ihre Schätze offenbaren. Die Moselregion ist vor allem für ihre hochwertigen trockenen Weißweine bekannt, deren Absatzgebiet heute weit über die Landesgrenzen hinausreicht.

Das Moseltal lockt mit seinem Charme und seinem besonderen Ambiente das ganze Jahr über Weinfreunde und Genießer an: ab Ostern werden die jungen Weine probiert, später versprühen die Wein- und Traubenfeste eine ganz besondere Lebensfreude und zu Herbstbeginn lädt die Weinlese zum Mitmachen ein.

Land der Genüsse

Mit der Weinbautradition hat sich ganz von selbst auch eine weitreichende kulinarische Tradition entwickelt. Entdecken kann man die Früchte dieser Kochkunst in reizvollen Gaststätten entlang der Mosel oder in den kleinen, ursprünglichen Dörfern mit den gewundenen Gassen, die ihren Reiz in hohem Maß der Weinbaukultur verdanken. Zu den schönsten Winzerdörfern an der Mosel gehört sicherlich Ehnen mit seinen Patrizierhäusern.

Ein Ort der Entspannung und der Muße

Die Moselregion hat auch ausgedehnte Wander- und Fahrradwege zu bieten, sowie eine Vielzahl an Wassersportarten wie Wasserski, Segeln oder Surfen. Neue Kräfte tanken können Wellnessfans auch in den Thermalanlagen von Bad Mondorf, dem einzigen Thermalbad Luxemburgs.

Schengen, Unterzeichnungsort der berühmten Schengener Abkommen

Noch bekannter als die Lebensqualität der Moselgegend ist das Dorf Schengen, am Dreiländereck Luxemburg-Frankreich-Deutschland gelegen und Ort der Unterzeichnung der berühmten Schengener Abkommen in den Jahren 1985 und 1990. Die Schengener Abkommen, die entscheidende Schritte bei der Einführung des freien Waren- und Personenverkehrs in Europa mit sich brachten, sind ohne Zweifel Schlüsselelemente der europäischen Politik.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 14-09-2017