The Land of the Red Rocks

'De Minett', the Luxembourgers' nickname for the iron-red earth region in the south, is mainly characterised by its industrial heritage and the bright red iron ore that dominates the landscape. With its iron ore, the 'Land of the Red Rocks' was the origin of significant economic development and rapid prosperity that has taken shape in the Grand Duchy since the mid-19th century.

Witnesses of industrial culture

Former industrial sites, preserved or partially turned into habitats, bear witness to the industrial era and lead the visitor through the country's steelmaking history.

At Rumelange, the National Mining Museum (Musée national des mines, MNM) explains how iron ore was extracted and used, and interesting trails allow you to discover the industrial past.

Steam train and fairy tales

The industrial park at Fond-de-Gras, where an engine belching steam pulls a 1900s train every weekend from May to September over the stretch of track from Rodange to Fond-de-Gras, is one of the many adventures that families, history fans and nature-lovers can experience in the Land of the Red Rocks.

For families, animal- and nature-lovers, and romantics looking for a diversion from the discovery of the country's industrial past, the 'Parc Merveilleux' (Fairy Tale Park) in Bettembourg offers exotic animals and fairy tales that will delight the hearts of young and old.

City of Science, Research and Innovation

Less fairy tale like, the sites in the region often resemble living places where the memory of a glorious industrial past is now cultivated through rehabilitation or highlighting of these sites.

Thus, in Esch-sur-Alzette, the former industrial site of Esch-Belval, home to the country's last blast furnace, is currently being converted into the City of Science, Research and Innovation, an academic and residential district, and a recreational and cultural centre.

Recreation, culture and architecture

The southern part of the country has a wide-ranging cultural offer, with pop and rock festivals, several theatre venues (including the Kulturfabrik, Rockhal and Esch Municipal Theatre), museums and art galleries.

In Esch-Belval, remnants of the iron and steel industry stand alongside biomedical laboratories, start-ups, and the ultramodern buildings of the University of Luxembourg.

This desire for modernisation and promotion is also reflected in the urban architecture of the main towns of the 'Minett' region — Esch-sur-Alzette, Dudelange and Differdange — where modern buildings fit into an architectural backdrop often dominated by old bourgeois mansions with Art Nouveau facades.

Multicultural and dynamic, the Land of the Red Rocks has managed to evolve while still maintaining and promoting its industrial heritage.

  • Updated 06-05-2015

Land der Roten Erde

"De Minett", wie die Luxemburger das Gebiet der "Roten Erde" im Süden des Landes nennen, zeichnet sich vor allem durch sein industrielles Erbe und durch das leuchtend rote Eisenerz aus, das die wildwachsende Natur prägt. Mit ihren eisenhaltigen Erzen hat die "Rote Erde" eine bedeutende wirtschaftliche Entwicklung in Gang gesetzt und dem Land ab der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts einen raschen und dauerhaften Wohlstand beschert.

Zeugen der Industriekultur

Die ehemaligen Industriestandorte, die nach wie vor in Stand gehalten werden oder teilweise zu Biotopen geworden sind, künden heute vom Industriezeitalter und nehmen den Besucher mit auf eine Zeitreise durch die Geschichte der heimischen Stahlindustrie.

In Rumelange kann man die industrielle Vergangenheit im Nationalen Bergbaumuseum (Musée national des mines de fer, MNM) sowie auf interessanten Wanderwegen erforschen.

Dampfzüge und Märchenerzählungen

Der Industriepark Fond-de-Gras – wo der von einer schnaubenden Dampflokomotive angetriebene "Train 1900" an jedem Wochenende von Mai bis September zwischen Rodange und Fond-de-Gras verkehrt – ist eines der zahlreichen Abenteuer, das Familien, Geschichtsbegeisterte und Naturliebhaber in der Region der "Terres rouges" erleben können.

Für Familien, Tierliebhaber und Naturfreunde oder auch für Romantiker, die eine Alternative zur Erkundung der Vergangenheit der heimischen Eisen- und Stahlindustrie suchen, bietet der Märchenpark (Parc merveilleux) in Bettembourg exotische Tiere und animierte Märchenvorführungen, die das Herz von Groß und Klein zu erfreuen wissen.

Wissenschaftspark "Cité des sciences, de la recherche et de l'innovation"

Die weniger märchenhaft erscheinenden Ortschaften der Region ähneln häufig Lebenswelten, in denen das Andenken an die glanzvolle industrielle Vergangenheit durch die Sanierung oder sonstige Weiternutzung der Industriestandorte aufrechterhalten wird.

In Esch/Alzette beispielsweise vollzieht sich am ehemaligen Industriestandort Esch-Belval, wo sich der landesweit letzte Hochofen befindet, aktuell der Wandel zum Wissenschaftspark (Cité des Sciences) und Universitätsviertel. Darüber hinaus entsteht dort auch ein Wohnviertel sowie ein Freizeit- und Kulturzentrum.

Freizeit, Kultur und Baukunst

Mit der Organisation von Pop- und Rock-Festivals, mehreren Veranstaltungsorten (Kulturfabrik, Rockhal und Stadttheater Esch), Museen und Kunstgalerien kann der Süden ein breites kulturelles Angebot vorweisen.

In Esch-Belval liegen die Relikte der Eisen- und Stahlindustrie in nächster Nähe zu biomedizinischen Labors, Start-ups und den ultramodernen Gebäuden der Universität Luxemburg.

Dieses Streben nach Modernisierung und Weiterentwicklung zeigt sich auch in der städtischen Architektur der wichtigsten Ortschaften der MinetteEsch an der Alzette, Differdingen und Düdelingen – wo moderne Gebäude sich nahtlos in die bestehende, häufig aus altehrwürdigen Jugendstil-Bürgerhäusern gebildete Bausubstanz einfügen.

Die multikulturelle und dynamische "Terres Rouges"-Region versteht es, sich weiterzuentwickeln und zugleich ihr industrielles Erbe zu bewahren und zu pflegen.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 29-09-2015